Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really shows off Kinect
Sports games seem to be the way to show off Motion Controllers; Wii Sports was the perfect introduction to the Wii, Sports Champions showed what Move was capable of. Likewise, Rare's Kinect Sports arrives to show Kinect owners what their hardware can really do.

Kinect Sports contains 6 sports; Volleyball, Bowling, Football, Table Tennis, Boxing and Track and...
Published on 16 Nov 2010 by Paul B

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining
This game is quite fun to start off, that is, once you have friends with you. At first it is pretty easy to break all the records and once you play again, you will want to push yourself to keep breaking your own record. The track and field is the most fun and the most draining.

Overall, it is probably one of the most entertaining Kinect games. However, I have...
Published on 5 Mar 2011 by Arthur


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really shows off Kinect, 16 Nov 2010
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kinect Sports - Kinect Required (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Sports games seem to be the way to show off Motion Controllers; Wii Sports was the perfect introduction to the Wii, Sports Champions showed what Move was capable of. Likewise, Rare's Kinect Sports arrives to show Kinect owners what their hardware can really do.

Kinect Sports contains 6 sports; Volleyball, Bowling, Football, Table Tennis, Boxing and Track and Field (which itself contains a further 5 events). This is bolstered by mini-game versions of these sports.

The question everyone wants to know is 'Is this better than Wii Sports/Sports Champions?'. The short answer is; yes. The game makes full use of Kinect and its incredibly easy to use. Menus are easy to navigate, you can use Xbox Live Avatars for players and there are some neat touches that put this ahead of Wii Sports like the inclusion of licensed music when you win an event. Hearing Queen's 'We Are The Champions' blasting out of your speaker while you watch your latest replay can be very satisfying. Kinect Sports even saves a video replay of your antics while playing, which you can choose to delete out of embarrassment or upload to Kinect Share and stick it on Youtube for further embarrassment!

All the sports are well thought out to make use of the hardware, though Football is an interesting choice for inclusion as it's a hard game to implement with motion controls. Rare have tried hard to bring the game to life with Kinect, in fact its the part they've spent the most time on, and it does work to an extent. Obviously it's a dumbed down version of the sport but it's fun. All the sports are easy to use though and work just as you'd expect. There is very little lag in the game as a whole and quite a challenge to beat the leaderboards on the harder difficulty settings.

To give you an idea of how easy it is to use, my 6 year old found it easy to navigate the menus and play the games. She enjoyed most of the games though games like Javelin require quite a bit of accuracy in throwing and co-ordination.

Kinect Sports does what it sets out to do and shows off Kinect but, beyond that, it's great fun and entertaining for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sport-tastic!, 29 Nov 2010
By 
C. Dolan "Mister D" (United Kingdon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kinect Sports - Kinect Required (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this game shortly after getting Kinect after reading a few reviews. To be honest having read numerous reports talking about lag I was slightly apprehensive when I loaded it up. It's fair to say I was blown away by this. If there is any lag it's minimal and you certainly don't notice any lag when you're in the heat of the action.

The choice of sports is great and surprisingly the football works really well. I wasn't entirely sure how that one would work but it's great fun. Boxing is also good fun although being constantly TKO'd by your five year old son every time is not! The track and field is surprisingly varied and the events are all very enjoyable. I particularly like the fact that your avatar whenever it's on screen literally does everything you do. If you want to pull off some Usain Bolt poses before the 100m you can and if you want to taunt your opponent after you've pummelled him to the canvas then it's all possible. It's a small but nice touch. I'm still amazed that Kinect can track your movements in such a way that you can play top spin and slice shots in table tennis and even put spin on the ball when bowling.

The highlights after the game are genius and always have us in histerics when you see yourself pulling off some ridiculous moves!

If I have a criticism then it is probably that the bowling is a little too easy although trust me this is a minor gripe.

A lot of the reviews have talked about the space you need and yes you do need quite a bit of space but the on screen prompts work well to warn you if you need to re-adjust your position.

This is great all round entertainment and for me this is Kinect at it's very best.

If you've got Kinect then go and buy this, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What The Kinnect Was Made For, 26 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kinect Sports - Kinect Required (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The fact that this game is a launch title speaks volumes about what you can expect from Kinect. We've had our Kinect since launch but this one had to stay out the way for Christmas, but everyone in the family was itching for a go and to be brutal I expected to be disappointed.

Thank Goodness for misplaced pessimism!

Started with bowling and frankly is that was all there was with this you would probably be more than happy. But then you have Table Tennis, Track and Field, Boxing, Football and Volley Ball.

If there is an issue it is as always not with the game but with the Kinnect - that SPACE HUNGRY brute! We have a small playroom and one person gets just about enough room. The funny thing is you just start playing, enjoying it, then thinking how you can maybe convince the wife to lose, say, the bedroom, so you have a bigger area for the Kinnect. A lottery win maybe - then you could build a Kinnect Ready room.

Frankly you WILL find a space for Kinect.

Table Tennis is a fun but challenging one handed affair and very receptive. Track and Field is the fun one, and for the middle aged a real workout. Boxing certainly gets the heart rate up, and for the one player could do with a few 'levels' rather than one opponent. Volley Ball was great fun, but led to the wife taking out the ceiling lampshade - you don't need to jump THAT high, dear.

Best of all for the blokes is Football, which actually is the least active of the group, but ultimately the most satisfying. The online play just takes it all to a better level.

Well worth a pop to show you what that [...] bit of hardware can do.

Now, where do we sleep IF the Kinect gets the main bedroom..............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant fun, i'm knackered now though, 10 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. J. Crook (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kinect Sports - Kinect Required (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I went to the Kinect launch event last night and picked up Dance Central, Fitness Evolved and Kinect Sports. Well the latter kind of goes without saying as all motion sensor tech seems to be released with a sports game. However this game is much different

There are various sports included as well as mini games, you can play solo against the computer, online(with strangers or Live friends) or local with family and friends

I don't want to compare it to Wii Sports but that's what most people will be comparing it to and let's be honest, that's this games main rival.

So, what does this offer over Wii Sports?

1: It's really involving, particularly in my opinion the table tennis, it feels very real compared to hold a controller and pressing buttons
2: The game has been built really well, from the well made replys to the good AI of computer opponents
3: Fantastic online, i've played a few games with people online and it's really easy to do and fun
4: Good for multiplayer, more so than the Wii as anyone can drop in and out as they please and you can all earn acheivements(if you have logins etc)

What's bad?

Well, mostly if you have more than 1 person playing at once and don't have a large living room you may find sometimes you'll go out of view of the camera or your arm will, plus its possible to easily hit the other person

That's about it really, its a solid, varied game that works well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, makes the Wii look well past its best, 30 Nov 2010
By 
Celery (Northampton) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kinect Sports - Kinect Required (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I only have Wii sports to compare this with and it just makes it look very old and tired. Its the first propoer Kinect game I've purchased other than 'Adventures' which comes with the Kinect. If you want an additional game for the Kinect then you won't be disappointed. There are High's and Low's with it but on the whole its an excellent games because of the Kinect's use of the whole body rather than using controllers. My Highs and Lows are:

Boxing - brilliant, punches follow your hand direction including upper cuts, jabs and basically anything you throw punchwise at your opponent. Online it is also great fun if you have a good connection. Mine is only 2mb so its playable but I'm sure it would be better with a faster connection. You will ache like hell after playing this.

Table Tennis - slight lag, nothing you can't get used to and to some extent you have to predict the path of the ball. But I love it and you have to predict the flight of the ball in the real game anyway when the ball is hit hard. There are some brilliant players online who will make you want to give up.

Volleyball - love it but watch the ceiling as you gotta jump to hit those smashes.

Track and field - I like the running events. Not to keen on the throwing events but at least they are a rest.

Bowling - since when is bowling a sport?! It's a big board game! My wife loves it. I've not played it.

Anyway, just buy the game, its great fun and the online functionality adds another dimension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kinect Sports - Kinect Required (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I picked up this game after getting my Kinect, and I can honestly say it's one of the best games for Kinect at the moment. The mini games are excellent alone and with friends.

The only slight problem I can see with the game is the lack of people on online multiplayer. As of yet I haven't found anyone around when I've tried to play with other people over Xbox Live. But maybe it's not that type of game.

Overall, a fun ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 5 Mar 2011
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kinect Sports - Kinect Required (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is quite fun to start off, that is, once you have friends with you. At first it is pretty easy to break all the records and once you play again, you will want to push yourself to keep breaking your own record. The track and field is the most fun and the most draining.

Overall, it is probably one of the most entertaining Kinect games. However, I have not played it much after the second week, and only at that when my little niece is around. If you have a Kinect and have children I would recommend this game, but if you are playing alone you may get bored easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, 14 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kinect Sports - Kinect Required (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Kinect sports, was better than I thought it was going to be. Played it for the first time as 2 player, had the best fun for years on a video game. It's the first time that I have broken into a sweat while playing a video game. The response from the kinect camera is great, the stories of lag are over the top, it milli seconds not enough to cause any problems, in my experience I can't really notice it. This game is awesome and anyone looking for their first game should get this. I play video games all the time and have all 3 consoles, and will have too say this is good fun for all the family. 5*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kinect Sports - Fun for all the family..., 23 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kinect Sports - Kinect Required (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is our third Kinect game and it is bags of fun. Our family ranges in age from 4 - 39 and we all get something out of this. While some events are more difficult for the youngest in our family, even he can enjoy everything (volleyball and table tennis are a little tricky for him right now though).
The party mode is great fun and the kinect holds up well with all the events. I wasn't expecting to like bowling after some of the reviews I'd read, but it is actually very good. We have the Wii too, and it compares well. Different, but just as good in my opinion. It's easier for the younger ones too since there are no buttons to press.
Football is better than expected as well (it's our 7 year old son's favourite event), but make sure you have plenty of room or you will be kicking each other in two player mode! Sure it's dumbed down a little, but what else would you expect? As with all the events, they're simple to get into, but take quite a bit of patience to master.
There are some fun mini-games too, which add a little to the depth and replay. It's definitely more of a multi-player experience, but you can play on your own. The replays are always fun to watch too...

It's not a relaxing game, so expect to be moving about a lot, and in the case of athletics, you'll be left breathless by the last event. I actually play first thing in the morning with my sons before school as a form of exercise for me, and pure fun for them.

There are a few minor niggles, such as the amount of time it takes to get into an event. It's all good fun, and very well presented, but once you've seen all the fancy intros and menus a few times, you just want to get to the actual games. I also feel more games should use the Dance Central menu system, which is faster, very cool and also more fun (you move your arm up and down to select and swipe from right to left or left to right to confirm your selection). As with all Kinect games, you need plenty of room. The sensor seems to work much better in events where you have to throw, for example, when it can see all of you even with your arms up in the air.

If you consider this is a launch game, I can't wait to see what the future holds for the Kinect. The Wii started the whole evolution, and this is definitely taking it to the next level (and I've owned just about every games console and computer since the zx81 - that's how old I am).
Highly recommended. As long as you don't expect a massively deep game, this will give you hours of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun and so addictive, 13 Nov 2010
By 
J. Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kinect Sports - Kinect Required (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've been waiting for months for this to come out and now I have it, I can safely say it's been well worth the wait. Kinect Sports is fantastic fun and will provide you with hours of entertainment.

It's packed with different sports - football, ten pin bowling, beach volleyball, table tennis, boxing, and track field - and loads of mini games. You can play single player or multiplayer either in person or on Xbox Live.

It is so addictive and you will find yourself getting so competitive either with your own personal best scores or anyone you're playing against. Perfect for parties and really is must have for any Xbox 360 owners.

Amazing game - buy it now! You'll get your money's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kinect Sports - Kinect Required (Xbox 360)
8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews