Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars film series
All as expected, and the usual quality if you are an afficionado and have to have the lot. more or less as book, and getting darker and darker. come on number 2.
Published on 7 Dec 2012 by Margaret June Hall

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring.
This Game is nothing short of BORING. I purchased it last week, and cannot even be bothered to continue playing it today - because all you do is fight -> cut scene -> fight in some irrelevant mission -> Cut scene. The story of this game is completely different to the story in the book - running through abandoned power stations fighting death eaters every 2 steps is...
Published on 4 Dec 2010 by Nick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring., 4 Dec 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows - Part 1 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This Game is nothing short of BORING. I purchased it last week, and cannot even be bothered to continue playing it today - because all you do is fight -> cut scene -> fight in some irrelevant mission -> Cut scene. The story of this game is completely different to the story in the book - running through abandoned power stations fighting death eaters every 2 steps is tiresome, and when you finish the level and find you have to go back through the power station in the next level, it inspires you to do nothing more than close the programme.

The combat system is mediocre - in the 5 game it was manipulated with the mouse, in the sixth there wasnt much, but the potions made up for it. In this, there is nothing. Nil. Just normal point and click fighting which = tedious.

Seriously, don't buy this game, you'll do nothing but run around doing things that didn't happen in the book or film, and get annoyed at the linear gameplay it seems to run along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HP and the Deathly Hallows Pt.1 PC, 2 Jan 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows - Part 1 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This games does not compare favourably with the earlier HP PC games. The first four games were far more interesting - there were things to collect, hidden places to find, problems to solve. This one tells you exactly what to do, it leads you by the hand where to go, and any challenges consist almost entirely of "zapping baddies". This may be the "in-thing" nowadays but I find it totally boring. Perhaps this is because I am an "older player" and I like something to think about - not just pointing and pressing a "zapping button"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deathly Disappointment, 22 Nov 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows - Part 1 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Each game seems to be getting progressively worse. This is no exception. Combat seems to be the order of the day in this game. There is not much chance to look around as your mission fails if you dont succeed to rescue muggles quickly in the first part of the game. The camera seems to swing wildly making it difficult to aim.

This is definately not one for youngsters as consists mainly of combat. The older kids who like shooters will probably bypass this for a proper action video game. Shame on the manufacturers for not taking the time in producing something worthwhile. I certainly will not waste anymore money buying the 2nd part and feel cheated of my money for buying this one.

To be honest it isn't even worth the 1 star. As a devoted Harry Potter fan I am bitterly disappointed with this rubbish game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment, 11 Mar 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows - Part 1 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I thought it was impossible to top the "Goblet of Fire"-Game as the worst Harry Potter Game.

I was wrong.

"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1" is the worst Harry Potter game so far. I am very sorry to say that but EA failed completely in trying to create a much more "grown up" Harry Potter game.

The horror begins at the very start. The game throws you in the middle of the sky battle between Harry and the Death Eaters without taking much time to explain, what exactly happend before that. You could excuse that if fighting the endless amount of Death Eaters would be fun but sadly it's not. It is nothing more than firing one spell after another until your fingers fall off and hoping that you luckily hit one of your enemies. A missing health bar could make you think at first, that Harry is invincible. Sorry to disappoint you, but he can die and the only way for you to figure out how much health the Chosen One has is waiting until the screen goes black and white, which happens just seconds before he dies.
Nevertheless, as an optimistic player, I thought, things can't get worse, this game should be fun anyway. It wasn't.

I don't wanna get into too much detail, because I could spent hours talking about all the negative and annoying things in "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1", so here is just a short list:

1. Stealth missions are fun but why do I have to go from point A to point B, back to A then to C, back to A, then to D and so on....
2. Voldemort can be lucky to have what seems infinite Death Eaters because most of them are too stupid to fight against you and just turn around in the middle of a duel and walk away.
3. Speaking about being stupid. If Ron and Hermione are not busy shooting at walls for hours, they somehow manage to hit you all the time (I was actually killed by Ron and Hermione several times!).
4. The game interrupts the storyline with stupid sidequests. For example: Harry, Ron and Hermione arrive at Grimmauldplace and find out that they have to sneak into the Ministry. As a result of that Hermione tells you that they have to explore every possible way in and disapparates with Ron. The game now asks you to complete three sidequests which are basically running through various landscapes and free muggle borns or escape a dragon cave....
5. During the game, you will walk basically all the time through the same environements. And with "the same" I don't mean that they look the same, they are the same...
6. Having a big variety of potions and spells is very nice but you only need 2 spells to complete the game and I never ever used a potion at all.

Some positive points?
The game looks very nice and you will recognize all characters and environements from the film.
They got nearly every member of the original cast to reprise their roles.

Summary:
DON'T BUY IT!!!!!
It's maybe funny for half an hour, but after that you get bored of the environements and annoyed by a never ending supply of enemies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 20 Jan 2011
By 
Mary (Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows - Part 1 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Having played all the other Harry Potter games on most platforms over the years I was eagerly awaiting this one. But somwewhere along the line Electronic Arts have turned the Harry Potter game in to a first/second person shooter.
No beans, cards or crests to collect just sound bites from the film:(
Don't waste your money. I wish that I hadn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BIG DISAPPOINTMENT, 3 Feb 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows - Part 1 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This game is really boring and for me difficult to play at; you cannot explore anything as in previous Harry Potter's games. The battle of spells requires a very fast clicking with both mouse buttons and as I am using a notebook with no mouse but a touchpad it wouldn't be very easy. Instructions for playing are not available during the game (I discovered only later that I could change controls).
Your range of action is very limited, you can only do what the game allows you to do; the Four Points Spell is not so easy to understand and it doesn't help much in finding the right direction.
I played only a small part of it because I found it very boring. Better spend your money on something else, like the first 3 games of the Harry Potter's series. I enjoyed very much Harry Potter and the Chamber of secrets and I'm enjoying Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Askaban (arrived only yesterday afternoon.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Problems with playing..., 1 Dec 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows - Part 1 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
We have all of the other PC Harry Potter games and agree with the earlier review that they have got less exciting. I personally dislike the way they have gone away from using the mouse versus the keyboard to control the movements. I cannot write a detailed review of this game as we have had problems installing Deathly Hallows pt1 . We are on our second fresh disc (thank you Amazon) and the sound is crackly and the action jerky. All the other games play fine and there is plenty of memory and all system requirements met. Hugely disappointed and wonder if anyone else has the same issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull and annoying, 8 Jan 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows - Part 1 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have the other HP games for the pc and have enjoyed them. This game however is poor to say the least.
The camera seems to swing around so that makes aiming nearly impossible and as most of the action relates to fighting it takes all the fun from gameplay. I've given up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just awful., 3 Nov 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows - Part 1 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
the game starts off ok and is a bit of fun but soon gets repetitive and boring, they constantly re-use the same places over and over again, first u go through level then go backwards to the start. voice acting is terrible except for ron. graphics are ok but not great.doesnt follow story of movie at all.you fight the same enimies over and over again, there is no change in them. and the invisibility sections are awful and hard. overall just terrible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Impressed, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows - Part 1 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Yeah, a good product, easy to understand and some simple yet exciting levels. A good game over all, could include a bit more detail, quite basic, but still a great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows - Part 1 (PC DVD)
Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows - Part 1 (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows Vista / XP)
£8.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews