Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Comeback!
Tracy Beaker is back once again! Jacqueline Wilson's best-loved, award-winning character who featured in `The Story of Tracy Beaker' and `The Dare Game' is back in this fantastically witty and moving story. This brilliant new story shows Tracy at her cheekiest and most appealing.

Tracy is ten and lives in a children's home, "The Dumping Ground", where she...
Published on 11 Mar. 2007 by weird fish

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars awful
In my opinion this book is not as good as the other books that Jackie has written al that happens is tracy gets a part in a play that her mum never comes to see her in.
Published 15 months ago by violet


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Comeback!, 11 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Starring Tracy Beaker (Hardcover)
Tracy Beaker is back once again! Jacqueline Wilson's best-loved, award-winning character who featured in `The Story of Tracy Beaker' and `The Dare Game' is back in this fantastically witty and moving story. This brilliant new story shows Tracy at her cheekiest and most appealing.

Tracy is ten and lives in a children's home, "The Dumping Ground", where she longs to be reunited with her absent mother. She is desperate for a role in her school play A Christmas Carol and when she is cast the main role, Ebenezer Scrooge, she wants to know whether her mum will make it back from Hollywood in time to watch her in her starring role. However, Cam is the one helping her to learn her lines and Cam is the one Tracy ends up spending Christmas with. Tracy sadly realises that it is not her mum that she can rely on; but Cam.

Over the years, the reader has followed Tracy through the highs and lows of her life. I feel from reading this book and every other Tracy Beaker book that I know her and am fond of her. Jacqueline Wilson makes her not only a sad, aggressive and boisterous person but also vulnerable, sensitive, creative and extremely cheeky indeed!

As a 14 year old I utterly loved this book. It is hilarious and heartbreaking and I recommend it to all ages from 7 upwards. Tracy Beaker has never been so vibrant and entertaining! Enjoy this masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's Back!!!!, 17 Feb. 2007
By 
C. Kelly (Solihull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starring Tracy Beaker (Hardcover)
Description of story and main characters:
Beaker is back and she's desperate to be in her school play (A Christmas Carol) to impress her film star mum.

What I think about the book:
Tracy is the narrator of the story and she tells us about her life.

Before I read the book I always thought children in orphanages were sad, worried and frightened, because of the films Oliver and Annie. Sad because no one cares about them. Worried because they might be put with someone mean. Frightened because the care workers assaulted them.

Jacqueline Wilson's book changed the way I thought about kids in care. Kids have fun and they feel happy, content and safe. They also experience the wonderful feeling of having brothers and sisters. The carers look after them in same way as parents.

I was surprised to see a swear word in the book.

Jacqueline Wilson develops the characters throughout the book. The structure of her writing is without chapters, consequently the narrative continues without stopping from the beginning to the end of the story. This made it difficult to put the book down.

Recommendation:
In conclusion, I think that this book was fabulous. I feel this book should only be read by 10 years and over because of the swear word. Will Justine be mean or will Tracy get her revenge? Read this book to find out!!

Lara Aged 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3rd 1 now, 21 July 2012
This review is from: Starring Tracy Beaker (Kindle Edition)
i was very surprised when another tracy beaker came out. I have enjoyed reading it and I hope another one comes out.

I live with my mum but if you think of what a poor child Tracy Beaker is because she cant find her mum (or souldI say her mum cant be bothered to come and see her .)

If there was another book of Jacqueline Wilsons Tracy Beaker i would deffinitley (sorry if ive spelt it wrong! ) i would deffinitley read it.

I think that children in care should be looked after propley but if their real parents cant look after them then fair enough.Children shouldnt stop in care , why should they suffer when its the parents fault.

As I was saying if theres another Tracy Beaker I would read it because not only because i would be wonderin what tricks Tracy Beaker would be doing on people i also want to find out if tracy beaker finally gets a day with her mother or to call her mother and speak to her on the phone

read this book and you WILL enjoy it.

happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gobsmackingly Great, 18 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Starring Tracy Beaker (Hardcover)
Yes, it has been fifteen years since Tracy first hit stores nationwide, but she is back again to delight us in another fabulous book from Jacqueline Wilson, Children's Laureate 2005-2007. This time, she's landed herself the main part in the school play of 'A Christmas Carol'. Who better to play Ebenezer Scrooge than Tracy Beaker?

Amidst learning her lines in preparation for the big performance, Tracy has one desperate wish which, if it came true, would be the highlight of her year. The wish is that her superstar Mum would come and watch the school play starring her daughter. And Tracy is convinced that she will make it.

Read this fantastic episode with Tracy Beaker and be thrown right back to the Dumping Ground - remember Justine Littlewood? Nothing has changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazingly Incredible!!!, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starring Tracy Beaker (Kindle Edition)
This book is so good that I've read it about a million times! There is amazing adjectives an incredible story and very touching in places!!! I think that just about anyone would love this book, unfortunately your not allowed to but more than five stars because I would give it 1,000,000,000,001 stars!!! So if you want a good buy, this is the book for you it's so good it'll be hard to put it down!!! Also if your buying this book and you enjoy it make sure you buy Tracy's other books!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beakers back!, 31 Dec. 2006
By 
jaxder (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Starring Tracy Beaker (Hardcover)
Beakers back, and this time she's desperate for a part in the school play, as ebenarzer scrooge in the christmas carol.But it all goes a bit wrong when Tracy finds herself thinking she might not even get a part at all!Plus she's certain that her "super famous" mum will come to see her playing the star role[thats if she gets it!].This is a really fab book and i recomend it to all Beaker fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book for Tracy Beaker., 17 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Starring Tracy Beaker (Paperback)
Tracy Beaker is stuck in a care home once again with pain in the head Justine Littlewood.
Tracey and Justine fight so much you could get a headache.
Will Tracy get fostered? Read and you'll see.

This is a funny book because Tracy sings funny songs about her teacher Mrs Simpskin. It is a book for nine and under.

By Ellie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My rating, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starring Tracy Beaker (Kindle Edition)
I thought this book was quite sad as Tracy thought her mum was coming for Christmas but in the end she only sent her some flowers as this was my first time reading a Tracy beaker book I can't wait to buy another on my kindle Tracy is sort of like me as I have aspergers and it means I have slight anger problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Starring Tracy Beaker book review by Louise Martin, 1 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Starring Tracy Beaker (Kindle Edition)
yet again another fantastic book by Jacqueline Wilson. All Tracy wants is for her mum to come and see her starrin the main part in her Christmas play a Christmas Carol. Will her mum come and visit her..... you will have to read it and see. i really enjoyed reading this book and ive read it countless times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 29 Aug. 2010
By 
Mrs. J. Kaur - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starring Tracy Beaker (Paperback)
I brought this for my 7 year old. Having watched Tracey Beaker on CITV, she was keen to read this book. A good book for them to get stuck into, it raised my daughters awareness of the fact some children are not as fortunate as others and this is always a good lesson for them to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starring Tracy Beaker
Starring Tracy Beaker by Jacqueline Wilson
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews