Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Son Of Wavves ( The Reinvention )
It would seem that Wavves front man Nathan Williams has
more or less pulled himself together, following last year's
ups and downs, to deliver a rather intriguing new album.
Truth-be-told the band's eponymous debut was absolutely dreadful!
A rag-bag of half-formed ideas drenched in crude distortion.
More bunk than punk!

'King Of The...
Published on 4 Aug. 2010 by The Wolf

versus
1 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a cheesey trash!
If you want to get shizophrenia buy this album. So cheesy!
Published on 8 Oct. 2010 by Arsen Solovka


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Son Of Wavves ( The Reinvention ), 4 Aug. 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: King Of The Beach (Audio CD)
It would seem that Wavves front man Nathan Williams has
more or less pulled himself together, following last year's
ups and downs, to deliver a rather intriguing new album.
Truth-be-told the band's eponymous debut was absolutely dreadful!
A rag-bag of half-formed ideas drenched in crude distortion.
More bunk than punk!

'King Of The Beach', therefore, comes as a bit of a suprise.
A cleaner, well-differentiated, crisp-'n'-easy sound;
persuasive melodies and tidy but enthusiastic performances.

Mr Williams is assisted in his endeavours by Stephen Pope on
bass and Billy Hayes on drums. There are a dozen songs in the
collection, nine written by Williams, two by Hayes and one by
Pope. It sounds like there was some good energy going down in
the studio, vividly captured by producer Dennis Herring.

'Idiot' is a particularly good example of what the band does best.
After a somewhat sinister preamble of spooky B-movie laughter the
song-proper kicks in. It really does kick too! Bold and brash
and nasty, Mr Williams snarls out the vocal line with scant
regard for the finer points of what the human voice is capable.
It's a cracking and crackling piece of madness. The blistering
guitar chords at its heart sizzle through the air like a swarm
of angry wasps! Sterling stuf!!

'When Will You Come?' is an entirely different kettle of fish.
The big Spector(ish) backbeat heralds a sickly-sweet but largely
successful summer-of-love arrangement brimming over with creepy
candy-coloured harmonies pitched somewhere between Sesame Street
and Nightmare On Elm Street. A disconcerting experience!

'Take On The World' is a well-constructed piece of bump and grind
with some splendid falsetto "Ooh Ooh Ooooo" vocal interjections
to keep Mr William's workmanlike central performance company.

I particularly enjoyed 'Mickey Mouse'. The elusive but infectious
composition sounds as though it may have been accomplished by a
small hoard of woodland creatures singing in a moonlit clearing
at midnight (I know, I know, I'm prone to these fanciful notions
but please listen before you judge and you may hear it too!)

Title track 'King Of The Beach', with its snotty-nosed-bad-boy
delivery, is an absolute hoot! Mr Hayes hits his skins for all
he's worth, proving here (as elsewhere) that he is the dynamo
which generates much of the band's cocky rhythmic exuberance.

Final track 'Baby Said Goodbye', a song by Mr Hayes, is a
wonderfully weird construction full of deliriously dippy
vocal inventions and a judicious choice with which to bring
this curiously addictive album home to roost. I liked it!
(I liked the artwork too as I'm sure you can imagine!)

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great surf punk!, 29 Oct. 2011
This review is from: King Of The Beach (Audio CD)
This album was one of my favourites from 2009 and I am still enjoying it to this day. Basically its well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Beach (Audio CD)
Slight damage to the case but love this cd, getting me in the summer vibes, delivered fast too, definitely worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really Fun, 8 Oct. 2010
By 
Sara Sousa Silva "Sagres Natura Surfcamp Port... (Sagres Algarve Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King Of The Beach (Audio CD)
In my opinion this Album is really fun and better than the album they did before! The melodies are great, they mix pop and noise perfectly! Well Done and i wish some more soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Such an amazing album that I have listened to greatly prior and ..., 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Beach [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Such an amazing album that I have listened to greatly prior and post buying the vinyl. My one criticism of the record is the sleeve came a bit battered and the corners were bent over and wrinkled but i expected some wear and tear considering it was shipped from America! But all-in-all worth a buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually makes Wavves, 11 Sept. 2010
By 
Stan FREDO (BORDEAUX, Aquitaine, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: King Of The Beach (Audio CD)
The sound of this throwaway lo-fi pop rock album is a cross between Weezer if they were punking slackers (especially in the first half of the set), and Animal Collective on a shoe-string studio budget (especially on the second half of the album). Definitely a good, tuneful indie rock album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a cheesey trash!, 8 Oct. 2010
By 
Arsen Solovka "Arsen" (Mraclin, Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King Of The Beach (Audio CD)
If you want to get shizophrenia buy this album. So cheesy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Of The Beach
King Of The Beach by Wavves (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews