Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little lamp: starts a little dim, but saves lots of power
I used this lamp to replace a 60W filament bulb in a shaving light. One small issue: the lamp takes around a minute to reach full brightness; it is around 30% dimmer when first turned on, according to my camera, than when it has warmed up. Also, the manufacturer's packaging says "Equivalent light output to 30W standard strip light", even though Amazon's description says...
Published 23 months ago by P. G. Mctiernan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job but expensive.
The energy saved by this lamp probably won't pay for it over its lifetime, but it is a useful straight swap for a 30w conventional incandescent strip.
It takes a while to warm up light a lot of CFL bulbs, but once fully "on" it is quite bright. I use four of these on concealed lighting in display cupboads, and they run a lot cooler then the old incandescent...
Published 17 months ago by N. Kemp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little lamp: starts a little dim, but saves lots of power, 12 Aug 2012
By 
P. G. Mctiernan "The Doctor" (Swindon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7w Strip Lamp 284mm Energy Saving Light Bulb 2700k Light Bulb 8,000 Hours
I used this lamp to replace a 60W filament bulb in a shaving light. One small issue: the lamp takes around a minute to reach full brightness; it is around 30% dimmer when first turned on, according to my camera, than when it has warmed up. Also, the manufacturer's packaging says "Equivalent light output to 30W standard strip light", even though Amazon's description says "Equivalent wattage: 60W". Testing, I found that, once warmed up, it seemed bright enough compared to the 60W it replaced... indeed, my camera measured the new lamp in it's fitting as being a little over 10% brighter! I think this is helped by the fact that it has a dark and a bright side, and perhaps a reflector between the light and the electronics - you have to aim the bright side where the light is needed. It doesn't shine right at the ends, like the old filament bulb did, either. It couldn't be used in a situation where the light from both sides was needed. To my eyes, however, it seems nice and bright once warmed up, does not seem flickery like some older shaving lamps with fluorescent tubes, and gives a warmer colour than most of them. Given the huge reduction in power and the fact that the lamp stays cool and so does not get covered in dust and dead insects in the same way the original 60W lamp does, plus the promise of a much longer life saving quite a bit of money in energy savings, I am happy with my purchase so far. One of the children likes it left on as a night-light, so it often gets used for a lot of the time. If it really does run for 8000 hours, it should save me the cost of 7 filament bulbs plus around 50 at current electricity prices over it's life. Seems like a good deal to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job but expensive., 18 Feb 2013
By 
N. Kemp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7w Strip Lamp 284mm Energy Saving Light Bulb 2700k Light Bulb 8,000 Hours
The energy saved by this lamp probably won't pay for it over its lifetime, but it is a useful straight swap for a 30w conventional incandescent strip.
It takes a while to warm up light a lot of CFL bulbs, but once fully "on" it is quite bright. I use four of these on concealed lighting in display cupboads, and they run a lot cooler then the old incandescent bulbs they replaced.
As I say, probably won't recoup the cost, but feel I'm doing my bit for the polar bears or whatever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expensive but seems to last a lot longer, 19 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. A. Clark (Romsey, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7w Strip Lamp 284mm Energy Saving Light Bulb 2700k Light Bulb 8,000 Hours
Bought some of these about a year ago because the original incandescent tubes blew too frequently. They have worked OK every day and I think they will last a lot longer yet. Also we have saved a few quid on electricity, but they haven't paid for themselves yet.

Update January 2014:- they are still working perfectly and they're used every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 30 April 2011
By 
C. Cresswell (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7w Strip Lamp 284mm Energy Saving Light Bulb 2700k Light Bulb 8,000 Hours
works well. energy saving and no noticeable warm up time (a second or so to 75% brightness) so you can get to business straight away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Measure the fitting carefully!, 5 Jun 2014
By 
J. M. Boxall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7w Strip Lamp 284mm Energy Saving Light Bulb 2700k Light Bulb 8,000 Hours
I had to adjust the gap between the end caps on my light fitting as these replacement bulbs were slightly shorter than the standard filament bulbs. They are slow to reach full brightness and have a built in reflector which has to be aligned correctly to obtain the full light output. Once warmed up they are OK but not as bright as the filament bulbs they replace. Have only just purchased these bulbs so have no idea as to their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Working very well so far!, 1 Jun 2014
By 
S. Nair "Skoobz" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7w Strip Lamp 284mm Energy Saving Light Bulb 2700k Light Bulb 8,000 Hours
Its been a couple of months now and the bulb is holding up strong and have not had a single problem with both its functionality or brightness. Slotted right in with no extra fiddling about and hasn't faded but let's see if it stands the test of time but no regrets in buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars cost effective but not perfect, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7w Strip Lamp 284mm Energy Saving Light Bulb 2700k Light Bulb 8,000 Hours
Cheap enough to easily pay for itself over it's lifespan, but not as bright as the conventional bulb, and suprisingly, requires about 30-40 seconds to warm up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Usable, but degrades, 24 Feb 2014
By 
Mark T (Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7w Strip Lamp 284mm Energy Saving Light Bulb 2700k Light Bulb 8,000 Hours
I have seven of these tubes in my kitchen, replacing the 60W filament tubes that were there before — these were not usable due to the amount they heated the cabinets to which they were fitted, never mind the power consumption!

One of the first set I bought was dead on arrival and got replaced with no question. A second failed after 2 years, and the identically-marked replacement was notably brighter and less green-tinged, suggesting the old set had degraded.

Generally, however, they've been good: smooth, uniform light with quick start-up for CFLs, no noise or flickering. I'd suggest they're about 25–35W equivalent versus the 60W filaments that were in before; but plenty for typical under-cabinet installation. The light colour is not "modern", though.

I'm waiting for a cost-effective LED replacement — or I may make my own...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars difficult to fit, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7w Strip Lamp 284mm Energy Saving Light Bulb 2700k Light Bulb 8,000 Hours
The contacts did not work initially. I had to put some isolating tape round the ends to make the striplights work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 7w 284mm Strip Lamps, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7w Strip Lamp 284mm Energy Saving Light Bulb 2700k Light Bulb 8,000 Hours
These lamps were purchased to replace existing standard items which were 35w and lasting on average only about 3 to 4 weeks. So far these low energy replacements have proved to be longer lasting.
Light output is very slightly lower than standard lamps, they take a while to reach full brightness and they are expensive, but I would use them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews