Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, but where's the replay??
I've never really been into the NFS games but after playing the demo (and seeing it for 25 on amazon!) i had to buy it.
The cars look fantastic, as do the areas you race on, the handling is easy to get into but difficult to master and the autolog is really well implemented. Autolog shows you your friends times when loading the event you are about to play and also...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by Rich Williams

versus
35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If Only
OK no frills no long going on and on about how great the game is :o) i love this game apart from
1) No 2 player offline mode
2) No system link
3) repeat repeat repeat
If your xbox gold you will have hours and hours of fun playing cops and robbers with your mates.
If like me you love nothing more than having a race with your children split screen...
Published on 21 Nov 2010 by Mr. Ricky Ash


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much rubbish, not a complete disaster though, 12 Mar 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I hav played almost every single NFS game, also the original NFS:HP, which was very good for its time. Now I bought this one, as I was really interested in playing as a cop.
After about 20 hours of gameplay, I must say, it's not as good as I thought, and I wouldn't recommend buying it for more than 10.

Pros:
- Nice graphics, especially cars
- Decent music
- Nice animations
- Good online play
- play as a cop or villain driver

Cons:
- Terrible controls, lagging all the way, and giving unnatural feeling - worst nightmare of fans of simming
- Car sounds are all the same
- No difference in car handling, speed, acceleration are the only difference.
- Ridiculously stupid AI, and outrageously unrealistic.
- All cop cars are limited in speed and accel to certain levels, so that AI can easily get away (50km/h difference in speed makes no difference)
- Long animations before every race, which can't be really skipped - how it comes devs still do these mistakes?
- very simplistic career system, giving away cars and new levels without any effort from player.

Really, it took them many years to come up with rubbish like this, I can't think what will be next. Devs seem to have focused on nice looking cars, and stunning crashes, but completely forgot about "analog" controls, which is the very nature of XBOX 360 controller. It's like using Right/Left arrows on the keyboard.
AI traffic have no respect to law at all, which means that you have to dodge them a lot.
Overall, it's a fun for couple of hours, then starts being annoying and frustrating. Don't buy it unless it's too cheap to ignore it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hot Pursuit ?? This is barely lukewarm !!!, 31 Dec 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After all the hype from Gamesmasters, IGN and the others with their 90% marks and glowing reviews I expected the best. What I got was the biggest disappointment of 2010.
Initial impressions were not good, with just getting to a race taking at least 10 minutes through the endless signing in to Autolog and entering codes and such. Then came the first race which, rather than being an introduction to all the thrills and such I was expecting, was simply plodding and dull.
Well what makes this game so dull ??? Well the main problem is the pursuits themselves: they are simply engagingly and boring, especially after experiencing Unwanted. Hell, even the pursuits in Undercover were gold compared to this. As the police officer, you are simply playing lone wolf the whole time, you can't even call in other units like in HP2. Yes you can still call in roadblocks and helicopters but even these are only temporary and the pursuits just feel so unegaging. Again, as the racer, with no more than 2 officers engaging you at any one time, you simply feel that you are stuck on heat level 1 the whole time, the pursuits are almost nonexistent.
After seeing that Criterion were involved, I thought that perhaps there would be some spectacular crashes and take downs galore would liven things up. Well there would be if there was actually some traffic density and crash damge. Since neither of these things exist, the crashes are about as spectacular as hitting another car parking whilst doing the Sunday shopping. In fact, you can't even perform proper takedowns for that matter.
The races themselves aren't even fun. Particularly frustrating are the time trails, especially the SCPD ones, which punish you for even minorly scrapping your car. This means that unless you get everything perfect, take the exact route, you will not win. Not even a tiny tiny margin of error was allowed. At least in previous titles there was a bit of hope you could still win, which made them more playable.
Online however this game is................pretty much the same. Whilst I think that autolog is a very good idea and does its job splendidly, it doesn't make things more fun. All the problems from the single player game still exist and not even real human players can change that.
Never have I traded in a game in until at least I had completed it fully, but this is going straight to CEX after the new year. This has to be the most over hyped, tedious rubbish ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Game ok but and there is always a but, 13 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. Lee Smith (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I won't even bother going what the game is like overall, but I will say this, if you are thinking of buying this game then don't. Put simply this is a test to see how many people go on to give more of there cash away after you have already paid for your xbox subscription to play online. If you happen to lend it to a friend or choose to sell your game then the person that buys it will have to payout more money to have the privilege to play it online, thus reducing the value of the game further than would happen under normal circumstances
This is a dangerous precedent for future games to start charging for every little bit they can which is already starting slowly but surely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and money, 20 Dec 2010
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A fan of NFS enjoyed Carbon, Black, looked forward to this. What a let down,

*Dull game, no real progression, no upgrading cars or painting
*Handling is rubbish, i mean go back to the 80s and remember Outrun - thats how this feels
*On coming traffic appears to stop if you get near it

Just a total let down, I think you should look at the price and think hmmm why has this 40 game now dropped to 20 and is it worth 20 - No.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a disappointment, 12 Dec 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After playing Need for Speed games since they were on the PS2, this game looked like it would be a update to the amazing game "Most wanted" but this this time you could be both the racer and the police!

I put the disc in, and after 20 mins of terms and conditions, disclaimers and code entering (thats right, if you buy the game second hand you cant actually play online without buying a new game code)i finally got into the game. Expecting the usual story NFS games come with i was suprised that there isnt one. You pick a race, pick a pre made car (Yep, no custom mods) and play the same bland game over and over. As a racer you have to battle against other racers, but mainly the really bad physics. As a cop its even worse, your job is to ram the car until its health runs out. Thats it, no tactics or anything, unless you count the pointless "weapons" that deliver nothing execpt making the game look dreadfully cheap and tacky.

This is just another game in the growing list of games that EA has ruined in a quest for sales over quality. I personally refuse to buy anything else from them until they sort it out.

In short, Great potential- Just does'nt deliver at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great driving games, 19 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Martin J. Turnbull (Arbroath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I looked at the background picture that seem so cool as look like real country area,etc.. with day and then night time plus plane fly over -- plenty more... beware of cops waiting for you and trying to take off you from the road plus you can become cop car to stop the suspect - very colourful when drove under the tunnel with colourful flashing light... great fun with Xbox 360, very coolest with Xbox 360 steering wheel ive spend hours. It worth to buy for Xbox 360!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A huge disappointment to a massive Burnout fan., 7 Dec 2010
By 
M. J. Gleaves (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This to me has been one of the most upsetting things to have happened this year in my world of Xbox gaming. I absolutely loved the Burnout series, and with Criterion being in my opinion the best producers of arcade racing out there, how could this fail? Firstly the graphics. I remember being stunned by Burnout 3, everything seemed to just work, and the level of detail was second to none with feature packed landscapes you could get lost in, but here, i don't know, it just doesn't work. I for one hate night time driving, it doesn't add anything to me, and driving at night through what could be any area of the map just get's tiresome. Also, if you just stop to look around the graphics lack a certain level of polish, looking very pixelated and crude. Now I'm a firm beleiver of gameplay over graphics, but i was so disappointed by the areas and road layouts Criterion has chosen to use. Nearly every road has the same predictable flow to it, shortcuts pop-up at regular intervals like clockwork, and even weirder than that, there's no jumps, anywhere, at all! this I found to be really odd as your car hardly ever leaves the road, and was a really enjoyable aspect in the Burnout series. And finally, i was just bored playing it. And that was the nail in the coffin for me. After about the 10th event it just repeated the same format over, and over again. If i was to give any words of advice, it would be to rent this title first. I'm sure going online with it would improve it lots, but i can't comment on that. I can only comment on my overall lack of enjoyment with this title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need for Speed, 18 Dec 2010
By 
S. Riddles (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Well firstly i was concerned about receiving this product before christmas (due to the crazy snow) as it is a present i bought for my brother. It arrived only a couple of days after the estimated date which is impressive considering i used the supersaver delivery. As for the game I'm sure it will be as good as the previous one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To much burn out not enought NEED 4 SPEED, 21 Dec 2010
By 
M. barlow "MIB 24" (WA UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Being a huge fan of the neeed for speed i expected brillance from this game. I was disapointed.
1st the music is so laim while ur driving. The cars are all footballers dream cars. they not botherd to have small hot hatches, you can not kit ur ride up cos all the car are all ready done, there no buying cars cos you just win them. Burnout has realy focus on crashing which is annoying while ur racing, You spend 5 mins watching the crash. They give u nitro to used which doesnt work properly. You get past cars soon they caught u up to quickly. On the free run you cant race other cars just driving around no cops to wurry about. While racing you dont drive to the race just on a map. Yes the cars look stunning and plenty of convertable but it burnout new game not a Need 4 speed game it just not as gd as the old games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)
Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
15.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews