Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST
I have dozens of Glenn Miller CD's and Records. This is the best sound quality I have heard, and since I recieved it two days ago, I must have played it a dozen times. I wish the sleeve notes had included dates and place of the recordings, otherwise BRILLIANT
Published on 30 Jun 2010 by R. L. BRATLEY

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 star selections, problematic transfers.
In a nutshell, This 2010 CD has very good selections but the "remastering" of the transfers has drawbacks.

"Remastering" is of course a misnomer, because there is no multi-track tape source from which to make a new master. The source is the metal master prepared during the recording session. These can sound a bit dull at first, for instance on Sony's 2008 three...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by Mike L


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST, 30 Jun 2010
By 
R. L. BRATLEY "leonardo" (shireoaks notts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I have dozens of Glenn Miller CD's and Records. This is the best sound quality I have heard, and since I recieved it two days ago, I must have played it a dozen times. I wish the sleeve notes had included dates and place of the recordings, otherwise BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostagia, 21 July 2010
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Back to my youth in the era of big bands as opposed to boy bands!
It makes the hair on the back of my neck stand up. The transfer from
the original recordings is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glenn Miller Classic Music, 8 July 2010
By 
Robin C "Robin C" (Mablethorpe, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
For all aficionados of Glenn Miller music this a must have. A truly original CD of pure pleasure!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of Glenn Miller., 15 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Glenn Miller. Just simply a great collection of a Master Bandleader of his time.
I am now in my sixties and even though never heard him live but thanks to my
Parents know the music well !
For this reason would recommend this c/d not just for older but for the not so old !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my mums cd, 22 July 2010
By 
Mrs. Devlin (east sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Got this cd for my 86 year old mum she absolutely loves it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic moments, 21 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This music is fantastic. It takes me back to my teenage years when we danced to his music and I learned to type to American Patrol. We all had manual typewriters which sounded a bell everytime you 'carriage returned' so it was a quite musical class as we all 'rang' in time. Those were the days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Glenn Album Around!!!, 31 May 2010
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I just received this album in the post and its amazing. The way this album has been remastered is incredible, as each track sounds crisp like the first time I heard it back then. For anyone that likes Glenn Miller this album is a must!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 19 Oct 2010
By 
A. Taylor (Beds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Bought it for my father who is 87 and he loves it plays it constantly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music, 2 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Great music by a great band. If you like the Miller sound this album is not to be missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back old times, 2 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I purchases this cd for my parents who used to dance to this. I have listened to it and to be honest I really enjoyed it. No matter how old you are I would suggest this cd for anybody, it is not stuffy or old fashioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of
The Very Best Of by Glenn Miller
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews