Customer Reviews


327 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (93)
3 star:
 (86)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


139 of 147 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Right up my street...
I love my murder mysteries and this one is right up my street. Cleverly told and with a believable plot, I couldn't put it down. If you've ever read any MC Beaton you will get the same combination of humour and seriousness to the story and it keeps you hooked to the last page. I'm also going to purchase his Missing Persons and anything else that Jack Erickson has...
Published on 11 May 2011 by C. M. Donaldson

versus
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK Short Story
Mrs Harding, a female executive living in San Francisco discovers that her husband is having an affair. She earns more than him and if she divorces him he will get half the house that she had virtually paid for. He also was excessively insured. She decides to murder him and plans the perfect crime which she executes. The police are suspicious, but eventually leave her...
Published 22 months ago by Literary Critic


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK Short Story, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Crime (Kindle Edition)
Mrs Harding, a female executive living in San Francisco discovers that her husband is having an affair. She earns more than him and if she divorces him he will get half the house that she had virtually paid for. He also was excessively insured. She decides to murder him and plans the perfect crime which she executes. The police are suspicious, but eventually leave her alone.

However, five months later there is a knock on the door. A new detective in charge of the case and had been going into a great deal of detail.

It is a good story, although, quite straightforward and a little predictable. It is very well written, but could do with a bit of editing. There are a few errors and repetitions that are irritating and detract from the enjoyment of the story.

The main criticism is that it should have been made a little longer. The reader doesn't know whom to sympathize with. Mrs. Harding murders her husband, but did he deserve to die? Did the girlfriend deserve to die? In reality, he would have had to been a pretty nasty piece of work for the reader to sympathize with his wife. At the same time, we get no indication as to whether Mrs. Harding was a cold hearted bitch or a downtrodden wife.

Bottom line, it was good enough for a short story and if the author revised it, it would deserve more than three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


139 of 147 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Right up my street..., 11 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Crime (Kindle Edition)
I love my murder mysteries and this one is right up my street. Cleverly told and with a believable plot, I couldn't put it down. If you've ever read any MC Beaton you will get the same combination of humour and seriousness to the story and it keeps you hooked to the last page. I'm also going to purchase his Missing Persons and anything else that Jack Erickson has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not worth the effort, 22 April 2012
By 
B. Lowe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Crime (Kindle Edition)
I guess this short story was meant to be a loss leader providing a sample of the author's work in the hope that readers who tasted it would be persuaded to seek out more of the writer's offerings. But it didn't work on me. I won't be reading anything more from this author - free or not. This short story has little to recommend it: it's dull and unsatisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A short murder mystery, 26 Jun 2011
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Crime (Kindle Edition)
This is a very short story; I read it in about 10 minutes, but still found it a worthwhile read.

A woman has discovered that her husband is cheating on her, and decides to dispose of him in a way that will allow her to claim the life assurance money and set herself up for life. However, she has to a find a way to do this so that she cannot be implicated. She does this in a very clever way; but ultimately fails because of one thing she did not take into consideration.

It's a good story; well written with a lot of credible descriptions. As it's so short, it won't take that long to read, but it can while away time at the airport or on a beach. I also wouldn't mind finding more work by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why !!!, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Crime (Kindle Edition)
absolute twaddle not even worth reading the all of 20 pages that this so called book contains...its tedious badly written not even any suspense or crime if you want something to read on the bus for a five minute journey then by all means waste them precious five minutes reading this utter rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It is short, 10 Nov 2012
By 
RedPete (Dorset, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Crime (Kindle Edition)
I was hoping for a short read of a well-written intriguing crime mystery. It succeeded in one aspect only - it is a short read.

The writing style is like a 6th former trying to show they have learnt how to write using simile and description without really understanding that 'less is more'. The first page alone has "lights twinkling like a fairy-tale kingdom", "fog...moving like a jungle cat", "foghorn moaning like a sorrowful plea from the grave".

The plan behind the 'perfect crime' was nothing more than some clever timing and the twist at the end disappointing to the extent of barely recognising it as a twist. I would expect someone who supposedly commits the "perfect crime" to make rather fewer stupid mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Predictable Crime more like it, 20 Oct 2012
By 
M. P. Doyle "marty21156" (Bodmin, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Crime (Kindle Edition)
As it was free I can't complain about the price. That is all I can't complain about.

Written in the first person, I did this or I did that, for me is not a good way to write. The author could have given more detail about what was happening during the twelve or thirteen hour drive. The only information given was popping pills and eating a sandwich to stay awake. There wasn't any drama like nearly falling asleep and driving off the freeway, or close encounters with oncoming traffic.

It was dry from start to finish. Woman finds out her husband was having an affair. She decides to bump them both off. Works out the best way to do it, and cover her tracks. Unfortunately in describing how to cover her tracks there are too many glaring mistakes.

I have to agree it was like something a school child would write as an English essay. Could do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Crime?, 16 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Crime (Kindle Edition)
Short stories have to be good for me to enjoy them and this certainly was. This one was like a cross between a perfect crime story and "Tales of the unexpected"
The wife of a philandering husband plots his murder with precision and being an engineer she studies all the details minutely to have the perfect alibi. Many months later she is happily enjoying and planning the rest of her life but there is an unexpected turn.
Worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice time to pass half an hour, 15 May 2011
By 
Mr. Gary R. Smith (huddersfield, w.yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Crime (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this freebee for my kindle. Its a nice half hour read,good story,good ending. You might as well download it for free, Its a good read for a waiting room etc..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a perfect crime, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Crime (Kindle Edition)
i didnt read all this book got bored read in it I would'nt recommend it as i found it diffcult to get into
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect Crime
Perfect Crime by Jack Erickson
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews