Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, shaggy and likable comedy from the wildly talented Akin
This frothy, light, slightly shapeless but endearing comedy is further proof of the protean nature of Akin's amazing talents.

While nowhere near as good as his great, dark comedy-drama `Head On' or his complex. philosophical `The Edge of Heaven', or even his delightful music documentary 'Crossing the Bridge' - all of which are must-sees - I appreciate that Akin...
Published on 30 Dec 2010 by K. Gordon

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this product in not in english or subtitleled for english speaking
Maybe it is my fault but being sold in amazon uk I assumed it is in English subtitled I was very disappointed to find out that it was not subtitled when I decided to watch
Published 5 months ago by E. Samak


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, shaggy and likable comedy from the wildly talented Akin, 30 Dec 2010
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This frothy, light, slightly shapeless but endearing comedy is further proof of the protean nature of Akin's amazing talents.

While nowhere near as good as his great, dark comedy-drama `Head On' or his complex. philosophical `The Edge of Heaven', or even his delightful music documentary 'Crossing the Bridge' - all of which are must-sees - I appreciate that Akin seems more interested in exploring different genres and stories than creating a signature style.

This is the kind of comedy that makes you smile more than laugh, and is stronger on character and acting than on comic set pieces, but even the jokes that don't work aren't annoying. Its too sweet and full of life to get cranky at.

A shaggy, likable young Greek man living in Germany tries to start his own restaurant, juggling his ex-con brother, his out-of town girlfriend, his slightly insane chef, and a rival who wants to take over his space and develop condos. It's not an `important' film, but it captures something wonderful about being young and trying to find your place in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MOVIE/SPIELFILM Soul Kitchen (DVD)
After a long search found it here in the UK and it wasn't too expensive, fabulous. Quirky and fun! Only in german.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Zany but uneven, with predictable story line, 21 April 2013
This review is from: Soul Kitchen (DVD)
But easy to watch. It had enough humour to remain engaging; even a few belly laughs such as Skype, the scene at the family funeral and how to fix a dodgy back-not for the faint of heart. Overall, it was a birdbath of a feel good movie, where it was easy to see what was coming. Too full of beautiful people-but then did watch it after an episode of a Norwegian TV series where being ugly was an art form. Soul kitchen has a tidy ending, great photography but falls over with a story dressed up as something anarchic-which it was not. Somewhere between a feel good-and guy-chick flick-still gave it a four because it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars John O'Loughlin on 'Soul Kitchen', 27 Jun 2012
By 
joholin (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Kitchen (DVD)
Like 'Mein Fuhrer', I bought this film despite its being in Italian, though you can watch the earlier German version with German subtitles if you prefer not to watch/listen to Italian, and gradually became more intrigued and entertained by it, especially by the many songs that accompany the narrative and the general ambience of well-being and partying that characterize much, though by no means all, of the film. By now I have seen it three or four times and like it more with each viewing, seeing as the acting is what one would expect from a quality German film set in Hamburg and involving the likes of Moritz Bleibtreu and Wotan Wilke Muhring (both in Das Experiment). Their respective roles here, however, couldn't be more different from the earlier film, and they are very much on opposite sides of the business fence, which is largely centred on the restaurant trade in Hamburg (though nothing like Mostly Martha with Martina Gedek) and the ups and downs of the main characters both commercially and socially. This remains a comedy despite its black spots, and the guy with the bad back is especially funny. I can't recall all the names, as I was unfamiliar with a number of the actors, but one of the greatest turn ons of a film - any film - is recognizing someone you've seen before in other films, and to be sure I wasn't prepared for the taxi driver who gets his comeuppance late on in 'Keinohrhasen' to briefly show up towards the end of this film by Fatih Akin. One way or another, its difficult not to like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable comedy., 17 Jan 2011
Great movie, well acted, well filmed and brilliantly directed. The film also has some great shots of Hamburg and gives a real feel for this north German city. I'd say that this is cutting edge European cinema which leaves its American counterparts lagging way behind in terms of content, style and intelligent comedy. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this product in not in english or subtitleled for english speaking, 9 Feb 2014
By 
E. Samak (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MOVIE/SPIELFILM Soul Kitchen (DVD)
Maybe it is my fault but being sold in amazon uk I assumed it is in English subtitled I was very disappointed to find out that it was not subtitled when I decided to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soul Kitchen
Soul Kitchen by Fatih Akin (DVD)
8.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews