Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unparalled in its audacity
Spielberg and Williams have a brilliant track record in both the eyes of critics and commercial success. That is the power that these two have when a movie is credited with both of them. However, Williams' success in his other works such as that of the Star Wars Saga, Jurassic Park and Indiana Jones to name but a few have never really had the pure emotion and haunting...
Published on 27 April 2003

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound quality CD
I was extremely disappointed in the sound quality of the recording - after testing my other CD's to make sure it was not my equipment.
Published on 24 Jan. 2013 by Mavis Carter


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unparalled in its audacity, 27 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Schindler's List (Audio CD)
Spielberg and Williams have a brilliant track record in both the eyes of critics and commercial success. That is the power that these two have when a movie is credited with both of them. However, Williams' success in his other works such as that of the Star Wars Saga, Jurassic Park and Indiana Jones to name but a few have never really had the pure emotion and haunting score of Schindler's List. This is simply his finest work, achieving great success at numerous awards including the academy award for best original score in 1993, and well deserved.
Schindler's List has the audacity to stand on it's own as a classical masterpiece that so many scores attempt to be. Williams' and Spielberg not enough, Perlman on the violin brings the most beautiful yet deeply haunting score of Williams' to life. I must admit that i am one for melancholic and depressing scores, nothing moves me more, and this ranks on the top of my list.
There are however some criticisms that this score has received, however these are also its strength. There is a high degree of repetition, but the melody is so beautiful that the yearning is still not satisfied, the melody in solo by violin or piano has such an oppressing overtone that one cannot hold back the tears. Yet it seems that the solos are interpreted with a small hope that seems to be held on to so tight in desperation and in oppression, and this small hope is what really drives the score.
This is quite simply a classic of scores and no movie score collection will ever be complete without this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Although lacking variety, it subtly hooks the emotional ear., 9 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Schindler's List (Audio CD)
A rather low key, sombre soundtrack (hardly surprising considering the film's subject matter). Williams' soundtrack has been criticised for using a palette of few tonal colours. However, I can promise you that this music has a cumulative effect upon the listener. There is a degree of repetition, with two themes in particular arising in a number of variations, but when listening to the soundtrack as a whole these become more moving and powerful, drawing you into the melancholy atmosphere that is so convincingly established. At the heart of this music lies a tremendous dignity that echoes the ultimate mood of the film (despite its many horrors). Perlman's violin playing beautifully expresses the haunting main melody which grows in emotional power on subsequent playings. For me the world created within this soundtrack is large enough (the bombastic marches of Williams' action scores would be alien here)to deliver a very fulfilling listening experience indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schindlers List, 27 Mar. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Schindler's List (Audio CD)
A truly beautiful piece of music, from start to end, and totally deserved of the best music academy award for John Williams. Mr Williams has written a lot of tripe over the years but this is a piece of classical modern genious, helped by the superlative playing of one of the finest violinists of our age, Mr Itzak Perlman. This is a piece of music which in it you can hear the agonies of those terrible, terrible times. It is uplifting yet angst ridden, and is full of memorable unforgettable themes. As I have said this disc won the oscar for best music, the Piano, by Michael Nyman ran it a close second, which is also a fantastic piece, only for Shindlers List the Piano would have won the oscar against any contender. It really was a shame that two great scores had to go head to head in the same year. Schindlers List (both film and music 10/10). Tony
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the most haunting melodies you will ever hear, 22 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Schindler's List (Audio CD)
This is indeed an exact soundtrack so some may find the music a little repetitive however, with music this beautiful can that be a bad thing! Williams has yet again produced music entirely suitable for the film subject so if you found the film too moving maybe steer clear of the CD Perlman is without doubt one of the world's finest violinists and excels himself here. Perhaps not to everyone's tastes but one of my absolute favourite cd's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great music, 2 May 2011
This review is from: Schindler's List (Audio CD)
At first I felt the music was really repetitive on playing this CD in the car, but listen to it properly at home and concentrate and it really is terribly moving. The subtlety and recollections of the scenes in the film, and the beautiful way in which one matches the other, with small tweaks that vary the main theme of the score, works perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 24 Jun. 2006
By 
S. Taylor "Sam" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Schindler's List (Audio CD)
Yeah Ok the whole CD is based around one theme but it is a film soundtrack so that is to be expected. But the first track is incredible. The solo is played sublimely by Itzhak Perlman. The range on his instrument is amazing as he starts of fairly low and the piece finishes icredibly high. With Itzhak Perlman being from Israel the holocaust is probably something very close to his own heart and while listening to him playing the main theme it's almost like hes crying through the violin. Undoubtedly John William's best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 14 Feb. 2004
By 
This review is from: Schindler's List (Audio CD)
I am not musically trained,let alone classically trained,but I know when something is right: Van Dyck,V8 Chevy,Laurel & Hardy. This soundtrack fits the film and subject like a glove.The repetition is welcome and not gratuitous. Schindlers List would have worked in the silent era with this soundtrack. Listen carefully and you will notice how much it reminds you of the music from the silent era.Inventive,emotive and human.It works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is possibly one of the most powerful and moving scores I've heard., 16 Jun. 2012
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Schindler's List (Audio CD)
I watched the film when it appeared on our cinema screens back in early 1994 and thought it was one of the most powerful and hard hitting films I'd seen. The same feeling I shared for the orchestral greatness of John Williams and his powerful, haunting and extremely moving score for the film it so wonderfully complimented.

This work by John Williams just goes to show why he is one of the best film composers out there at the moment. I reckon that this score is as brilliant and majestic as a magician at the top of his game. He is possibly the most Oscar nominated film composer still working in the business today. And this offering is one of the finest film scores I've ever heard. It's moving as I mentioned and it ticks all of my boxes. 'Schindler's List' is a great and powerful film based on what happened during the Second World War. This amazing score is great in its own right thanks to the great John Williams.

This soundtrack is one of my favourite scores I own on CD and every time I stick it on the hi-fi or in my car stereo, I get struck with the power and haunting sounds that come from the orchestral arrangements and the softness of touch from such instruments as the flute in sections and the violins and the rest of the orchestra. This is John Williams on tremendous form and delivering an absolute terrific CD of power, emotion in bucket loads and lots of haunting moments to cherish I reckon. Outstanding and a work of genius in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the finest film soundtrack ever written., 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schindler's List (Soundtrack) (MP3 Download)
Simply the finest film soundtrack ever written. Itzhak Perlman's performances are breathtaking. My only criticism is that track 06 'Oyf'n Pripetshok / Nacht Aktion' and track 12 'Yerushalaim Shel Zahav' are not the originals from the film and I don't think they're as good. Still, the rest of the album is flawless. I've simply deleted those two off my iPod. I would love it if they'd come out with a special edition and include the originals of those two songs.

I recommend anyone who likes this soundtrack look up an English translation of the Yiddish lyrics to the song Oyf'n Pripetshok - played during the scene with the girl in the red coat - to really appreciate why Spielberg chose to use it in the film. When you know what the words mean, the scene in the film becomes even more heart-wrenching to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hints of Mahler, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schindler's List (Audio CD)
I loved this music so much that I have bought it as presents for serious music lovers this Christmas.
One can forget or remember the reason for its existance according to the occasion and ones emotions.
Every piece is special in its own right. John Williams as fine as ever, and like most composers, and probably subconciously, takes hints from other music writters, in this case, Mahler.
Itzhak Perlman plays with haunting beauty that reaches the soul.
Rememrances (with Itzak Perlman) is a particularly moving piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Schindler's List (Soundtrack)
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews