Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended
Ingredients: Fish oil = 1,000g per 1 tablet (180mg EPA, and 120mg DHA)
Other Ingredients = Gelatin, Glycerin, Food Glaze, Ethylcellulose, Enteric coating (Sodium Alginate, Stearic acid), Mixed Tocopherols, Vanilin)

Omega-3 Fish Oil: (For anyone that has heard of but don't know a great deal about Omega-3 Fish Oil, it is a form of fatty acid that comes from...
Published 2 months ago by PPS076

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
not good product and smell bad
Published 1 month ago by rafi hamid


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 7 July 2014
By 
PPS076 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optimum Nutrition Enteric-Coated Fish Oil Softgels - Tub of 200 (Personal Care)
Ingredients: Fish oil = 1,000g per 1 tablet (180mg EPA, and 120mg DHA)
Other Ingredients = Gelatin, Glycerin, Food Glaze, Ethylcellulose, Enteric coating (Sodium Alginate, Stearic acid), Mixed Tocopherols, Vanilin)

Omega-3 Fish Oil: (For anyone that has heard of but don't know a great deal about Omega-3 Fish Oil, it is a form of fatty acid that comes from the tissues of oily fish. It contains the Omega-3 fatty acids, including eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic (DHA), the 2 most important fatty acids found in the fish oil. Although nuts & seeds also contain Omega-3 Oil Fatty acids, they are called alpha-linolenic acid (ALA), which are not the same and not as powerful as the EPA & DHA).

Reason for buying :
I decided to buy this product because I wanted to experience some of its widely reported health benefits:

Some Health Benefits of Omega 3 Oil:
- Reduces the risk of heart disease
- Assists in building strong joints
- Improves skin quality
- Provides the body with a healthy dose of 'Good Fat'
- Improves mood and reduces depression
- Improves Immune system function

Reported Health Benefits after 30 days:
After taking 6 tablets daily with food (2 with breakfast, 2 with lunch & 2 with dinner), I noticed that the quality of my skin had significantly improved; it looked much cleaner, much shinier, less dry and much healthier, it was a pleasure looking in the mirror every morning!. I noticed that I felt happier, calmer and felt angry less often even in situations where I would usually blow my lid!. The product had worked very well indeed.

Can eating cooked fish supply you with sufficient Omega 3 Fish oil?:
Although the EPA and DHA are only found in cold water fish such as Salmon, Mackerel, Halibut, Sardines, Tuna and Herring, the problem with eating fish is that it contains more Saturated oil, Monounsaturated oil and Polyunsaturated oil than the Omega-3 EPA & DHA. Cooking actually lowers the amount of EPA & DHA which means that you would have to eat a significant amount of fish to obtain a reasonable amount of EPA & EPA. Not only is good quality fatty fish generally expensive but it also contains significantly more Mercury (extremely poisonous to the body) than any other food source.

It therefore makes perfect sense to take concentrated Omega-3(EPA & DHA) fish oil in tablet form, especially when they are Enteric coated (EC) and Mercury free (EC is a special coating that surrounds each capsule that protects the product from the harsh conditions in the stomach which is very acidic and has high content of Bile)

Negatives:
The only negative that I found with this product is that the product label is not transparent enough. It tells you everything you need to know apart from the most important thing which is 'How much EPA & DHA are in it?'. Although it says that each capsule contains 1,000mg of 'Fish Oil' and that 300mg of that is Total Omega 3 Fatty Acids, it just says that the EPA & DHA values are both **. I had to look it up on their website; it's actually 180mg EPA, and 120mg DHA.

Value / What else can you buy?:
Although there are a number of different Fish oils on Amazon that range in price, there are only 3 things that I look for before deciding which product to use:
1/ How much EPA & DHA do they have?
2 Are they Enteric coated
3/ Are they mercury free

Although this product only has a normal amount of EPA & DHA, it is Mercury Free & Enteric coated. At the current price of 14.95, I believe that this product is good value for money when you also consider it's proven health benefits.

If you are just looking for a cheaper product that works well but without the 'Mercury Free' and 'Enteric coating' badges then I would recommend the 'High Strength Omega 3 Fish Oil 1000mg (360 Capsules) for 11.99.

If you wanted a Fish oil with much higher amounts of EPA & DHA without the 2,badges then I would recommend the 'Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega, 1,000 mg Fish Oil, 180 Soft Gels = 31.25. It contains total 1280mg Omega 3's per serving - 2 softgels (650mg EPA; 450mg DHA; 180mg Other Omega 3's). It is rated as one of the most powerful Omega 3's out there on the market based on purity, taste, and potency. It is on the expensive side, but I would recommend to get it if only once to see if it gives you better results. With the 3 month supply, it is enough time to compare the effects versus what you are using now (if you are using any).

Verdict: Recommend at these prices - High Quality Omega-3 Fish Oil which is 'Mercury a Free & Enteric Coated'.

Disclaimer; I would recommend discussing taking this with your Doctor BEFORE buying it, especially if you are unwell or are taking any medication.

Feedback:
If you wish to provide feedback on this review then please follow the link below.

Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1000 mg oil and 300 mg Omega-3 Fatty Acids per pill, 9 Nov 2011
This review is from: Optimum Nutrition Enteric-Coated Fish Oil Softgels - Tub of 200 (Personal Care)
It appears cheap, but the mg omega-3 fatty acid count is a bit low. 2 pills will give you a little bit under what 1 kirkland pill will give (684mg). So I am taking 2 pills a day.

On a positive note, this is the first brand where I have had no aftertaste once-so-ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great as always, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Jack Ellis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optimum Nutrition Enteric-Coated Fish Oil Softgels - Tub of 200 (Personal Care)
I've not got much to say really, these have always been my favourite fish oil softgels. They're incredibly easy to swallow, and they don't taste of anything. I've been buying these for a few years and always recommend this supplement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fish oil supplement, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been having this as my fish oil supplement. In order to get an adequate Omega 3, you would have to have 3 softgels of this. I would give credits for no aftertaste effect and your burp would not contain any fish smell. Good product overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no after taste, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They are a bit on the large size but easy to swallow, I'm just about ready for my next order,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optimum Nutrition Enteric-Coated Fish Oil Softgels - Tub of 200 (Personal Care)
very good, arrive well before expected, and tablets are not too big, easy to swollow and no fishy after taste
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fish oil, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optimum Nutrition Enteric-Coated Fish Oil Softgels - Tub of 200 (Personal Care)
Omega 3's without the fish. Good for joints, skin, fat loss, cholesterol. The best fish oil out there, this is the only fish oil I can stomach- otherwise use a vegetable substitute
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER PILL!!!, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optimum Nutrition Enteric-Coated Fish Oil Softgels - Tub of 200 (Personal Care)
Product arrived on time. I've been taking this for more than 3 weeks now and all I can say is, this stuff is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for the money., 8 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. J. Duncan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optimum Nutrition Enteric-Coated Fish Oil Softgels - Tub of 200 (Personal Care)
These are good value for the money, easy to swallow, the amout you have to take during the day is excessive would of preferred a one a day solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optimum Nutrition Enteric-Coated Fish Oil Softgels - Tub of 200 (Personal Care)
Bought this after GP confirmed X-Ray had shown arthritis in my right knee. I only take one a day but my knee pain has gone, although I also use orthotic insoles now too. However the thing I am perhaps happiest about is that I can kneel on the wooden floors again without any pain. Before I just had to flop down on one side and get up one legged, NOT easy! I still found this easier than bending over for too long but am just glad I can now do this easily again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews