Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant!!!
Spread the word, there's a new lady in town: Esperanza Spalding, and she's bringing her 'A' game to the area of music called Jazz. And what a refreshing brew it is. Using her skills as a bassist, accompanied by her brilliant voice, which can be heard in three languagues (English, Portuguse & Spanish), this her sophomore presentation, is a mature offering for one so young...
Published on 24 Aug 2008 by Derrick Johnson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Great album just not for me
Published 4 months ago by C. Shekerie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant!!!, 24 Aug 2008
By 
Derrick Johnson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Esperanza (Audio CD)
Spread the word, there's a new lady in town: Esperanza Spalding, and she's bringing her 'A' game to the area of music called Jazz. And what a refreshing brew it is. Using her skills as a bassist, accompanied by her brilliant voice, which can be heard in three languagues (English, Portuguse & Spanish), this her sophomore presentation, is a mature offering for one so young (she's 23)
What I love about this CD is the variety on offer. You have straight on jazz, a samba selection, and a soulful selection, all wrapped into one CD.
The bonus that Ms Spalding has is that along with her skills as a bassist, she has a great voice, that I would imagine, along with her looks, would make her a marketing dream. But she still has to deliver the goods, and she does: form the soulful' I Know that you know', the quiet stormish ' Fall In', the sambaish' I Adore You', and the haunting 'Samba Em Preludio, which I couldn't get out of my head the to name just a few of the highlights of this CD. This is a solid set that should make this young lady a star, if there's any justice in the music world. My CD of the year thus far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Esperanza is the real deal!, 29 July 2008
By 
J. Elizabeth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Esperanza (Audio CD)
I have to say that I saw and heard Ms Spalding sing and play the guitar and bass at the Pori Jazz festival, Finland, several weeks' ago. What a talent! This album is filled with fantastic jazz tunes such as I know you know and Precious. The only downside for me was the fact that the song "Jazz" is not on this album. This is a song she performed at Pori. A stunning album nevertheless! Hats off to Ms Spalding!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A precocious talent., 18 Dec 2010
This review is from: Esperanza (Audio CD)
This is the only disc i have had the pleasure of owning by this young jazz artist.She is very adept at covering a wide range of styles and ,although principally a jazz artist offers shades of r&b into her repertoir, and has a soulful voice that marries her double-bass playing perfectly.In turns Esperanza is funky,trad-jazz or late-night smoke filled smooth jazz.Perfect for a dinner party,but probably too good to be used for background music.Some of the material is sung in a foreign language,but don't let that put you off,she is never less than captivating and would probably be great to see live.I recently read praise for her from rodrigo y gabriela which is recommendation enough from such virtuoso guitarists.Excellent stuff.I will buy more without hesitation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hard to believe..., 17 April 2009
By 
F. Hundt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Esperanza (Audio CD)
...that this lady is only 24! esperanza plays wonderfully groovy and quick-fingered basslines and she sings and scats and with such verve and passion that these skills each on its own would justify dozens of records by her. but this seemingly effortless and natural combination of both is absolutely breathtaking. she's got her very own take on traditional jazz, blended with latin and soul that sounds fresh and inspiring each second of the record.
as I said, hard to believe that she's only 24.

6 out of 5 stars!

now, get the album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab album, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Esperanza (Audio CD)
my first ever album by esperanza, and i wasn't disappointed either. a fine mix of jazzy and soulful tracks, along with her fantastic/perfect vocals. most tracks on this are great, and it shows how talented the singer is. there are maybe 1 or 2 that let it down if i was pushed to say, but generally a great album. i highly recommend this, and any of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gift for my wife, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Esperanza (Audio CD)
My wife wanted this for christmas, and I've enjoyed to listen to it as well. She plays very well. Obama likes it to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonder Woman - Esperanza, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Esperanza (MP3 Download)
Well, what can I say ? This woman is fantastic. Excellent Jazz bassist. Excellent Jazz singer. AND SHE IS WHAT AGE ? 28. Yes, 28 years old. I wonder what the great Jazz Masters up in heaven are saying about her. She and her band knocks me off my feet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern jazz classic, 8 Dec 2012
This review is from: Esperanza (Audio CD)
Despite her Grammy recognition following the release of "Chamber Music Society" and her masterful jazz-pop crossover follow-up, "Radio Music Society", this eponymous album, being only her second as a solo artist, remains for me the one that truly showcases the full range of the extraordinary musical talents this girl has to offer.

It could be said that this album is essentially her "Latin" album. The rhythms, harmonies and even lyrics (many of them are in Spanish and Portuguese) are clearly inspired by the diverse musical cultures of Latin America. But to label it as a 'genre' album completely fails to convey the vast range of musical expression on offer. Yes, there is a strong latin vibe running through the album, but there are also dreamy and soulful ballads in the form of "Fall In" and "Espera", infectious and groovy soul-pop songs such as "I Know You Know", "She Got to You" and "Precious" , and frankly dangerous extended improvs/ jazz freak-outs such as those in the downright 'bad' "Mela".

The musicianship of her band-mates on this album should not be understated either. Every individual and group performance is simply world class. All in all, this is a modern jazz classic.

Whilst "Radio Music Society" can certainly be lauded as a skilful and ultimately successful attempt at writing jazz songs in a pop song framework, for anyone looking for a 'catch-all' introduction to Esperanza's music, this is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars RISING JAZZ STAR: THE HOT BASS AND HIP VOICE OF ESPERANZA SPALDING, 8 Nov 2012
By 
RSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Esperanza (Audio CD)
Four and a half ENJOYABLE Stars!! A star is born! On her second CD (billed as a debut, but the successful CD Junjo is already out there) Esperanza Spalding, the petite young lady with the spectacular afro hairdo, is revealed as a 23 year-old jazz phenom who is packing a triple whammy: she has a lithe and lovely golden-toned voice; has prodigious, fleet-fingered double bass technique; and produces artful musical compositions and lyrics. And she often uses them simultaneously in a spellbinding manner, sometimes singing in English, Spanish, Portuguese, and in what can only be described as 'Esperanza-ese'. Ms Spaldilng has appeared in DownBeat magazine, performs at jazz festivals, and has played with mentoring heavyweights such as Pat Metheny, Herbie Hancock, Stanley Clarke, and Joe Lovano. And at age 20 and already an alumna, she was the second youngest faculty member at the prestigious Berklee College of Music (a teenaged Metheny was the youngest).

The 'best of the best' begins with a bouyant version of Milton Nascimento's classic about a place called "Ponta de Areia" (Sand Bridge) built over a repetitive piano-bass figuration with her voice soaring above it all backed by Gretchen Parlato. "Fall In {Love}" and "I Know You Know" show her wonderful ballad and uptempo singing abilities, respectively. "Cuerpo and Alma" (a double-timed Spanish language version of the classic "Body and Soul") based on Ms Spaldings eight-note bass motif is sweetly and poignantly sung featuring a hard-driving Tynerish piano solo by Leo Genovese: and the concept works. And her pizzicato bass playing throughout the CD is very impressive, especially the 'tour de force' "Mela" where she scores big on both bass solo and a soaring, swooping vocal solo. Donald Harrison's sinuous sax, Ambrose Akinmusire's hot trumpet, ace guitarist Niño Josele, the percussive fireworks of Jamey Haddad & "El Negro" Hernandez, Gretchen Parlato's & Theresa Perez' background vocals, and Otis Brown's protean drumming contribute mightily to this excellent session. Esperanza Spalding is a rising jazz star and this recording is Highly Recommended. Four and a half MARVELOUS Stars. (This review is based on an MP3 download. Since this 2008 review, she has won a Grammy and many DownBeat Jazz Poll Rising Star awards as both a singer, and both acoustical and electric bassist and is placing high in the main category basses and singing categories, and in 2012 she won the Jazz Artist of the Year and Jazz Album (for Radio Music Society [+Digital Booklet]) awards in the DownBeat Readers Poll.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 26 Oct 2012
By 
AJ (london, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Esperanza (Audio CD)
An amazing album. I've seen Esparanza live in London and this album is amazing. I have now bought this for a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Esperanza
Esperanza by Esperanza Spalding
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews