Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy successor to the 5-Button Guitar Controller
I got my Mustang last week. The wealth of 17x6 buttons for my left hand at the neck and 6 strings for my right hand means a whole new world of coordination to learn for me after I had managed to play on standard Expert level.
It took me the last days to get fluent on pro Easy and now I am learning to play on pro Medium.
As I try to learn the real bass...
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by Marc van Woerkom

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Beginners - Bad for Pros
With this guitar you can play all the easy songs. Chords are kinda strange but they are exactly the same as with a real guitar so this is great for learning them.

But a huge problem with this guitar are the strings. They are way to slack. As I said earlier thats fine for chords and easy Songs but when trying to strum fast your screwed. (For Example the riff in...
Published on 12 May 2011 by Karpata


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy successor to the 5-Button Guitar Controller, 7 Dec 2010
By 
Marc van Woerkom (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rock Band 3 Wireless Mustang Pro Guitar- Red (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
I got my Mustang last week. The wealth of 17x6 buttons for my left hand at the neck and 6 strings for my right hand means a whole new world of coordination to learn for me after I had managed to play on standard Expert level.
It took me the last days to get fluent on pro Easy and now I am learning to play on pro Medium.
As I try to learn the real bass instrument, I tried pro mode for Pro Bass mainly so far.
Tears for Fears' song "Everybody wants to rule the World" is one of my favorite RB3 songs and it is by luck also one of the easier ones. So for this one I dared to move to hard and expert and after some training finally managed to pass the song.
This was a very rewarding musical experience!
I am sure the Squier real guitar/controller, which is scheduled for march next year in the US will be an even better choice to play pro mode, but it will cost at least twice as much and one wants to start learning right now.
The Mustang is light and not much bigger than a standard guitar controller, so it might be a bit easier to handle.
What I am not that happy with is the maintance for the strings of the Mustang. It has hard to judge the durability of the strings section of the Mustang, having it in use only for a couple of days. But if something should go wrong there it will very likley require you to let it be repaired at MadCatz customer support. It seems not made for user maintenance. Compare this to the rather uncomplicated string change on a real instrument. I hope this an indication that MadCatz believes the mechanism will need no maintenance in most cases. We will see.
Pro Keys was already a great new extension of Rock Band, but Pro Guitar and Pro Bass are what I want to master now. I enjoy it very much so far and look forward to improve my playing skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning can be fun, 28 Nov 2010
By 
M. Bull "gnozu" (Folkestone, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rock Band 3 Wireless Mustang Pro Guitar- Red (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
OK. This is *not* a real guitar, and no you're not going to get the full experience of learning to play a real guitar. But complaining about that is like complaining that a driving game isn't like driving a real car, and therefore isn't a worthwhile thing to spend time doing.

As a total beginner I really have a problem with the idea that you can buy a guitar and just start teaching yourself through DVDs, online courses, etc. And music teachers cost. The great thing with Rock Band 3 pro mode is that you actually do learn the basics of guitar playing while having fun playing a game.

The Mustang Pro also doubles up as a MIDI device, so you can try out some of the stuff you've been learning on your computer with your music software of choice.

Price is a concern for many. To me the Mustang only seems expensive when you think of it as a plastic toy. It's more than that. Of course it'd be great if it were cheaper, but 110 doesn't seem *too* bad when you think of it as a great way to learn guitar either in RB3 or as a MIDI device hooked up to your PC. That said, more experienced guitarists will likely get frustrated with the Mustang Pro. For them it'd be a waste of money compared to the fully-stringed Squier (apparently out next year). But if you're a complete beginner curious about playing guitar, I'd recommend the Mustang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun way to learn guitar, 6 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rock Band 3 Wireless Mustang Pro Guitar- Red (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
I was gifted a Fender a few years back and have a small amp but never got beyond self taught basic chords and walking a few scales from a DVD trainer. I should have got lessons to learn more but other hobbies took precedence.

This guitar, while not a full proper guitar, is still a great way to have fun and learn guitar basics at the same time. The lessons are good, if a little thin, but the best thing by far is picking a song you like and learning how to play it. The fingering is the same, bar the callouses, and the game is a little forgiving, much like my Fender with high distortion ;)

I'm not good enough to pick it up and sight read songs like I can with the game controller guitar so in Pro mode I do have to invest a lot more time to play a song through, but it is very satisfying. You can use the Mustang in simple mode and then the top 5 frets are your controller buttons but they are spaced like a real guitar so it's not as easy as using the 5 button controller. You're probably better off with the controller for just jumping in.

I have 5 other rock band/gh guitar controllers and the build quality of this is by far the best. The parts clicked together well and it is rock solid. A good looking guitar as well. Makes the others look like the toys they are (not that this isn't a toy, but it's damn close to a real guitar). The nylon strings strum accurately and are silent. One thing to note, no whammy bar, but I don't find that a biggie. There are also only 17 frets but that has had little impact so far either (and I guess will have none unless you want to use this as a full midi guitar and shred lower frets).

I also prefer having proper xbox buttons and d-pad on this guitar rather than some of the weirder configurations on other guitars.

I'll almost certainly get the Squier when it is out as well, but in the meantime this is a superb instrument and with any luck I'll be half decent by the time the stringed version is out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Beginners - Bad for Pros, 12 May 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rock Band 3 Wireless Mustang Pro Guitar- Red (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
With this guitar you can play all the easy songs. Chords are kinda strange but they are exactly the same as with a real guitar so this is great for learning them.

But a huge problem with this guitar are the strings. They are way to slack. As I said earlier thats fine for chords and easy Songs but when trying to strum fast your screwed. (For Example the riff in "Beast and the Harlot" or "Trough the Fire and Flames". You kinda have to manually palm mute them and it's still really hard to get to that speed.

Regardless of that I would say It's a great game for those who never touched a guitar before and want to learn playing it. For those who want to learn cool metal riffs and hard songs It's cheap tabs and I recommend just watch the song in practice mode and try to play along with a real guitar. Don't try playing them with the mustang controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cool!, 7 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Band 3 Wireless Mustang Pro Guitar- Red (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
This guitar is awesome,But the only problem is that the game Imself has Only a few of Rockband pro Songs for the guitar pro.
And this is Really upset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good imitation, with some limitations, but fun nonetheless., 9 Aug 2011
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rock Band 3 Wireless Mustang Pro Guitar- Red (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
Surely a music rhythm game can't give you guidance on real guitar playing? Harmonix changed all that by adding Pro Modes to its groundbreaking "Rock Band 3" in October 2010, and the Pro Guitar and Pro Bass modes are where the Fender Mustang Pro Guitar controller comes in! (Harmonix did team up with Fender for a Squier controller, which is a real guitar that can be plugged into an amp, but at the time of writing that is so devilishly hard to get hold of that, unless they are incredibly lucky, the Mustang will be most people's only real choice to use the Pro Guitar/Bass modes)

Please note that for this review I will be concentrating solely on this controller and not so much on the Rock Band 3 sections of the game that use it.

The neck is roughly the same length as that of a real guitar, as is the width. However, the rows of buttons that emulate the frets (17 frets across six rows - six "strings") do seem to be a fraction closer together compared to the strings on a real guitar, which could be a consideration for those with big fingers that might catch adjoining fret buttons, or those who are used to the distances on a real guitar and put their fingers in slightly the wrong places. I myself struggled for a little while but by and large, once you get used to this little niggle it's not TOO bad.

The low-latency strings seemed, by and large, to respond quite well to much of the picking, be it with your fingers or one of the two enclosed plectra, although fast picking can be a bit fiddly as these do not "give" as much as real strings.

Open chords, power chords and barre chords tended to work quite well once you got used to the fact that when fretting the buttons they lack the tensile feel of strings, not to mention the fact that all of the "strings" seem to feel the same compared to the differing thicknesses of their real-life equivalent. Barre chords seemed to be as much of a challenge as on a real guitar even though you're pressing buttons, and they can hurt after a bit due to the pressure required to make them work (but you would have the same problem on a real guitar too, at least to start with).

You might have seen guitar players slide their fingers from one fret to another on the same string, and even this is possible on this controller, and is supported in Rock Band 3. This seemed to work well whenever I did it.

While not all of the songs in Rock Band's history have Pro Guitar and Pro Bass parts (all of the songs on the Rock Band 3 disc that have guitar and bass parts have them, and selected DLC from Rock Band 3's release date onwards have optional Pro Guitar/Bass upgrades -- as do a small number of pre-Rock Band 3 DLC songs that have been retrofitted with such upgrades), there are plenty that do, and while you are learning you are, to a point, learning the song for real as well.

I say "to a point" because, while it handles single notes and chords very well (which covers a sizable portion of guitar playing), embellishments such as harmonics, string bends and palm-muting are not supported by this controller, so even if you did learn a song's fretwork via Rock Band 3 and transfer it to a real guitar you would have to remember to do these properly (or learn how to do them somehow). Bends, for example, are done in Rock Band 3 by having a fret number stay constant while the sound you heard changed (which sort of makes sense because you don't actually change the fret you press down on when bending a real string, you simply push or pull it laterally).

Although it might not seem obvious when looking at pictures of the guitar, the core guitar and bass modes (i.e. non-Pro Mode guitar and bass) familiar to fans of not only the earlier Rock Band games but also those of Guitar Hero are supported by this controller; if you were using this controller to play core Guitar or core Bass any of the first five frets on any of the "strings" can be pressed down depending on which of the familiar five colours came up, while in this mode it did not matter which of the low-latency strings you plucked. It's only the Pro Modes where it does matter where you fret and which string you pluck/strum etc. As a result, any pre-Rock Band 3 DLC or songs exported from the other Rock Band games could still be played by doing it this way.

So, to wrap it all up, learning with the Fender Mustang controller via Rock Band 3 is kind of fun, as long as you realise its inevitable limitations compared to the real thing.

I have not, at the time of writing, tried it using MIDI outside of Rock Band 3, so I cannot comment on that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock Band 3 Wireless Mustang Pro Guitar- Red (Xbox 360), 3 Dec 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rock Band 3 Wireless Mustang Pro Guitar- Red (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
Works great and is a lot of fun, a recommend if you play, or would like to learn, the guitar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock Band 3 Wireless Mustang Pro Guitar- Red (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: 79.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews