Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love It
To be honest I have never read anything by William Boyd before and when this was first advertised as coming on our screens I wondered what it was going to be like. After the first episode I went out and bought the bookAny Human Heart which I haven't touched as I didn't want to know what I would be seeing on the tv, now it is finished I can relax with the book at any...
Published on 13 Dec. 2010 by M. Dowden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars All in the Eye of the Beholder
Reactions to this mini-series are going to be very personal. Like the book, it suffers from something that some will find a grave weakness: the dramatic climax occurs barely halfway through. The rest of the story is a long-drawn-out descent into predictability and mundaneness. Judging from most of the other reviews here, many don't mind that. Some will argue that that's...
Published 2 months ago by Mike Brecher


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 16 May 2011
By 
K. Hendrikse (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Any Human Heart [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Brilliant. Best TV I've seen in a long time (probably since Gavin and Stacey).

Wonderful acting and production. Jim Broadbent is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any Human Heart, 15 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Any Human Heart [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is one of those wonderfully written and performed pieces that I will be watching again, probably over and over.

Absolutely brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watched this on channel4 really enjoyed itf Now I can enjoy it, 27 April 2015
By 
Christine Mcdonald (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Any Human Heart [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Watched this on channel4
really enjoyed itf
Now I can enjoy it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this!, 16 Feb. 2011
By 
Mr. D. Wilson "David Wilson" (Outer Hebrides) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Any Human Heart [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
On the strength of a five-star review in the Independent newspaper, I bought this with no knowledge of what it was about really. What a wise decision! Top quality period drama - great acting, story development, design, lighting and all production values, style, etc etc. Quite a few sexy scenes, done in the best taste, humour, fun, tragedy and adventure are all part of this man's life story and you will be engrossed for several entertaining hours. An excellent example of British quality drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Any Human Heart [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Wonderful story great dvd. First saw it on tv and then ordered it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any Human Heart, 15 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Any Human Heart [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I am just coming to the end of the novel-seriously marvelous and wasn't aware that it had been televised-am ordering it now as the novel is fabulous. Read the first 100 pages in one block if you can as it needs that to canter your imagination,interest and longing into places,people and events to enourage you to sit down and read and read and read. Brilliant !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful pure British drama at its very best, 29 Oct. 2011
By 
Markus Ronald "Ronnie" (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Any Human Heart [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I have just finished watching this dvd in two sittings. The reviewers before me have told you about the plot. All i will add is that It is a truly wonderful piece of drama and i highly recommend it. Jim Broadbent is superb as are the other actors.
Now go out and order it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Any Human Heart [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
One of the best films I have watched!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Mar. 2015
By 
charles duncan (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Any Human Heart [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
A great adaptation of a superb book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved every minute of it, 21 Sept. 2011
By 
S. R. Cantle "Filmlover" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Any Human Heart [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I imagine it's tough to adapt your own novel into something played out on the screen, but although I didn't think David Nicholls pulled it off for his 'One Day', here William Boyd - one of my favourite novelists - has very definitely succeeded.

It's a treat from start to finish and well worth watching again and again. It's that good.
All three periods of the main character's life are beautifully filmed, and the three actors totally pull off the transitions thro' their character's life. It was Jim Broadbent's portrayal of the older Logan Mountstuart who won the BAFTA nomination, but for me the memorable role is that of mid-life Mountstuart, played by Matthew MacFadyen, to me a most under-rated actor. Brilliant in early Spooks, but mostly in smaller roles since, I hope this performance convinces some mainstream director to cast him in a more central film role.

What Boyd creates here is a totally convincing picture of life in Britain, experienced by one man through the 20th century - a little like Tom Hanks Forrest Gump, but with a much more intelligent central character.

If you haven't seen it yet, you have a huge treat in store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Any Human Heart [DVD] [2010]
Any Human Heart [DVD] [2010] by Michael Samuels (DVD - 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews