Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars47
3.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2015
The game is pretty entertaining if you're a fan of the Harry Potter saga. The game follows more of a combat style adventure rather than puzzle solving which the previous games had. The game follows the story line of the film; "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows-Part 1", for the most part it stays pretty true to the film. Most of the game is literally fighting death eaters, so it gets quiet repetitive, however there is still enjoyment to be had. The graphics are okay, the renders of the characters are better than in The Half-Blood Prince game, but still Harry looks weird here. The problem with this game is the controls. The controls are terribly clunky, it takes ages to change spells, even using some of the spells takes a while because you have to charge them before you can fire them, this becomes frustrating during the game play when you're surrounded by Death Eaters. The game has a fantastic soundtrack, its very epic and exciting and immerses you into the game, it gives you that sense of danger as you are away from Hogwarts for the entirety of the game. The game is quite short but its still pretty fun. The voice acting is hit and miss; some of it is okay but most of it is kind of intollerable. Nice environments, they are engaging to play in and look at. However during the campaign you undertake 2 sets of 3 little mini-missions which is very odd, I felt whilst these were fun they should have been bonus levels instead of being included in the actual campaign. Also all you get is the campaign really. The challenges offer little to no diversity within the game, and also it would have been nice to play as Ron and Hermione as well considering they are with you for the duration of the game, however this is not a major issue. Overall its a fun game, it has major issues with the mechanics department with the controls but there is good in there, a flawed but fun game. 7/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2011
Movie tie-in games should rarely be used as a sign of quality; they invariably suck. This may be true to an extent, but in the recent generation of consoles the quality has risen greatly and there have been a few surprise games; `Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix' was one such surprise. This was a fun game that saw players exploring Hogwarts with Harry et al and using an assortment of spells to solve puzzles and further the events seen in the film. It is unfortunate then that `Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1' reminds me of why movie tie-in games got such a bad reputation in the first place. It is an awful game and undoes much of the good work the rest of the series built up.

Like in the film Harry is no longer at Hogwarts and therefore the levels are set in the wider world, including large chunks of forest. Gone is the exploration of a larger map, replaced instead with a series of linear levels that see you cover and shoot enemies in a way that feels like the poorest of men's `Gears of War'. The levels look very similar and feel completely the same - spamming the fire button as yet another 20 death eaters walk around the corner. The game is dull to the extreme and the 8 spells on offer mean little as you spend your time using the most powerful and direct, or face instant death.

To try and extend the game beyond the meagre locales of the film there are some additional missions where Harry must save Muggle born wizards from Voldemort's cronies. These levels are even worse than the core gameplay as they are ridiculous stealth based missions, or overly complex defence missions. When you do get back to the main storyline you are forced to watch poorly pre-rendered cut scenes taken from the film. If I wanted to see `Harry Potter 7a' ruined in such a way I would have bought the worst pirate copy to be found at my local `Farmer's Arms'.

Lazy, repetitive, dull and with poor level design; `Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1' is one of the worst movie tie in games of the past 5 years and there is a fair amount of competition for that title.

Sammy Stinker
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
I have bought all of the available HP games for PS3, and this one is so difficult to use. I have it on "easy" setting. The camera angles are disgraceful, so you can't even see that you're being attacked unless the attackers are far enough in front of you - and if they're too close to see, you can't fight them and you have to start over. the spells take so long to work or change that you can't feasibly fight several opponents at once. And if there are dementors as well as death eaters, you don't stand a chance. The controls are mutually exclusive, so you can't cast a Patronus to get rid of death eaters and cast other spells to get rid of the death eaters quickly enough. Perhaps if you are a COD style player, this type of gaming is what you're used to dealing with. however, I'm guessing that the gamers buying Harry Potter are probably not the same group. Too much money for a game too difficult to play.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
The first HP games were OK, the game play and controls a little shaky and need checking out. It is a shame that so late in the series they have a game that still struggles with basic game play. If you like HP this covers all the bases. All the characters are there and the story is followed perfectly. But this really just uninspiring. The lego potter is much more fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
I really do not understand why this game is getting so much hate! I have played all Potter games and this one is by far the most engaging out of all. It keeps you on edge and as far as the loss of 'magic' is concerned - as some people claim it no longer consists - the first part of Deathly Hallows is exactly as it is in the game! They are no longer in Hogwarts, searching for secret passages and brewing potions.
The only thing I hated about this game were the Dixies. They are SO. ANNOYING.
In my opinion, this game is exactly what I was hoping for. A Harry Potter game that is actually a little hard and frustrating(sometimes) to play. I have thoroughly enjoyed playing it and if you are a Potter fan, then this one is DEFINITELY worth a go. :)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
I don't know really what to say about this game, other that it is a major dissapointment. I thought that the makers of the games had found a perfect way to make the games as they went along, the first four games weren't fab but they weren't awful either. The fifth and sixth however, had great gameplay and were loads of fun, I loved the fact that you had to wave the right analog stick in a certain way to make certain spells, and the duels were brilliant.

But then they made this game. Completetly different to the other... and not in a good way! I am deeply dissapointed with this one, why would you ruin the last couple of games in this way? You have to cycle through your spells in this one and then simply rapidly press the R1 or R2 button to fire (can't remember which) wheres the fun in that?

Thats not to mention the awful sub tasks... where have these popped up from, why cant you just stick to the storyline? They are quite frankly awful and have nothing to do with the deathly hallows storyline and they aren't needed!

All I can say is that if the gameplay and storyline is as bad as this in part 2 then I will certainly not be buying it to play but rather just to complete the collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
I bought this game thinking it would be like the film, puzzles and challenges. When I got it , its nothing really like the film. They use an invisibility cloak all the time instead of poly juice potion and that just kills the game. The game is non stop fighting, so many things like death eaters, dementors , DRAGONS?! what the heck they aren't even in the deathly hallows part 1. Everytime you follow the story there , there is always 3 'quick missions' which are boring and all the same and are just like 'shoot-em-up games'. This game just basically repeats itself every level. If you like call of duty, this maybe the game for you.. if not stick to the earlier games :)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
Harry Potter & the deathly Hallows Part One Video Game-
is Very Fun and a good 8/10 Game for the Price Yes it's Not the Best Potter Game Ever (half-blood prince is Great!) for the price tag of £[] it's Amazing Fun i have Enjoyed Playing it so far spent 3 days on it and it's near the end i think?.. but that's with 2 hour Session's at a time. i Got this the same day i Got Part two (which i have yet to play) All i Can Say is if your a Harry Potter Fan then you will Like this game i can't see what People Wanted from this game? it follows the movie Very Well Dont go on Other people's review's or IGN the only person who can rate this game is Yourself Alone do what i did if you love the Film's you will love the game's at this price its worth it

Also GO See Harry Potter & the deathly Hallows Part 2 at cinema Its Outstanding :D go a head and buy this wonderful game :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
Excellent products performed up to expected requirements, sorry I don`t have another thirteen words to say on the subject, sorry.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2010
i'M GOING TO MAKE THIS SHORT BUT I THINK YOU CAN'T EVEN PUT WORDS FOR THIS BRILLIANT GAME!

THE STORY MODE IS FANTASTIC AND I COULDN'T TAKE MY EYES OF IT!
I RECOMMEND THIS TO ANY HARRY POTTER FAN THANK YOU.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)