Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near Perfect
I have long been a fan of Hrithik Roshan and Bollywood film's in general,and sometimes the gap in cultures from India to the west can take a little getting used to..........The singing and dancing at the drop of a hat;the way thing's are worded for another,but their usually so good that you get over these small thing's.
Kite's is different to a large degree,the music...
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by Brian Flynn

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You have a dream, I have the same dream. Now we have a bigger dream"
After a brief prologue, the film opens with our hero J (Hrithik Roshan) looking bloodied, battered, and bearded, as he rolls out of a cargo train vowing to find the love of his life. The film then jumps back three months to show us the events leading up to this dishevelled entrance.

Pretty soon we are into the first musical number of Kites, those hoping for...
Published on 29 Nov 2011 by @GeekZilla9000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You have a dream, I have the same dream. Now we have a bigger dream", 29 Nov 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
After a brief prologue, the film opens with our hero J (Hrithik Roshan) looking bloodied, battered, and bearded, as he rolls out of a cargo train vowing to find the love of his life. The film then jumps back three months to show us the events leading up to this dishevelled entrance.

Pretty soon we are into the first musical number of Kites, those hoping for regular song and dance routines may be disappointed however because this film straddles the Bollywood-Western divide, there are fewer instances of singing and dancing than you tend to get with a Bollywood film. Instead the songs tend to play during action sequences, but when there is dancing - it's always impressive. Particularly Hrithik, whose dancing abilities never fail to impress, it's just a shame that we don't see a great deal of it. I've spoken to people who have never watched a Bollywood film before and they tend to express disinterest because of the spontaneous bursting into song and dance which they don't feel comfortable with, for me that's one of the main attractions but those who aren't too fond may find this to be a `bridge' film, a good way to introduce themselves to a Bollywood picture with the extravagance turned down a few notches.

Kite's is primarily set in America, more specifically Las Vegas, again - a more familiar setting to most Western cinema-goers. This really seems like an effort to appeal to a new audience and the film did perform well in America, but its poor reception in a more traditional Indian film market highlights the distinct lack of a Bollywood-feel, I suppose the real measure of success will be how many new Bollywood fans the film inspires. The film itself has two distinct halves, the first depicts J hitting the big-time after trying to make money doing anything from selling popcorn to sham marriages, resulting in him becoming involved with a rich casino owning family. It's a promising start which becomes more sentimental as J discovers that perhaps there's more to life than wealth. After seriously upsetting the powerful mob he is nearly married into, the rest of the film becomes more action focussed as we witness the story leading up to his initial appearance emerging from that train. Bollywood films tend to be lavish affairs and Kites is no different, the stunts are over-the-top to the point of near-parody with car crashes and overturned trucks, they are the sort of visuals which would look dumb in a Hollywood flick but as you expect excess with an Indian film such as this, it gets away with it.

The cinematography is lush here, landscapes are beautiful and director Anurag Basu makes use of sweeping shots to create atmosphere and in the absence of bright clothes and sets they bring colour to the scene. Whether it's the beautiful blue desert skies, Mexican plains, or the twinkling lights of Vegas reflecting off of every shiny surface, the film looks sublime and the Blu-Ray transfer does it justice. The level of detail is the best I've seen on a Bollywood film and there aren't really any soft-focus shots, so everything is crisp and sharp.

In a nutshell: This is a fun film with a darker edge than I've seen in new-wave Indian cinema which tend to be light-hearted. Some of the acting struggles to convince but the central cast carry the film well, at times it gets a bit cheesy but a powerful ending (which maybe defies expectation) means the film ends on a high. This is a good starter film for those wanting an introduction to Bollywood titles, but I would probably recommend Dhoom 2 over this, like Kites it also has western appeal, stars the excellent Hrithik, and due to the strength of the fantastic musical numbers it can be as it can be watched over and over again. If I could give this 3.5 stars I could, the strength of the ending tempts me to give this 4 stars, as the music/dancing doesn't really dazzle it means that the film doesn't have great re-watch value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near Perfect, 1 Jan 2011
By 
Brian Flynn (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kites (Bollywood) (DVD)
I have long been a fan of Hrithik Roshan and Bollywood film's in general,and sometimes the gap in cultures from India to the west can take a little getting used to..........The singing and dancing at the drop of a hat;the way thing's are worded for another,but their usually so good that you get over these small thing's.
Kite's is different to a large degree,the music is blended into the story in a more traditional way for a western audience.
Everyone look's fantastic,the acting over 3 different languages blend's beautifully and the action sequences are spectacular.
A great film to introduce stubborn people who would never dream of watching a Hindi film in their life,basically it's a great story;a great movie which will appeal to western taste's while keeping true to it's Indian origin's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Kites" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues On This 'USA-ONLY' Release..., 20 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Despite having both the Bollywood and Hollywood versions of "Kites" - fans in the UK and Europe won't get to see it on BLU RAY.

This American-Only release on Image Entertainment is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Until someone sees fit to release it on this side of the pond (Region B) - check your machine for A, B and C playback to avoid a costly mistake...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kites [DVD] (DVD)
A tragic romance. Beautiful music. Throughout the entire film I was thinking that it was similar to Romeo and Juliet with a bit of editing. Like bringing in a love triangle. A little bit like The Little Mermaid and the very last scene made me think of Titanic's last scene when Rose dies in her sleep. I love soulmate stories like this and the spiritual side to it. I saw the Hindi Version. I didn't know nor see an international version on Amazon UK.

I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kites [Blu-ray] [2010] [US Import], 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dont care about the "stupid" reviews and low score on imdb .One of the best Indian movies i haver sow , and i sow alot . If you wont to try indian cinenam , this "action , drama , romance" is just perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different Bolly movie, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kites [DVD] (DVD)
Not your usual bolly movie. I swear Hrithik Roshan English accent been dubbed as he so doesn't speak with a fluent English/American accent. Still nice enough film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the colour?, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Overall good picture quality. Faces get a bit smudgy (Digital Noise Reduction) on a few close ups. For some reason they've decided to reduce the colour saturation on the Bollywood version, so that it's almost black and white. You have to turn the colour right up on your TV to see it how it should be.
The colour on the Hollywood version is as it should be. Maybe it's their attempt to make you like the "Hollywood version" more than the superior "Bollywood version".
The remix Hollywood version has completely different music and some of the songs are missing. Just imagine if they cut out the "Who Wants to Live Forever?" song from Highlander. Or if they cut out the "Eye of the Tiger " sequence from Rocky 3, and completely replaced the music. You wouldn't be too happy would you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movie, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kites [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film. It's not your typical bollywood movie as it's set in Vegas and Mexico and the leading lady is not indian, she's spanish. Hrithik looks gorgeous. It's a beautiful love story that I would definitely watch again and again. I even think hubby would like this as there is plenty of action too but not the dishoom dishoom type. If you like different movies then get this, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Film, I really recommend to watch it., 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kites [DVD] (DVD)
The combination of this Indian film, with this Mexican artist Barbara Mori, very good :) I recommend this film, you will enjoy it, it has drama, romance & more. It has subtitles in English
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good romantic watch., 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kites [DVD] (DVD)
Jumps stages of intimacy very fast in the movie but great chemistry between the couple. The story is little crazy but beatuful scenes in the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kites [DVD]
Kites [DVD] by Anurag Basu (DVD - 2011)
£14.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews