Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually EPIC Mickey :D
I brought this game the other day and already I am hooked to it. It's a lot of fun to play.
The camera controls are a bit tricky to handle at first as things come at you from all angles and you don't know where, but once you get control of them, the game play is much more fun :) And it doesn't take long to control the camera angles as it's really only the up, down,...
Published on 28 Nov. 2010 by SeraH~

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not great
i was looking forward to playing this game after watching videos and reading reviews but was sadly let down by poor controls and playability i am not a avid gamer but i thought a Disney game would be easy to pick up and play so for m this isn't what i expected but for the price i paid it was cheap i would say if you like a bargain and a challenge then buy it. some people...
Published on 25 Feb. 2013 by n.locker


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually EPIC Mickey :D, 28 Nov. 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey (Wii) (Video Game)
I brought this game the other day and already I am hooked to it. It's a lot of fun to play.
The camera controls are a bit tricky to handle at first as things come at you from all angles and you don't know where, but once you get control of them, the game play is much more fun :) And it doesn't take long to control the camera angles as it's really only the up, down, left and right control on the wii remote.

The game starts instantly, which is really good. There is only the prologue, but that is interesting to watch and after that...BAM! Straight into the game! :D
Some parts of the game are trickier than others and some times you wander around thinking well...hang on...how the heck am I meant to do this? You do need patience for this game at some times but the rest of it is really great.
Watch out for these little blob creatures (forgotten the name xD) Some send off a noise when they see you and that makes others come, but be careful because some come from anywhere.

I can't really say much as I haven't completed it yet, Sorry. :(
But, I will say that this is a great buy and I do reccommend that anyone reading this will take my advice and buy it because it is a really good game. Enough action and enough puzzles to solve makes it really enjoyable and addictive too hehee :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's the leader of the gang, made for you and me!?, 2 Dec. 2010
By 
T. S. Taylor "Top Ten Records" (Top Ten Records, Trearddur Bay, Anglesey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey (Wii) (Video Game)
OK... opinion? *I will be totally spoiler free!* :) :)

I love it!!

It will really help if you are a fan of Mickey Mouse/Disney theme parks in general, as there are so many little references and easter eggs to look out for! The overall presentation is nice, with a hub world branching out to various other worlds via 2D platforming sections (these tend to last for 2mins or so, just enough so that they don't get stale for the player). Graphically the game looks like a tidied up N64 game, but I must admit this adds to the charm, gets a bit nostalgic! (the cutscenes however are very very well done).

The ink you use as a weapon is verrrrry similar to Mario Sunshine, with B and Z distributing paint and thinner; paint turning enemies to your side and thinner killing them outright. This does prove for some interesting gameplay mechanics (for example, thinning out the floor beneath enemies feet so that they drop into a chasm - always good for a laugh).

The hub world has many characters roaming around, many of which with their own side quests ala Zelda. Sadly though these tend to be little more than "fetch X from Y" for which you will be awarded the games currency. I hope these develop a little further into more fleshed out quests, but I doubt they will.

The environments are all based off of 'forgotten' Disney rides/films/characters and so have a very nice dark feel to them with characters acting in a very depressing way; clearly distraught at their dilemma - this reminds me of Majoras Mask in a way, can only be a good thing!

Overall I would recommend this game to anybody who is a fan of 3D platformers in general, just don't go out there hoping for a Mario killer app, as this is just something tidy to tide you over to the next big budget release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 29 Nov. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey (Wii) (Video Game)
OMG I am such a Disney fanatic - this game is brill. It is one of the best games on the Wii and I haven't found the controls a problem at all :D. I spent 5 1/2 hours playing it on Saturday and was in my own Disneyland for a while. The game is based in Mickey's choices whther to be helpful or michevious in each action leading to a diff outcome i.e. once the game is completed you can start it again with a diff intention and have a diff games experience. The paint and thinner mechanic is also genius. I'm so happy I bought this game!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite an epic, 13 Feb. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey (Wii) (Video Game)
Epic Mickey is one of those games that should be great. It has all the right ingredients but it just hasn't been cooked long enough. Now dont get me wrong its still a good game and its one of the great games on the Wii but it just falls short of the mark. The problem really is Epic Mickey tries to do everything but never really achieves any of it.

RPG elements of the game come in with the choices you make. You have the choice to paint or thin, to betray people in the waist land for a shiny pin or the easy way forward or help them out and make them your ally. But the consequences of your actions are not that great and weather you use paint or thinner just comes down to which is easier. As much as they want you to feel you are choosing your own path your not, your following a set path with set points where minor choices can be made. You wont want to spend a huge amount of time doing side quests or talking to different characters because there not enough depth to it, something a real RPG has. Platforming is fun but easy and sometimes just a time wast. Fighting never really feels good because the camera is all over the place and enemies are repetitive and take too long to kill or befriend. Besides you can never get too excited about killing various kinds of blobs.

When Epic mickey gets it right though it get it right. The environments are beautiful and inventive. The story is compelling and boss battles are rewarding and its always a thrill to bump into a beautifully rendered Disney character. This game feels best when you are free to explore without the threat of an awkward battle. Glimpses of greatness will push you forward in this game.

If you took out a lot of clunky blotling fighting and overcomplicated battle mechanics and really delved into the RPG elements you would have a classic. As it is you have a game not like any other, something that is often frustrating but is also beautiful and inventive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Epic Mickey, Epic Camera Fail, 13 May 2011
By 
Mr. Martyn Poole "Rubix78" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey (Wii) (Video Game)
I bought Epic Mickey over the Christmas period having loved the look of the trailers and watching the opening scene on you tube. First off I love graphic style of this game, for the Wii it really does stand out as one of the best looking 3rd party games. The music is very Disney and so is the story if a little darker than you may be used to.

Watching the opening prologue is essential to understanding the games story, it shows you how Mickey creates the world you eventually play in. Mickey gets captured and finds himself between the wasteland world's twisted borders and embarks on a mission to get himself out while making amends for what he did.

To get through the game Mickey is armed with a paintbrush which acts as both a Painter and Thinner. You use the paint to paint objects in while using the thinner to remove obstacles in your path, it really is an original idea which is another reason this game stands out. You will learn through your travels that hidden items are hidden throughout the world and thinning as much as possible will allow you to find them.

Throughout the game you will be faced with enemies called blotlings which you can paint to make them friendly then they will turn blue and ignore Mickey and even help him out against other blotlings or you can choose to thin them out which will get rid of them completely. Along with these two options Mickey also have a spin attack which is used much like it is in Mario Galaxy by a quick flick of the Wiimote. Later upgrades will give Mickey TV's used to distract enemies, an anvil to crush them and get to higher levels and the ability to slow down time for a few crucial seconds which is handy when moving through fast spinning blades and closing walls.
Alongside the main game you can also take part in sub quests by helping out the world's local folk which earns you extra items and power sparks that are needed to allow you to open up new worlds to progress through the game.

Throughout the game you will be faced with choices which will determined the games ending and mostly consist of finding certain items and painting bosses or thinning them out. There are a few choices that will creep up on you and before you know it you have already made your choice before you realized it which is another reason to reply the game along with the alternative endings this game holds.

You travel between the worlds in the wasteland through a projector screen and enter a 2D sideways scroller. The change is nice at first but doesn't last long before becoming repetitive especially when you are forced to go back and forth for sub quests. The other annoying part of this game and probably the biggest is the games camera; it's hard to control what it does sometimes making the easiest jumps difficult and boss fights very frustrating especially when moving around them and the camera is off facing a wall. You can bring the camera back to behind Mickey but when trying to move around a boss it's not the way you always want to face so sometimes you are not even facing the boss.

On whole Epic Mickey is a very entertaining game which allows multiply playthroughs but sometimes the camera issues can be a game killer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 13 Jan. 2011
By 
R. Mason "buffonia" (Bham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey (Wii) (Video Game)
I'm a big fan of good platform games, and I'm quite fussy about which I play. Obviously (well, obviously to me!), you can't beat Super Mario games - nothing ever will! However, I rate this game very highly!

I note that the more negative reviews on here sound like they are from people who possibly haven't done much gaming before, and hence have problems with the controls. If you've played a good few platform games before, then you'll pick up the controls straight away.

I'm 30, and I love this game- I don't know how much kids would enjoy it as I have no idea what kids are into these days (do kids still watch Mickey Mouse cartoons?), but I think it's quite obviously aimed at adults (and older kids). I love the retro cartoon sections between areas - which are one of the reasons I think it's aimed at an older audience- so much fun and the animations are wonderful!

Some people have commented that the camera views can be a bit tricky - they're controlled quite similaraly as in other platform games, e.g. Mario. I find that they're fine most the time, just occasionally I press 1 to see things from Mickey's point of view and then it won't change back to normal view. Very slight glitch though.

Overall, great fun to play - it's not so easy that it's boring, and it's not so hard that you're baffled what to do. I honestly haven't been stuck what to do once yet (and I'm about 10 hrs into the game), but some of the challenges have taken me several attempts to complete/find what I'm looking for and definitely aren't too easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 17 Jan. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey (Wii) (Video Game)
I originally got this game to play with my little boy , but have found myself hooked on it as it is I think aimed more at adults or children of a older age.The whole game has quite a dark feel , but then there are little pieces of vintage mickey mouse harping back to the 1940's that gives this game a really lovely feel.I think it is a great game for the money and I have enjoyed it more than other platform games on the wii.So in all I think this is a really beautiful game , the artwork on some scenes is lovely , it will make you want to keep going back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Mickey for the wii, 7 April 2011
By 
L. Hurst (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey (Wii) (Video Game)
This game is very unusual visually, and is a very interesting idea for a game. It is quite dark for a Disney venture, but Mickey makes a very likeable hero. There are some parts which are quite tricky, and my husband had to take over for my son at a few points, who was 6 when he was playing it. Overall, we all enjoyed trying to solve the puzzles and completing the missions, and it certainly held my son's attention until he completed the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Mickey is EPIC, 21 Feb. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey (Wii) (Video Game)
Epic Mickey is a brilliant game; fun and changeling from the start. The loveable Mickey Mouse is great fun to play as while you try and return him to the normal world. I love the paint brush as a weapon and tool, it's genius. The storyline is great, characters and graphics are just like the originals. The unlockables are fantastic. Overall a brilliant game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth sticking with!, 26 Nov. 2010
By 
S. J. Heaume (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey (Wii) (Video Game)
Okay, let's get into the meat of the gameplay straight away without any further ado. Basically, you will have control and camera issues at first but if you're patient enough, you will learn to adjust these through the relevant button presses ( C button snaps behind Mickey and D-Pad for UDLR ). My only gripe is that I couldn't change to the more gamer-friendly inversion of the Y axis to make the up down and vice-versa. You'll also need to get used to tapping the buttons quickly to get the best response, as opposed to your normal press-and-let-go operation.

As for the gameplay style, it's a cross between Mario Sunshine and Spyro the Dragon...from my experience with all games from both stables. The painting and thinning work well for the most part, but you will have to make sure you're on just the right spot now and then to hit the sweet area. In the couple of hours or so that I've played it, the minor battle sections don't offer much of a challenge and probably won't for some time. You can choose to get rid of or befriend them with a blast of thinner or paint respectively. Contrary to some reviews, there is a minor lock-on ability using the C button. The rest of your time is taken up with an ever-increasing list of quests to do, ranging from finding special area-specific items to fixing pipes and other structural repairs. The homage to older and mostly forgotten characters is evident right from the start in both levels and music.

The levels are adequately structured to give you hints as to what needs your attention whether it be for collection of currency or a little brushwork. It looks fine during gameplay with bright "toon" graphics mixing with run-of-the-mill stonework and wood. Beware the liquid areas which do 1/5 damage at a time. The cut-scenes are very nice when fully rendered but mostly you'll see flat 2D moments inbetween main areas.

The 8/10 score from other good sites has it about right I think, although I obviously need a little longer at it to form a proper opinion. There's around 15 to 20 hours here depending how much you like to collect as much as possible that's on offer. All in all, a sound title which gives the main character a well needed boost of publicity and proving that, after all these years, Mickey Mouse can still cut it with the regular guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disney Epic Mickey (Wii)
Disney Epic Mickey (Wii) by Disney Interactive (Nintendo Wii)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews