Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ronnie is out on his own and he ROCKS!!
The first album by Dio and Ronnie Dio's voice is amazing. After leaving Black Sabbath we hear Dio making music that is more than an equal to any of the Sabbath stuff.
This album is full of great heavy metal tracks and in my opinion has some of the best of Dio's work on it. The title track, Holy Diver, is a heavy metal classic, as is Don't Talk to Strangers...
Published on 19 Mar 2003 by Peestie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Holy Diver - awesome album but why not a DVD??
I've always loved Dio's stuff so this album is highly recommended. I just wish these Deluxe Editions would include a DVD with some live footage, rare interviews or similar... Not just the easy way out e.g. demo recordings, old live recorings etc. we're in the 21st century now! We want DVd/Bluray included with these packages otherwise imho they are "Deluxe" more Special...
Published 19 months ago by J. BLIGHT


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ronnie is out on his own and he ROCKS!!, 19 Mar 2003
By 
Peestie (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Holy Diver (Audio CD)
The first album by Dio and Ronnie Dio's voice is amazing. After leaving Black Sabbath we hear Dio making music that is more than an equal to any of the Sabbath stuff.
This album is full of great heavy metal tracks and in my opinion has some of the best of Dio's work on it. The title track, Holy Diver, is a heavy metal classic, as is Don't Talk to Strangers.
If you have ever heard anything by Sabbath (with Dio as lead singer) and liked it, then you will love this album. It is quite possibly one of the classic heavy metal albums of the 80's and that put it up against stiff competition and it still shines through as one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Magic, 6 Oct 2005
This review is from: Holy Diver - Remastered (Audio CD)
I don't know how many times I have bought this cd,firstly on vinyl,tape,cd and now this collector's edition,remastered,if you are a fan you will already have this cd,but for the younger fans out there,you should buy this,with a 16 page booklet and exclusive interview of Ronnie James Dio on the cd,this is well worth the price at Amazon,The songs are classics,every single one,first recorded in 1983 all the tracks sound fresh ''Holy Diver'' will never date and still stands up well in 2005,This is a timely release as Dio tour the UK next week and perform the whole cd on stage live,Holy Diver is Holy Magic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic deluxe edition, 31 Mar 2012
This review is from: Holy Diver (Audio CD)
This edition of Dio's classic Holy Diver is remastered by Andy Pearce as are the other Dio 2012 deluxe releases, which means, unlike other Deluxe Editions out there, this one isn't simply a volume bloated re-release. Very fine, clean and detailed sound, but just a tad bright. Disc 2 has some wonderful rare goodies that alone make this worthy of the purchase. The packaging is your standard for these editions, a wonderful foldout digipak and an informative booklet stuffed into one of the open flaps. Highly recommended edition if you have the cash. Tracklist below.

Disc 1 (Original newly remastered album)

01. Stand Up and Shout
02. Holy Diver
03. Gypsy" Vivian Campbell
04. Caught in the Middle
05. Don't Talk to Strangers
06. Straight Through the Heart
07. Invisible
08. Rainbow in the Dark
09. Shame on the Night

Disc 2

01. Evil Eyes (studio recording, originally appeared on B-Side to Holy Diver single)
02. Stand Up & Shout (Live B-Side, from the Rainbow in the Dark single)
03. Straight Through the Heart (Live B-Side, from the Rainbow in the Dark single)

King Biscuit Flower Hour, 30th October 1983:
04. Stand Up & Shout
05. Shame on the Night
06. Children of the Sea
07. Holy Diver
08. Rainbow in the Dark
09. Man on the Silver Mountain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rediscovery, 22 Nov 2004
This review is from: Holy Diver (Audio CD)
I bought this album on vinyl when it was released, over 20 years ago. I really can't remember what prompted me to buy it in the first place, probably something to do with the album artwork, as in those days I was a surly teenager and into all things demonic....I do remember playing it a lot, but with the advent of CDs, it had lain, gathering dust, for many years. Until this weekend, when something spurred me on to give it a spin on the turntable, along with a number of other plastic beauties who had been neglected for an age. And what do you know? Out of all of my vinyl specimens (and there are many) Holy Diver hasn't been off since. It may crackle, and "Stand Up And Shout" jumps a bit, but I now remember what got me off my arse all those years ago. Suffice to say, I am putting in an order right now for the CD version. If you haven't listened to this, get it, and do it now. You will not regret!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Dio album without a doubt, 31 Mar 2006
This review is from: Holy Diver - Remastered (Audio CD)
So little Ronnie got sacked from Sabbath by Tony Iommi, same as he'd been sacked from Rainbow by Ritchie Blackmore, and decided to go it alone. He rounded up a couple of old mates from his Rainbow and Sabbath days (Jimmy Bain and Vinnie Appice respectively), found himself a hotshot guitarist who had just started to make a name for himself, and released an album that would firmly identify Ronnie as being the heavy metal equivalent of a game of Dungeons and Dragons.
Witches, sorceresses, kings, knights, minstrels, wolves, elves, rainbows, pots of gold, demons, nightmares, tigers - it's like a game of Talisman on your CD player.
The songs, of course, are fantastic. The band were surprisingly tight, given Jimmy's reputation as a hard drinker, but then revelations made by the musicians since they left Dio have indicated that RJD might be a bit of a tyrant, or at least a hard taskmaster.
In the interview at the end of the CD, Ronnie talks with fondness about the making of the album, the search for a guitarist (a toss up between Viv and John Sykes), his unfair dismissal from Sabbath, and the inspiration behind the songs on the album. And he claims that he hates Rainbow In The Dark. Come off it Ronnie, you wrote it to let us know how you got to where you were at the time (Rainbow is Rainbow, Dark is Black Sabbath). And you used to perform it live with gusto, grinning and skipping around like a munchkin on acid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big noise from a little bloke, 10 Feb 2006
This review is from: Holy Diver - Remastered (Audio CD)
Imagine a time when image counted for nothing and substance was all. No wonder when Holy Diver was released it was christened with the tag of Best Rock album of '83 by many fans and Journo's alike. Forget the rainbow/dragon lyric association Dio have, and saviour a truly awe-inspiring release. RJD's vocals are simply astounding - from gutteral roar to soulful melody - he just nails them. Vivian cambell's guitar simply shreds and the quality of the song writing is exceptional. Remastered production is pretty fine too and drags this album into 2006 where it proudly gives a big fat middle finger to most current rock release's. Take a bow whoever gave the green light to remaster and re-issue this - I salute you. Trust me if you fancy 40 or so mins of 'classic' rock that will make you jump up and down like a loon spend a measly 6 quid on this and let a short odd looking bloke take you to rock heaven. Thank god this wasn't submitted to a record label in 2006...RJD would never have got past the marketing executives!!
Peace out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Rainbow, which is saying a lot., 26 Jun 2004
This review is from: Holy Diver (Audio CD)
I really love this album. Ronnie James Dio is a pure genius. If anything, his time in Rainbow was a restricting influence on his creativity. I thought this band wouldn't be any good because Ritchie Blackmore was absent, but I was incredibly wrong. Vivian Campbell is brilliant on this album, which I beleive to be Dio's most creative and consistent. Chugging riffs, blistering solos, this guy can do it all. He gives a real edge to the music, which is brilliant.
Ronnie's voice is simply amaing: rough, powerful, and melodic. It is simply blissful to listen to him sing. He is my favourite vocalist of all time. He adds a real character to the music. Its hard to describe, just listen to the album and you'll see.
Each track is superb, but my favourites are "Gypsy", "Straight through the heart" and "Rainbow in the Dark".
A superb album from a superb band. Your cd collection is crying out for this. GET IT!!!! Then get "Dream Evil" and "Last in Line".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!!, 18 July 2006
By 
M. J. Maley "mikeitup" (here) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holy Diver - Remastered (Audio CD)
Ok, lets get a few things sorted first. I am a metal fan and I am a guitar palyer (not that good). I am an ardent fan of 80's metal and some early 90's too.

Having heard a couple of later Dio offerings "Holy Diver" somehow slipped under my radar.

That changed a couple of weeks ago when the remastered version arrived at my door.

It is simply an astounding debut. Little he may be but DAMN! this guy can SING!!!

There is not a bad track on it and to think that guitarist Vivian Campbell (Sweet Savage, Riverdogs, Shadow King and Def Leppard) was just 19 when he recorded this epic just p***** me off even more.

A classic slice of 80's rock (often called "Hair Metal") but alot of people forget that the musicians (mostly) from this era piddle ALL OVER 99% of the guys releasing albums these days. OK, guitar bands may be popular today but it is like comparing a sunday pub football team with Man Utd.

Classic tracks such as Stand Up and Shout, Holy Diver, Caught In The Middle, (the totally awesome) Don't Talk To Strangers and not forgetting Rainbow In The Dark this is well worth a puchase.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Instant Favourite, 23 Jan 2007
This review is from: Holy Diver - Remastered (Audio CD)
I had heard a couple of Dio songs, and was particularly attracted to the top quality guitar playing (usually the basis for deciding which albums I buy). However, after the first track on the album, it was clearly apparent that I hadn't heard their best work, as the star of the show is quite obviously Ronnie James Dio.

Who'd have thought that little old bloke would have such a pair of lungs on him? Easily one of the greatest front men in history; an excellent metal singer, up there with my other favourites such as Iron Maiden's Bruce Dickinson.

The album rocks hard, in classic, clichéd style (go and watch the video for Holy Diver on YouTube), but what I particularly liked was the elements of immense atmosphere and, at times, the feeling that the songs really had some emotional background to them. Really immersive, and has earned a well respected place in the top end of my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take Me Back To LA '59..., 7 Nov 2012
This review is from: Holy Diver - Remastered (Audio CD)
Ronnie James Dio is so much more than my personal, musical hero; his genius represented a towering presence that more than any other, cultivated and defined the nature of my final troth to Metal.

In Rock, Black Sabbath, Sabbath Bloody Sabbath, Phenomenon, Secret Treaties, Sad Wings Of Destiny, Sabotage, Rising, 2112, Stained Class, Let There Be Rock, Long Live Rock N Roll, Overkill (and Bomber - what a track, still!) early Maiden singles, British Steel then the holy brace of Barnslerian outpouring - Wheels Of Steel and Strong Arm Of The Law - to say 1970 - 79/80 was a Hard, Heavy Rock & Metal purple patch would be quite THE understatement of all time.

But the late, great Tommy Vance had further plans... See, he kept playing tracks from a new album.

It was 1980, Black sabbath Mk2 had emerged with a new LP that was going to be a completely new sound.

STOP. THE. CLOCK.

The tracks from Heaven and Hell were nothing short of life changing: whether it was Neon Knights or the title track, Children Of The Sea, Die Young or Lady Evil, mattered little... traditional headbanging sessions to 'Whole Lotta Rosie' were suddenly tempered by this revelation in oh-so heavy but unfailingly melodic deliverance.

If Stargazer had been the moment Ronnie's indomitable prowess first planted its standard on an as yet unnamed Planet Metal, for Blackmore, Cozy and friends to then cement matters in perpetuity with scarcely conceivable flair via 'Kill The King' and 'Gates Of Babylon,' it was this sublime quartet of Iommi, Dio, Butler and Ward whose first outing grabbed me with an embrace so hard, that it forged an unequivocal template of metallic grace against which all other work was to be and has become (subconsciously) judged.

Skipping through the acrimonious period that followed and ignoring - as instructed by Ronnie himself, the live epitaph to this first gathering of Sabbath Mk2 - Holy Diver was from Day One something of a Metal totem.

I have just played it, now (for about the eight millionth time) and it may well be the perfect Heavy Metal album. Musically, it is classic Dio, perhaps less obvious (as a consequence of differing production emphases) in terms of a more ostentatious sense of the all out operatic, compared to his outpourings from 1976, 78 and three years previous but Ronnie, here, was clearing the decks and smashing down a metaphorical Mjölnir to declare The Standard.

As Tommy Vance described it, growling, "two Americans, an Irishman and a Scot;" oh, there was transatlantic magic in the air. The mighty TV would routinely play tracks from 'Diver' and every time, I felt that here, Heavy Metal was experiencing a masterclass from its Doyen.

I would record these glorious radio broadcasts onto cassette but needed this record, now, as a medical imperative and when a generous, fellow 'TÍte Metallique' made me a stop gap, full copy, it seemed to me that The Creed's zenith had been established.

Many, many thousands of listens later and the fire of that original exposure to 'Stand Up And Shout' has not dimmed; my compulsion to scream at the musically betrayed masses, no less fervent. Described as a 'blitzkreig' of an opener, the unstoppable ferocity combines with such stirring melody - the overwhelming Dio songwriting trademark - that by the final crash of rhythm section, stunned guitar and vocal howl, the listener - is simply agog. Amazed, Frazzled and euphoric.

Ronnie's voice has never been better, frankly and he produces an anger that manifests as its own vocal musical instrument, projecting a near guttural texture to perfectly match the album's inherent aggression but also rising and soaring in his unique way.

There's mellowness, at times, as in the entree to 'Don't Talk To Strangers' but during the flightiest moments of 'Caught In The Middle,' you are left in no doubt that this is Metal's original answer to something that might in another life, be finessing 'La Bohème' in Verona, albeit whilst decapitating a chuffing great dragon. Look out!

We must also salute his fellow technicians.

Vinne Appice's drum work is sensational; as complex and intricate as anything from the usual roster of proposed skinmeisters yet with mesmerizing, controlled poundage that would qualify for The Holy Roman Seal of Powellic Canonisation: it absolutely underscores the character of the album in feel, spirit and false prophet/deceiver lynching power.

Viv Campbell would later fall into an unfortunate, ultimately unresolved quarrel with Ronnie which is/was tragic because I am sure that beneath the infamous enmity, lurks/lurked a great, mutual respect. Certainly, Campbell plays like something hailing from a blessed maternity delivery suite following an illicit, carnal encounter between Ritchie Blackmore and Doro Pesch; this is Schenker grade intensity... just scintillating, definitive Metal guitar wielding and the young maestro looked and sounded every inch the heroic fret shredder, personifying the essence of perfect, Metal axe wielding.

Jimmy Bain needs no introductions: 'master practitioner of the art of the inebriated bass,' or some such words, once described the man who had held fast in the stoic anchoring of Heavy Rock classicism since his time on 'Rising;' here, co-penning the breathtaking opener and displaying quite possibly the coolest on stage swagger of any non front-man cum bassist I think I can recall witnessing.

I met Ronnie, once, backstage and although somewhat the worse for wear, he recognized the starstruck, took pity and bade the rottweiler who was in knuckle based eject mode from proceeding; I would stay, have a drink and he would sign whatever would need signing (including his fingerprint on my copy of Heaven & Hell) and incredibly, before thanking our wee troupe of Moshista, Ronnie scribbled down his office's phone no. back in LA, just in case. Such things rarely happened in the hazy afterglow of (let's just say) 'other well known, American rock acts'' shows.

As the quite wonderful Dom Lawson has declared, if you don't like Dio (along with certain other, core, ferrous ingredients like Priest and Maiden,) well, you aren't really a Heavy Metal bod.

Ronnie may have shuffled from this coil but his soul is stronger than ever; and like him, I hope never to lose my hold on the magic flame.

A Paragon of Heavy Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadaceeac)

This product

Holy Diver
Holy Diver by DIO
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews