Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great NFS comeback!
I was starting to get bored of the NFS series, as Im more into arcadey driving games, and so when I heard about Hot Pursuit I knew I had to get it. Well worth the money. The grapgics are stunning and the game itself its really enjoyable, especially the online mode. There are so many cars which do handle differently to each other, and in the online mode both cops and...
Published on 19 Nov. 2010 by keeano

versus
35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If Only
OK no frills no long going on and on about how great the game is :o) i love this game apart from
1) No 2 player offline mode
2) No system link
3) repeat repeat repeat
If your xbox gold you will have hours and hours of fun playing cops and robbers with your mates.
If like me you love nothing more than having a race with your children split screen...
Published on 21 Nov. 2010 by Mr. Ricky Ash


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great NFS comeback!, 19 Nov. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was starting to get bored of the NFS series, as Im more into arcadey driving games, and so when I heard about Hot Pursuit I knew I had to get it. Well worth the money. The grapgics are stunning and the game itself its really enjoyable, especially the online mode. There are so many cars which do handle differently to each other, and in the online mode both cops and racers have tools to help them either catch or evade. Played this game almost constantly for 4 hours its that good. The only thing I dont like about it is the cars drift easily round corners, but only as I find it irritating, but the drifts are so easy to control so you wont spin out or anything. Even the single player is great fun, and both career and online you are constantly unlocking new cars or equipment upgrades. For anyone who says 'o its too fake.....' its going to be, its made to be just pure fun and adrenline filled, and what do you expect, the idea of racing a Maserati along coastal roads at 100+ MPH being chased by cops is just never going to happen in reality. If you played Hot Persuit 2, this is basically a far superior version in every single way!!! Well worth getting if you love arcade racers, fast cars and action packed racing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, but where's the replay??, 11 Jan. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've never really been into the NFS games but after playing the demo (and seeing it for £25 on amazon!) i had to buy it.
The cars look fantastic, as do the areas you race on, the handling is easy to get into but difficult to master and the autolog is really well implemented. Autolog shows you your friends times when loading the event you are about to play and also your previous best if you've played it before. If you beat a friends time, a quick press of a button will inform them you have beaten their time and also make a note of this against the event on the Map and in a seperate area called the Wall. You can view the wall, see a friend has beaten one of your times and one more press of a button will take you directly back to that event so you can try and regain top spot (or whichever spot you lost!).
This gives the game fantastic replay value.
The events themselves are generally great fun though i did find the ones which are basically time trials a little dull compared to events with other racers/ cops in but thats just a personal preference and they are probably only 10-15% of the single player game.

There are 2 points that i find HUGELY disappointing but fortunately still dont ruin the game for me.
The first is a total lack of TV style replay after the race. Maybe its a technical issue, but replays of these races would have been THE most amazing and spectacular i have ever seen on any system. Correct me if im wrong but it seems that the racing games with the most spectacular action/ crashes rarely seem to have a replay. Im looking at you Blur, Burnout Paradise and Split Second. Ok, DIRT has them but you get my drift.
The second point is in multiplayer. Unless im missing something obvious, there does not seem to be a way to form a lobby with a freind and then join a game together. This seems such an obvious omission that i hardly dare mention it as im still hoping its me that is missing something simple. If it is, fine! Just let me know how to do it please!
This is still a great game though and one which id totally recommend to anyone into arcade style racing games.
Saying that, ive loved playing Forza for the last year or so and they couldnt be more different, so give it a go whatever racing games you like.
Cheers
Rich
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE this game, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is nothing but fun.

There is no realism here at all, but it so much fun I can't even describe it. There is literally nothing about it that I do not love.

The music rocks, the graphics are amazing, the cars are lovely, the tracks are great, the handling is brilliant, and it was very adrenalizing indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of great driving, 4 Oct. 2011
By 
Andrew Parker (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having come from GRID I was looking for something less serious and found it. NFS:HP is great fun and has a gradual skill build up. You get great cars which have their own characteristics.

There are some skill challenges where you get from point A to B basically without crashing which is great but this is perhaps my only niggle with the game. I'll come back to that. Playing a racer you have to escape pursuit and playing a cop you have to catch and this is by far the best element of the game. You get various tech such as spike strips to aid you in capture and you get limited numbers of these tech so you have to use them strategically. Much good fun.

Back to my niggle. After you have all the cars the point to points can be a bit of a drag. You have to get distinction in each event to get other events to open up. Its is a great way to learn the map - oh yeah the locations are great. Tight curves, fast highways, great scenery and various driving conditions like snow, raining, dawn, dusk, etc. Not so bit you get lost but about perfect.

As NFS:HP2 is already planned I hope they add more variations the capture and possibly more methods of customizing the performance, possibly more off road 4X4 action might be good but keep the high speed pursuits...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :), 4 Jan. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is a must buy for any need for speed enthusiast. I must admit it is not as good as most wanted or carbon but still an amazing game with brillaint graphics and the creators of burnout. The whole visuals of the game are brilliant but the bad thing about it is that it does not have a story line. Without the story line you dont get the same tension that you would have got in the previous games in the series. The good thing about it is that you can play as cop or racer. This makes the experience even better. For anybody that likes cars being thrown around the highway driving at 200mph then this is the game to buy i bought it and i love it fun for the whole family :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost it a little, 19 Nov. 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok, so first, i should say that i am a die hard NFS fan. That out of the way, i must say that the concept of the re-vamp is really good. The graphics and crash cinematics are absolutely spectacular! The Hot Pursuits and Interceptor matches are serious. You might find (as did i) that the Rapid Response matches are somewhatt challenging. Overall, a good game though. The down-sides - too few race maps (after i got to level 10, i had to do races again, in order to further increase my level). A bit disappointed that they took away customization. You cant upgrade your engines or handling or even the paintwork! The cars are set, and you drive what you are given. Cop or racer, you will enjoy the adrenaline rush while driving at ridiculous speeds (until you get spiked or EMP'ed!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
For me this is probably the best need for speed game, I have played earlier versions and the newer titles and I think this is the best one by a million miles. I know this is just my opinion but give it a go . For the money I don't think you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent racer!, 14 Jan. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this based on a friends recommendation. He'd been playing GT5 on his PS3, got a bit bored with it so bought this instead and he loved it. And I have to say, I can see why.

The visuals are excellent, the soundtack is great, the gameplay is addictive (just one more race!!) and I love it. I used to play a lot of the NFS games a couple of years ago, the Underground series being my favourites, and this one puts them right at the front of the arcade racing genre.

Review is as follows

Graphics 5/5 - Stunning backdrops, gorgeous cars and a real feeling of speed when boosting down the highways at 250mph in a Bugatti Veyron!!!

Audio 4/5 - Excellent soundtrack, sometimes drowns out the noise of the cars though (which I love being able to hear!!). Played with the settings though and soon fixed that!

Gameplay 4.5/5 - Many different classes of races, lots of cars to unlock both as a racer and as a cop, sometimes races can become a little repetitive and frustrating when you can't quite get the gold medal!!

Lifespan 5/5 - Have played many hours so far and I'm just about to reach level 20 as a racer, then I've still got it all to do as a cop, and race online, and get all the gold medals.......it goes on. Oh, and theres a DLC pack out for it as well which I will definately have to get.

Overall 5/5 - Love it, would recommend to anyone who enjoys fast paced racing without having to take it too serious. Can become a little repetitive, but honestly speaking, you won't care!!

Now, one more race........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Racing. Awesome Game., 1 Jan. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having seen all the crap reviews for this game, I felt compelled to put in my two pennies. Despite what those who gave it 3, 2 or 1 star reviews have said; NFS Hot Pursuit is the best game in the series' history. Whilst best suited to those who are able to play it online; this way it offers hours and hours of fun. The progression is great, and you unlock so many cars so that you are compelled to keep ranking up. Just simply joining in the action and the amount of battles that take place on the track is awe inspiring. A must purchase even for those who aren't really into cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, 8 Feb. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Combining the best action from NFS games, the takedowns from Burnout Revenge and being able to play as a Police patrolman to shutdown races is, in my opinion, an unbeatable combination.
What also attracted me to this game is the long list of the latest and greatest sports and supercars which are driveable in both Racer and patrolman challenge modes. If you're a pretolhead like me, this will flick your switches and it seems as though they have tried to make the cars "feel" different whilst driving, ie cars well known for cornering abilities do corner really well and those known as being a bit unwieldy on corners are indeed a bit of a handful.
There are a variety of challenges, some are point to point timed runs where hitting barriers or other cars adds 3 seconds per hit, there are straight out races against other cars, police takedown events where you get to use spike strips, helicopters, EMP charges and roadblocks to damage race cars and force the race to end before they reach the goal. As a racer in a police chase event you are also given weapons such as spike strips, jammers to prevent EMP attacks and turbo boosts (in addition to nitrous).
You choose any event you like from either police or racer mode or even free drive, earn more bounty points as in previous NFS games to unlock more cars, upgrades and of course more events which tend to get longer in terms of map miles too. The graphics (on the 360) are lush, both on car and scenery detail and there's a lot of variety in the scenery too which can go from icy mountain passes by day to moonlit runs with lightning and rain, all are very well done. Engine sounds seem authentic and don't disappoint either. All in all, I cannot fault this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)
Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
£13.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews