Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and easy reading for your new Kindle
I bought this for the price, but soon settled into the easy reading and page turning on the Kindle.
It has interstellar travel, cyborgs, giants, corrupt politicians, feudal societies and complacent security forces, and puts them all up against near unstoppable adaptable aliens. If you like the sound of that so far, just go and buy it. Its good value after all...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by Tnuctip

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What Mech?
It's short and cheap and I was compelled to read the follow up.
However; do not expect Mechs. Expect dialogue completely ruined by switches between direct speech and childlike synopsis. Expect characters with potential for exposition to die randomly after proving themselves resourceful (briefly) with little or no remorse shown by their comrades. Do not expect to...
Published on 8 Feb 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and easy reading for your new Kindle, 13 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mech 1: The Parent (Imperium Series) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this for the price, but soon settled into the easy reading and page turning on the Kindle.
It has interstellar travel, cyborgs, giants, corrupt politicians, feudal societies and complacent security forces, and puts them all up against near unstoppable adaptable aliens. If you like the sound of that so far, just go and buy it. Its good value after all.
However the Title is misleading, as the 'Mechs' are actually cyborgs, and not as indestructable as they are made out to be in the early chapters. As a final-solution task-force they would not be anybody's choice after reading this story, but overall they do not detract from, or enhance the story.
I found the spelling mistakes irritating (how many ways can you mistype 'cryo'?) , and the pacing around drinking 'caf' a bit wearing, but still found the book readable and enjoyable.
I have since read and enjoyed the sequel, Mech 2, and will buy Mech 3 when it becomes available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What Mech?, 8 Feb 2011
This review is from: Mech 1: The Parent (Imperium Series) (Kindle Edition)
It's short and cheap and I was compelled to read the follow up.
However; do not expect Mechs. Expect dialogue completely ruined by switches between direct speech and childlike synopsis. Expect characters with potential for exposition to die randomly after proving themselves resourceful (briefly) with little or no remorse shown by their comrades. Do not expect to understand the technology, and be prepared to wonder how any political system survives such a stratified society. Do not wonder what caused people to leave Earth. Expect to empathise with aliens over humans, even when it is obvious the author intends them to be vile, vicious and beyond redemption.
Good for lunch breaks and cheap nights in for those not bothered by a lack of grip on the English language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoying this, 31 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Mech 1: The Parent (Imperium Series) (Kindle Edition)
Really good, reminds me of Stephen Banks or Alistair Reynolds.

Also at a brilliant price.

I'm going to some more of B.V Larsons books soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pulp sci-fi? Borders on the penny dreadful at times, 7 Feb 2011
By 
R. M. Lindley - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mech 1: The Parent (Imperium Series) (Kindle Edition)
And so it begins... the advent of the Kindle spawns a new genre, successor to the pulps of yesteryear - the self-published ebook. Priced to sell and unedited, ebooks like Mech are very much a lucky dip.

Mech is essentially ok, but it has many flaws. The central premise is that a race of aliens very similar to Erikson's K'Chain Che'Malle invade the planet next to their homeworld (why?), after it has been colonised by a corrupt human regime. The descriptions of the aliens are good and the various castes are well thought out, and I liked nice touches like the inbuilt organic crystal radios for communication. There is an interesting cast of human characters, but only a handful are fleshed out. Even so, Mech rattles on at a good pace and as an unchallenging entertaining read, it is priced reasonably well.

But. The perils are self-publishing are writ large here - this books needs a darn good editing to get it up to scratch. There are spelling and grammar mistakes aplenty but worse some sections really need revising as they hardly make sense at times. I was also irritated at some of the exposition - towards the end the author handily explains what a polymer is, but earlier provided no details as to how a bag of brown fluid could be regrowing an arm.

I was also very disappointed in the mechs themselves - the whole word implies robot, but here we are actually dealing with cyborgs- human brains "stewed inside a bubbling tank". They also do not appear in force for some time, and seem peripheral to the action for most of the book.

So, a good effort but flawed enough to be annoying at times. With a lot of editorial work Larson could be putting out some decent entertaining pulp SciFi.

Is Mech worth the cheap asking price? Only just.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Come on, the sales rank should be more like 312,934, 2 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mech 1: The Parent (Imperium Series) (Kindle Edition)
Got this on the strength of the ratings, but who are the people that are enjoying this so much? As Blackadder said about Baldric's poem "Well, it started off badly, and tailed off towards the end, and the less said about the middle the better. Apart from that - great!". The plot idea itself is ok - dormant aliens from millennia ago wreak havoc (wait, that's the plot of the film Alien, hmmm). But the writing style, although it starts off alright, somehow becomes more and more childish - to the extent that there are about two spelling errors per page eventually. I mean, this is the type of cliched, cringeworthy rubbish that I would come up with, if I wrote Sci-Fi! I nearly snapped my Kindle in half when the protagonist notices that a woman's hair 'falls sensuously across her breasts' or some words to that effect. Not a complete waste of a few quid, but a total waste of a plot idea which, instead of being an epic, degenerates into crude fantasy. And to those that would say that short books can't be epic, I have two words for you - Ender's Game. Gave it two stars because I am for some reason still reading it, just a few pages left - it's like eating that horrible Friday night kebab to the end, for some inexplicable reason..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great sci fi short, 19 Jan 2011
This review is from: Mech 1: The Parent (Imperium Series) (Kindle Edition)
As others have already said, it takes a bit to get into, but after the first chapter i was hooked, flew through this one, bought and flew through mech 2, just couldn`t read fast enough. bring on mech 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astoundingly good, 15 Mar 2011
This review is from: Mech 1: The Parent (Imperium Series) (Kindle Edition)
I devoured books 1 and 2 of the Imperium series in just a few days, and am posting this in the hope it will encourage others to buy, and therefore encourage the author to write book 3!

The story reminded me very much of Starcraft, playing a Terrans versus Zerg scenario - most enjoyable and a must for fans of Space Opera, Alien First Contact or just plain old high-tech SF action-adventure.

Hard to get started, some have written - but I have to disagree!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Science Fiction, 21 Feb 2011
This review is from: Mech 1: The Parent (Imperium Series) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book a great deal, it wasnt of to a flying start I felt however both the story and the quality of the writing improved as the book progressed and by the end I found it difficult to put down.

I would definately recommend this book, especially for the price, I have am now beginning to read the second book in the series and it looks very promising right from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mech 1: The Parent (Imperium Series) (Kindle Edition)
Good fun read and hard to put down.
Few bits where it lacks clarity and is a little superficial hence the 4 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well done, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mech 1: The Parent (Imperium Series) (Kindle Edition)
very good story well thought out the character's are thoroughly engaging the story has a nice brisk flow to it read the whole thing in one go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews