Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a fun read
Most families have the odd skeleton in the closet; closets in the Radleys household seem to be more likely to be filled with pale corpses.

I will confess, I have not read any of the vampire chronicles that currently fill the nation's bookshops, nor have I been drawn to the profusion of vampiric sagas shown around the clock on satellite and cable channels. In...
Published on 10 Oct. 2010 by Mr. J W

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too cool to be chilling...
Witty, clever and inventive, Matt Haig's The Radleys shines a light on contemporary mores by superimposing our everyday foibles onto a surreal situation. In this case, The Radleys of the title are vampires. Vampires attempting to live a normal suburban life. However, there is a twist. The parents of the family have chosen this way of life - they are abstainers, dosed up...
Published on 16 Aug. 2010 by Apollo 11


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment, 3 Aug. 2010
By 
R. Lawson "clavedoc" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Radleys (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This commences very much of a style; recounting home and marriage of a couple caught in a rather prosaic everyday existence looking after their children. They are trapped between the need to maintain their conventional existence and the desire to free themselves to follow their instincts and feelings. All that's a pretty standard sort of set up for contemporary literature. The twist here is that we have the Radleys, a family of vampires who have opted to try to live a normal existence. Inevitably this stresses their daily lives.
To tell the story of vampires in such a matter of fact way is an interesting twist, and and remains engaging for much of the time. It is in fact an interesting way to reflect back on human existence and some common themes, such as the tension between loyalty, duty and morality and the need to feel able to express oneself freely. It also examines the (accelerated) passage of children into responsible adulthood, where the vampire is an obvious metaphor for sexual desire.
The book moves rapidly along, being easy to read, and it has something to say. Almost inevitably though the climax seems to get just a bit silly. The best parts of the book come where things are nearly normal and the tensions and compromises are more complex. Almost inevitably the book moves to a climax where it gets just a bit silly though, and in the end it's just a bit disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its alright... very bandwagony but not a bad read, 22 Sept. 2010
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Radleys (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are very few twists and turns in this novel, so dont expect a deep read: Id say from reading it that its probably targeted at the mid teen market - not that Im suggesting its "a bit young" - its just that despite some interesting characters, it seems to be heavily oriented on the teenage male member of the family (at the detriment of the possible storyline it could have built out), and has both feet firmly planted in the "twighlight" camp. But with less glamorous teens. That should tell you pretty much everything, so I wont spoil the story for those yet to read it. (i.e. if you like the whole "Vampires living amongst todays "normal" society" thing, it'll be your cuppa!)

The writing though is rich and detailed, it paints a vivid mind-picture as you read - its just that its very disposable: The only reason I finished it is so I could properly review it, as I found it a little predictable and bland.
Not bad for evening reading though - enjoyable in its own way but nothing to worry Anne Rice et al!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Radleys (Kindle Edition)
Vampire story with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Radleys (Kindle Edition)
Hard work but worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Radleys (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars quite disgusting, 15 Aug. 2011
By 
love reading "marsy" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Radleys (Paperback)
I realise this book is tongue in cheek and meant to be light-hearted but I really found it disgusting to read about the girl gorging, yuck. Not for me but I can see how it was easy to read and enjoyable apart from those descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected., 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Radleys (Kindle Edition)
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed the witty and thought provoking "The Humans" by Matt Haig, I approached this title with enthusiasm. However within a short time I was disenchanted. Although employing a similar tactic to the other book, that of dealing with the challenges faced by one who is very different from the rest of society the outsiders in this novel I found repellent and far more alien than the "alien" of The Humans. The descriptive passages only enforced this revulsion. I read it to the end in the ever weakening hope that the story would redeem itself but I was to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Radleys (Kindle Edition)
A very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but......, 11 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Radleys (Kindle Edition)
I picked this book as I love Twilight Saga and the reviews was saying that this book was better. i was disappointed as i don't feel it measured up anywhere like Twilight and should never have been compared to it.

Saying all that the book was well written and i did enjoy it, there seemed to more on the past than the present then it just finished!!!!

I always say you need to make your own mind up over a book as my preference may not be yours!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it.., 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Radleys (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Radleys
The Radleys by Matt Haig
£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews