Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic compilation!
I first heard Glen Campbell back in the early 1970's. I was captivated then by the depth and emotion of his singing. I still am.
I bought the LP of this CD way back, many years ago. Having a desire to be able to play Campbell's music elsewhere than that dictated by a record player, I bought this disc.
Memories came flooding back.
Stand out tracks are...
Published on 11 Dec 2010 by BobM

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wichita, Galveston and...
not much else. Even Rhinestone Cowboy has been played to death. And why include a live track in the middle of the CD? That said, Glen is a good interpreter of the weird and wonderful Jimmy Webb, but even some of his songs fall into the mawkish category. The interpretation of some of the songs would have been better left to the originals. Good value, if you like this kind...
Published 2 months ago by Alex (no relation)


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic compilation!, 11 Dec 2010
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
I first heard Glen Campbell back in the early 1970's. I was captivated then by the depth and emotion of his singing. I still am.
I bought the LP of this CD way back, many years ago. Having a desire to be able to play Campbell's music elsewhere than that dictated by a record player, I bought this disc.
Memories came flooding back.
Stand out tracks are Rhinestone Cowboy, Whichita Lineman, Honey Come Back, and All I Have to do is Dream.

Wonderful stuff. I put him in the same category as David Gates, another fine performer. (His Songbook album I thoroughly recommend)

Not one mediocre track on this compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless songs, measureless emotion, 20 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 20 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
There are tunes and then there are tunes. Jimmy Webb's songs are the latter - and Glen Campbell will not let you forget this. The makeshift Beach Boy sings "Wichita Lineman" with so much unbridled passion, that one fears massive internal haemorrhaging brought about by the sheer emotion of the performance. Campbell's divine tenor is made to sing this song - every tiny inflexion of his voice, every swooping turn of the heartbreaking string section will leave the sensitive listener a teary-eyed nervous wreck, guiding him down endless avenues of pain and boundless joy. What makes this album so positively essential is that it deals with the age-old concerns of men - problems and preoccupations which have troubled us since day one. At times of desolation, I instinctively put on the immortal "Both Sides Now" - a song with so much perspective, so much emotional breadth - that it will make any emotional crisis seem at once both more painful and more finite. When you listen to Glen Campbell, you feel that he has suffered these things, that he has been through the worst and that he will use his experience to guide you through your darkest days - he is like the grievous angel, at your side to realign the stars and to help you see through your blindness. Of course, when you're not afflicted with the burden of a broken heart, there are always the fantastic cowboy-romps of "Rhinestone Cowboy", "Country Boy" and "Galveston" - if you keep your tongue firmly in cheek, you can fully appreciate the mercurial orchestral arrangements and astral songwriting. Let me put this in context - my record collection consists mainly of indie, rock, hip hop and jazz - but I believe everyone should find room in their hearts for this brilliant, shimmering and frankly indispensable collection. Consider it championed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Wrong with Easy Listening, 19 July 2008
By 
This review is from: 20 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
My dad had this album on tape years ago and I always remembered how the words of the songs stuck in my mind.

These songs really are great. Campbell's soft plaintive voice really suit them, mostly sad songs of love gone wrong. The arrangements are distinctly MOR but it all sounds perfect really.

And after a few listens you won't be able to stop yourself singing along to them. And that's not surprising as the songs are written by the likes of Joni Mitchell and Jimmy Webb.

My favourites: Rhinestone Cowboy, Wichita Lineman,By the time I get to Phoenix and Dreams of the Everyday Housewife.

We won't spoil the review by talking about the bagpipes version of Amazing Grace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Glen Campbell's Twenty Golden Greats" Great collection, but wrong title!, 1 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
"The Best of Glen Campbell" would probably have been a more suitable title for this CD as only 13 of the 20 tracks were hit singles in the US and a mere 7 in Britain. Allen Toussaint's "Southern Nights" which rocketed to # 1 stateside in June 1977(# 36 in the UK), is not included, but one has to bear in mind that this compilation is simply the digital configuration of the 1976 vinyl release. Less justifiable, however, is the omission of sizeable Campbell chart contenders such as "I Wanna Live" (US # 36 in 1968), The Everlys' classic "Let It Be Me" - a duet with stable mate Bobbie Gentry - (# 36 stateside in 1969), Oscar nominee "True Grit", (# 35 in America) the title song of the motion picture in which Mr. Campbell starred alongside screen legend John Wayne and "Dream Baby", (# 31 in the US, # 39 in Britain in 1971) Glen Campbell's remake of the 1962 Roy Orbison smash. Glen Campbell's two final US Top 40 hits, Neil Diamond's delightful "Sunflower" and "Can You Fool" from late 1977 and early '78, respectively, are, needless to say, not on the CD. Capitol's choice for fillers is, however, excellent, and many a song might have wound up in the charts if released as singles. My personal favourite is the beautiful (country?) ballad "Too Many Mornings" and Glen Campbell's rendering of the Joni Mitchell standard "Both Sides Now", is just breathtaking! Most of the tracks were orchestrated by Al de Lorey, whose soft, lush arrangements just add to the flavour. The overall sound quality is excellent and every track has been recorded in glorious stereo.There is no information about the star and track annotations are, alas, scarce. I feel that such a great collection of superbly rendered songs by an artist of such magnitude, should have been given the full treatment: thorough overview of career, detailed information on every track: recording date, chart log, composer(s), arranger(s) and/or producers. And how about releasing a revamped "Twenty Golden Greats" with all his hits on it?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Well Respected Man, 27 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: 20 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
These are the twenty golden greats of one of music's well respected men.........The cowboy-cum-singer Glen, shows that he is a vocalist of substance. He can be a Rhinestone Cowboy, showing a performers dreams, to the Wichita Lineman, whose Denim blue voice laments a distant love. Glen can handle difficult songs like Gentle on my mind and make them look easy or make you visualize Galveston and wanting to be there. This is only snap shot,of twenty songs but, you can see why the Beach Boys had no problems when asking him to deputize for Brian Wilson in live concerts because he is of that high vocal quality...........OK there are one or two songs that a bit twee but, I guess everyone has their weaker points .....................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Campbells Kingdom, 17 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: 20 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
Glen Campbell is one of the greatest and most versatile performers of our time. Many of the songs on this CD promote "a good feel factor!" His version 'Only Make believe' is by far the best I have ever heard and 'All I have to dream' is also very good.

19 great songs by a great artist represents a great purchase in anyones language!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for everyone's music collection, 23 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 20 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
I really like this CD. Glen Campbell makes you believe he means every one of his lyrics. It makes me happy just listening to it.
It starts with The Rhinestone Cowboy, the one every one knows, and that isn't even the best song (I'd go with Wichita Lineman). Don't be surprised if you find that you are singing the songs to yourself after a couple of listens.
It's got all the hits you know, probably a few you don't. The ultimate in easy listening, as long as you skip the bagpipes on the last track, Amazing Grace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 8 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
I bought this as it has a lot of great songs that mean so much to me. One of the finest singers ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20 Golden Greats, 11 Jan 2012
By 
Sally Campion "Sal" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
I've always liked Glen Campbell but never really bought his records so after seeing him in his latest show and thinking how great he still is, I decided to buy some of the 'oldies' that he's recorded and I wasn't disappointed.

It's easy listening at it's best and tunes you can sing along to. Thoroughly enjoyed listening to it and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wichita, Galveston and..., 17 May 2014
By 
Alex (no relation) (MAIDSTONE, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
not much else. Even Rhinestone Cowboy has been played to death. And why include a live track in the middle of the CD? That said, Glen is a good interpreter of the weird and wonderful Jimmy Webb, but even some of his songs fall into the mawkish category. The interpretation of some of the songs would have been better left to the originals. Good value, if you like this kind of thing, and about what I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews