Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST
I have dozens of Glenn Miller CD's and Records. This is the best sound quality I have heard, and since I recieved it two days ago, I must have played it a dozen times. I wish the sleeve notes had included dates and place of the recordings, otherwise BRILLIANT
Published on 30 Jun. 2010 by R. L. BRATLEY

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 star selections, problematic transfers.
In a nutshell, This 2010 CD has very good selections but the "remastering" of the transfers has drawbacks.

"Remastering" is of course a misnomer, because there is no multi-track tape source from which to make a new master. The source is the metal master prepared during the recording session. These can sound a bit dull at first, for instance on Sony's 2008 three...
Published on 22 Nov. 2011 by Mike L


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST, 30 Jun. 2010
By 
R. L. BRATLEY "leonardo" (shireoaks notts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I have dozens of Glenn Miller CD's and Records. This is the best sound quality I have heard, and since I recieved it two days ago, I must have played it a dozen times. I wish the sleeve notes had included dates and place of the recordings, otherwise BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostagia, 21 July 2010
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Back to my youth in the era of big bands as opposed to boy bands!
It makes the hair on the back of my neck stand up. The transfer from
the original recordings is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glenn Miller Classic Music, 8 July 2010
By 
Robin C "Robin C" (Mablethorpe, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
For all aficionados of Glenn Miller music this a must have. A truly original CD of pure pleasure!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of Glenn Miller., 15 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Glenn Miller. Just simply a great collection of a Master Bandleader of his time.
I am now in my sixties and even though never heard him live but thanks to my
Parents know the music well !
For this reason would recommend this c/d not just for older but for the not so old !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seductive, 4 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I love this cd. It took me right back to when I was 8 years old on the liner coming back from Australia to England at the end of the second world war. The ship stopped off the Azores, why? to pick up some soldiers was the reply. We were not prepared to what happened next. Heavy nets were lowerd over the sides, flat bottomed boats left the shore filled with yankee soldiers clad in camaflage outfits. As we gaped over the sides, the men started climbing up the net, and in no tme a handsome young GI landed at my side, he was as surprised as me but gave me a huge hug and a bar of Wrigleys chewing gum before the pressure of soldiers coming up pushed him on. He was my hero and I looked like the little sister he had left in the States he said. So when in UK i heard that GI music it made me remember those easy going cheerful generous soldiers, and now it does too. Another promised world to the one we found in bomb blasted Britain and food rationing still in force; I used to clean the house on Mondays to the strains of Golden Opera, The Marriage of Figaro, etc;, now It is Glenn Miller who sees me through in beautitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic moments, 21 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This music is fantastic. It takes me back to my teenage years when we danced to his music and I learned to type to American Patrol. We all had manual typewriters which sounded a bell everytime you 'carriage returned' so it was a quite musical class as we all 'rang' in time. Those were the days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Glenn Album Around!!!, 31 May 2010
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I just received this album in the post and its amazing. The way this album has been remastered is incredible, as each track sounds crisp like the first time I heard it back then. For anyone that likes Glenn Miller this album is a must!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my mums cd, 22 July 2010
By 
Mrs. Devlin (east sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Got this cd for my 86 year old mum she absolutely loves it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 19 Oct. 2010
By 
A. Taylor (Beds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Bought it for my father who is 87 and he loves it plays it constantly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back old times, 2 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I purchases this cd for my parents who used to dance to this. I have listened to it and to be honest I really enjoyed it. No matter how old you are I would suggest this cd for anybody, it is not stuffy or old fashioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of
The Very Best Of by Glenn Miller
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews