Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars54
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2015
Great movie, loved casey afflecks performance!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2010
This is a brilliant but uncomfortable film. Uncomfortable because it shows graphically and uncompromisingly the career of a violent killer from his viewpoint and you end up fascinated and a bit queasy because Casey Affleck is so good he invokes a feeling of sympathy. The girls, Jessica Alba and Kate Hudson are superb. You wince and cringe for them when they are attacked and yet vaguely understand when they still claim to love their attacking monster lover. It gives some insight into the problem of "battered wives" who wont inform on their attacker. The various support players blend in beautifully, including the delectable Simon Baker who manages to tone down the wattage of his incandescent personality to play the quiet nemesis of the "hero". The arid scenery, perfect period small town small choices setting and strong Texan accents also add to the compelling atmosphere of this disturbing film. And speaking of disturbing....the most disturbing thing of all is the fact that when at the end the "hero" claims to love his battered victim Jessica Alba, you believe it.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
great film all round. it would have been a 5 star if the ending matched the rest of the film. I won't spoil it but the end seems to tie things up in a very quick and easy way really without any real thought as to how best to end it and leaves a feeling of "he wouldn't have done that" or if the premise it seems to have gone down really happened then it would have been over without others dying along the way.
I'll say no more, as i say it's a good film but a little more thought could have gone into the ending.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 June 2014
Having tried his hand at 'most' film genres (social-realism, sci-fi, political 'documentary', racial drama, psychological drama, 'biopics' of various hues, etc) I guess it was only a matter of time before eclectic British film-maker, Michael Winterbottom, had a go at US noir/hardboiled fiction and whilst this 2010 adaptation of Jim Thompson's uncompromisingly violent 1952 novel of the same name does have some redeeming qualities, for me, it is very much a mixed bag.

Of course, by choosing such a pessimistic tale with Casey Affleck's irredeemable sociopath and S&M fan, Texan sheriff Lou Ford, as its central protagonist, Winterbottom was always likely to struggle vis-à-vis audience sympathy. To then compound this by throwing in some OTT sadistic violence against women, plus struggling to convincingly portray some of Thompson's more outlandish plot points only serves to detract rather from Winterbottom's final product. That said, the film does have a number of positive attributes, notably an outstanding cast. Affleck continues to impress (after his great turn in The Assassination of Jesse James) as the sadistic, deadpan nutter ('The trouble growing up in a small town is everyone thinks they know who you are') with a penchant for Mahler and a troubled past, whose attempts to frame others for the sadistic murders of lovers, Jessica Alba's prostitute Joyce Lakeland and Jay R Feguson's local businessman Elmer Conway, lead him into betrayal and further bloody killings. Elias Koteas is particularly good as the journalist Joe Rothman, who has the gen on Ford, Tom Bower similarly good as the 'old-timer' sheriff Bob Maples, whilst Ned Beatty's local Mr Big, Chester Conway (father of Elmer), is rather underused.

The look and feel of Winterbottom's film is also impressive, via Marcel Zyskind's evocative cinematography and Melissa Parmenter and Joel Cadbury's by turns eerie and (darkly comic) country and western score. Affleck also has some nicely ironic lines courtesy of John Curran's script. In the end, The Killer Inside Me comes over as something like an 'American Psycho in Texas', whilst also reminding me a little of William Friedkin's recent Killer Joe (in which Matthew McConaughey was equally impressive as another impassive psychopath).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
A perfect movie from the opening credits to the ending ones, this is such an interesting movie, one that can be viewed many times and never hit the f/f button. Casey Affleck is a revelation and mesmerising to watch, Jessica Alba and Kate Hudson are both equally amazing, all three characters together play off each other with such sublime ease that you really loose yourself in the story...just how many movies can do that? I know the subject matter caused controversy which I don't really understand why, there are people who enjoy extreme physical displays of affection and the movie clearly shows that the abuse was consensual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Was not quite to expect from this film noir, I no the bbfc had a problem with the violence towards women ie a very long and prolonged beating to death of jesssica alba by casey afleck.This worth a watch a very dark thriller with good performances by all involved but be warned this has some very disturbing scene,s of violence.Very good picture 2.35.1 ratio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2010
Whatever Michael Winterbottom touches, he scores. Yet it seems that as times go by, the power of his movies and the accuracy of his direction reach such a degree that we encounter only in the greatest directors. In The killer inside me, we are dealing with an absolute masterpiece, a movie so excellent in its visualization and execution that goes to match in harmony films already established in the history of cinema. It is to be expected that this movie won't be easily appreciated, since it leaves a certain uncerainty regarding the point of all this, the meaning of the actions, the moral of the story and so on. But follow the mesmerizing path the film leads you to and you will be rewarded with the special feeling of diving in the desert of human nature-and torture-in a way you've rarely met before. Even Lynch's movies do not reach such power in exploring the nature of our limits.This is not to suggest that we all have a killer inside us;the situation is more complicated and the power of cinema is to supercede words and to turn into pure music if it is going to be of real importance. This is a cruel movie to watch at times, yet it's a diamond of a film, perfect from every point, that completely arrested me up to the astonishing-no matter how well expected-end. An instant classic.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2010
Most people watching this film will go into it knowing that there are scenes of extreme domestic violence towards women within it. For those who are sensitive to this I would strongly advise leaving this film alone.

Personally, although not a fan of violent or extreme movies (both Sin City and City of God were movies I had to turn off after 20 minutes), I found the violence here to be an integrated part of the story, essential to understanding the character, and the realistic way in which it was presented was a refreshing change from the casual killings in most movies.

The next movie I watched after this one was the Ashton Kutcher comedy Killers, where over a dozen characters are maimed, murdered, burned, shot etc, often in apparently humourous circumstances. I am fortunate that true violence has not touched my life as yet, but I imagine that if it were to it would feel closer to the stark and vivid representation in this movie than what we see in the mainstream. I don't feel there is anything dangerous in representing the truth of actions and motivations, which is what I believe Michael Winterbottom intends with this movie, uncomfortable viewing though it sometimes is.

That apart, I think huge praise needs to be given to Casey Affleck's performance in this movie. Some have stated, perhaps fairly, that it is not a million miles from the mumbling killer he plays in The Assassination of Jesse James... but for me it is the most riveting performance I've seen in a few years. Affleck is brilliantly complemented by the likes of Elias Koteas, Jessica Alba, Bill Pullman and Ned Beatty (the first time I've seen him for years), and the sun-bleached colours and gentle country sountrack complement the films unique flavour.

Again, I stress that if you are sensitive to scenes of domestic violence then, although these only represent a total of approx. 5 minutes screen time in this film, the unflinching on-screen representation of that violence will likely be too much for you.

If however you feel you can weather that storm then you will be rewarded with what I think is the best performance of the year, and one of the best films released in 2010.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
Casey Affleck was once in his brothers shadow but no more. Not just because of this film, but his portrayal of a serial killing cop was immense. He shocked me how good he was, and I was very impressed by the end. Other marquee names such as Jessica Alba and Kate Hudson both put in great performances, plus they both bare their bottoms on screen which, for a guy, is always a welcome bonus. That aside, it is a very good film but very dark too.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 November 2010
The film started out well enough with promise, following Sheriff Lou Ford (Affleck), who you would figure solved crimes for the most part, but, here he is the one causing them. After this interesting seed was sown, i was expecting something clever & interesting to follow. But it didn't materialize. It soon turned into a one dimensional violent/sexual film, that lures you in & just goes out there to shock the viewer, with what turns out to be a flat, disappointingly boring & pointless story in the long run. I was very surprised to see some high profile names in this, especially Simon Baker (The Mentalist) who was totally miscast.

The best way to describe The Killer Inside Me, is that it is like watching a violent soft porn film, it is constantly based around sex, incest & severe physical abuse, watching Casey Affleck in bed with either Jessica Alba or Kate Hudson pretending to make love or some other sexual scene. The violence portrayed towards Alba & Hudson is shocking & very poor taste. Not to mention the way they are portrayed as brainless woman who fall at Affleck's feet. Casey Affleck does play his character well enough, as we watch him slip in & out of the psychopath locked inside him trying to control it, ultimately due to his own past of mistreatment. He uses sex,which is meaningless to him, as a prelude to releasing his anger in a deathly rage.

In conclusion, be very cautious if thinking about getting this film, it portrays severe violence against Women, constant sexual scenes and generally just not as clever as it thinks it is. Disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)