Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden summer nostalgia
Dreamcoats and Petticoats are back again with the next release. After D&P 1,2,3 and the Cast recordings compilation for the musical it would be easy to dismiss this release as yet more "cashing in". However once again this is a welcome compilation. Creating a theme for a compilation like this "Summer" programme of classic pop hits is a great idea. Also this does differ...
Published on 14 July 2010 by Miss M. Potter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dreamboats and Petticoats.
This CD is excellent for anyone who is a fan of music from the 60's (as I am). Follows on from the others in the series.
Published on 17 April 2012 by D. S. Johnston


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden summer nostalgia, 14 July 2010
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Summer Holiday (Audio CD)
Dreamcoats and Petticoats are back again with the next release. After D&P 1,2,3 and the Cast recordings compilation for the musical it would be easy to dismiss this release as yet more "cashing in". However once again this is a welcome compilation. Creating a theme for a compilation like this "Summer" programme of classic pop hits is a great idea. Also this does differ from most Summer compilations becuase ALL of the SONGS date from pre 1974. The latest original recordings being from 1973. (There is also the two extra bonus tracks recorded in 2009 to compliment this programme which are only there as a sort of tribute to the era of the orginal tracks) Universal have created an interesting compilation which kicks off with Cliff Richard and the Shadows and and the predictable inclusion of Summer Holiday. (Well it had to really, didn't it?) And they appear again on disc two with ON THE BEACH. There are also other predictable inclusions such as the Jerry Keller original number one hit HERE COMES SUMMER. The Beach Boys are there also with surfin usa.
There are other tracks of interest such as The Chantays and their number 16 hit from 1963 "pipeline", Leslie Gore and the track Sunshine Lollipops and Rainbows which was not a hit in the UK, The Number 6 hit from 1958 Lollipop from the Chordettes, The Crickets and They call her La Bamba, The Tymes and So much in love, and I love you baby from Paul Anka are all tracks that rarely appear on compilations or any CD for that matter.
There is also the Jimmie Rodgers hit ENGLISH COUNTRY GARDEN on this compilation. This is more than welcome. An unusual pop hit really. Jimmie Rodgers was a Country Music Singer from the U.S. He took a completely out of character turn here by recording this Traditional English Folk song with a definite non country music feel to it. This was a track that is certainly an echo of summers long ago, as is the whole album.
I greatly recommend this piece of nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chris301, 21 July 2011
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Summer Holiday (Audio CD)
This double cd of summertime classics really does invoke the feeling of summers past, as you listen, close your eyes and get transported back to a time of innocent fun without the pain of old age. Remember when there was hardly any traffic on the roads, of trips to the coast, walking on the beach with your arm around the waiste of the love of your life. Then wonder whatever happened to her/him. Oh happier times, without the worries and the cares, and SUMMER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Summer Holiday (Audio CD)
Yet another great selection of songs from "my" era the sixties! Can't beat them... I have most of them now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good music, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Summer Holiday (Audio CD)
Bought on behalf of a friend who loves the music on these. Lots of good songs to listen to. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamboats and petticoats CD, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Summer Holiday (Audio CD)
Wanted Dreamboats and petticoats CD for one track to play at a funeral, when it came there were a lot of tracks that brought back memories worth the money and was a very good recording .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series of albums, 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Summer Holiday (Audio CD)
Added this to my collection of D&P albums, takes me back to my youth in the 60's. Seems like many more similar series are now around so I can gradually replace my old 45s. Great selection of original hits not lame covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old but still swinging, 6 Jan 2012
By 
S. Brook "biker" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Summer Holiday (Audio CD)
Dreamboats & Petticoats 5 - Coffee Bars and CandyHave all the releases now in my collectionThis is a great addition to the theme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Golden Era, 16 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Summer Holiday (Audio CD)
Another very good one in this series of a golden era,
maybe not the best one but some great favourites on here
and worth having in the collection.

Just a few of my personal favourites, Bobby Darin - Beyond The Sea (a very under-rated genuine superstar imo); Chubby Checker - Lets Twist Again (one of the first records I ever bought, fantastic); The Springfields - Island Of Dreams (always loved Dusty Springfield)....

Apart from about a dozen favourites, basically a nice mix, incl. Harry Belafonte, Jimmie Rogers, Shangri-Las, Brian Hyland, Del Shannon, Tommy Steele, Percy Faith & his Orchestra.....and basically I just love this music from the late 50's and 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yea!, 25 Aug 2011
By 
J. A. Brown (Crowthorne Triangle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Summer Holiday (Audio CD)
Love these, We all know the songs and can't help singing along to them, (in my case make sure nobody is in ear shot) all the oldies seem to have such great intro's, Every time I listen to these I think why don't I play them more often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pop music, 26 May 2011
By 
Mr. Michael A. Brady (Gt Britian) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Summer Holiday (Audio CD)
more reminders of great music from years gone by and crazy time in most of our lives todays music could be more cheerful and memorable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamboats and Petticoats Summer Holiday
Dreamboats and Petticoats Summer Holiday by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews