Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent.
This album is being plagued with bad reviews from the press, being compared with the success of the mercury prize winning Myths of the near Future. Although not as good as the first it still holds it's own. This album doesn't seem to have any radio or chart friendly songs, but as an album it works perfectly, which is how it should be right?
Published on 21 Aug. 2010 by Ben_Fox

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Have not listened much as it is a bit samey
This is okay. Songs seem to sound the same, so overall this CD is disappointing.
Published 4 months ago by Mrs. Erica Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 21 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surfing the Void (Audio CD)
This album is being plagued with bad reviews from the press, being compared with the success of the mercury prize winning Myths of the near Future. Although not as good as the first it still holds it's own. This album doesn't seem to have any radio or chart friendly songs, but as an album it works perfectly, which is how it should be right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surfing the Void (Audio CD)
The Klaxons sophomore album was not as immediate as their debut but over time it will grow on you and you will find yourself singing the cool numbers in your head without realizing it. A truly great UK band who deserve to have had more success than they have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, 28 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Surfing the Void (Audio CD)
Im not a fan of the band but when i read some of the reviews I was drawn to listen to the album and I love it.Its powerful rock with an alternative twist. The songs are well crafted,intelligent and creative. This is one of my albums of the year along with crystal castles II & MIA's MAYA. Unlike most people I think this is a positive step forward from the first album. Great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!, 16 April 2015
This review is from: Surfing the Void (Audio CD)
BY FAR THE BEST ALBUM I HAVE EVER OWNED!!!!! MUSICALLY STUNNING AND MUCH MORE MATURE SOUNDING THAN THEIR FIRST!!!!!!! BUY IMMEDIATELY!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surfing the Void (Audio CD)
I can't believe I got such a brilliant album for such a small price! They've a lot more dissonant/raucous sounds in this one! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done for being adventurous on the second outing, 11 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Surfing the Void (Audio CD)
Liked the first album Myths which got much critical acclaim. This is much better its darker, more intricate, heavier and more taxing. Probably why the critics don't get it. Reminded me a lot of Mansun "Six". Needs a few listens but a real grower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creditable second album, 23 Aug. 2010
By 
Mrs. C. J. Jones "Boudicca23" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Surfing the Void (Audio CD)
I loved Klaxons first album 'Myths of the Near Future' and anything following was going to be hard to follow up in my opinion, but I think 'Surfing the Void' is damn close. For me the standout tracks are Echoes and Flashover, being the most catchy but the others are not to be ignored. If you liked the first album then get this one - it's not the same but you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid follow up...although different, 23 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Surfing the Void (Audio CD)
Well, i was given Myths of the Near Future to listen to 2-3 years ago having only heard 'it's not over yet' which i thought was poor and no different to the usual stuff churned out by modern bands.
Needles to say i loved the rest of the album and was hoping 'Surfing the Void' would match it.

In my opinion, some of the stand out tracks from Myths of the Near Future are better than those on Surfing the Void.
However, as a whole i think their new album matches their excellent debut as it has less poor songs. MOTNF had 5-6 great songs and a few poor-average ones. Surfing the Void has 10 really good songs.

I disagree with another reviewer saying the song' Surfing the Void' didn't stand out as being good as i think it's one of the better songs on the album. It's possibly the most similar to songs from the previous album.

All in all i think this release stands up well against the last..and retains a higher overall quality throughout, with slightly less brilliant highlights.
I can't see fans of Myths of the Near Future being dissapointed with this in all honesty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Have not listened much as it is a bit samey, 11 Jan. 2015
By 
Mrs. Erica Edwards "reading rocks" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surfing the Void (Audio CD)
This is okay. Songs seem to sound the same, so overall this CD is disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 * and 1/2, 5 Oct. 2010
By 
Stan FREDO (BORDEAUX, Aquitaine, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Surfing the Void (Audio CD)
Of Klaxons I only knew the French market only mini LP 'Magick' (including the mighty 'Atlantis To Interzone') and the quite good single 'Golden Skans'. I still kinda like those records but not to the point of waiting with baited breath for the new album. Which I finally bought. On 'Surfing The Void', there are only 3 or 4 tracks out of 10 you might come back to after one or two listens: track 8, tracks 5 and 9 (in a tie-in) and, at a push, track 10. Gone is the ravey feel, in is the 'I'm a serious, quite grown-up, pushing the envelope artist' feel. Dispappointing, to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Surfing the Void
Surfing the Void by Klaxons (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews