Customer Reviews


1,763 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,241)
4 star:
 (200)
3 star:
 (134)
2 star:
 (72)
1 star:
 (116)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3D Makes it a better film
I purchased this at HMV due to promising a movie night at my house and unfortunately my Amazon purchase did not arrive on time (yet - Royal Mail issue?), but this is exactly the same film - therefore is not an Amazon verified purchase.

Like I always say, I am dubious of reviews before the product is released as I do not feel this is a true representation of...
Published on 24 Oct 2012 by Mr. Russell A. Thomas

versus
367 of 412 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, but special edition on the way...
Ok so the film we all know about, how can you not? Personally I expected to dislike it given the enormous amount of hype that went with it, but in actual fact I thought it was an amazing film, dazzling, exciting, well acted, great effects and an immersive adventure, which whilst simple in story was perfect in execution. The Blu-Ray disc is pretty much going to be the...
Published on 26 April 2010 by Deckard


‹ Previous | 1159 160 161177 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars avatar, 19 Mar 2010
i have seen avatar in the cinema in 3d this is far the one of the best 3d movies i ever seen in my life this movie is ground breaking in colors so fans of this movie buy this blu ray en have fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not the best film ever, but certainly the most amazing!, 19 Dec 2009
By 
N Snow "Nick Snow" (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatar [DVD] (DVD)
From start to finish Avatar is a visual feast. Obviously it has been hyped up beyond belief and has a budget that could feed a small nation but it really shows. Avatar achieves a seamless blend of live action and computer-aided animation, putting previous effots like Lord of the Rings and King Kong to shame. It's a good job to, because if the characters hadn't appeared as realistic as they did the film wouldn't have worked at all. However, the true brilliance of this movie lies in the setting. Pandora is an immersive 3D environment filled with intense colourings, facsinating flora and fauna and everything an alien world should have in a movie. When you compare it to other worlds from films like Star Wars, Star Trek or even Middle Earth, James Cameron's creation is leagues ahead.

But, just creating the most amazing environment ever seen isn't enough to make a movie. So it's a good job Avatar works in other ways. You could say the usual things about this film such as good cast, great direction, soundtrack, romance, plot etc... and realistically, Avatar is good in all of those ways. The plot is engaging and while more experienced movie goers might find it predictable at times, you can't help but get totally engrossed in it. The main character starts off as a grunt hoping for a new chance after becoming a paraplegic, who winds up in the midsts of a war he has no knowledge about. Pretty soon he winds up meeting a host of interesting human characters, fascinating creatures (especially the Banshees) and some amazing looking natives and ending up a crucial part in the battle between the Pandorans and the invading army of humans.

Sam Worthington, Sigourney Weaver, Zoe Saldana and Giovanni Ribisi are the best performers in my opinion and make an excellent cast. The music is spectacular and matches the visuals perfectly. There is very little in the way of an emotional journey, but the action, the adventure and a small amount of comedy make this a very enjoyable film. The one thing I haven't metioned in great detail is the 3D element. Personally, I feel the film could have worked without it, but there was certainly a great deal if 3D interactions to please the eyes. The Eywa (spiritual prescence) was amazing to see as they swam around the edges of the screen, and the explosions, gunfire and battles really popped out of the screen.

In conclusion: I've heard this film has picked up a few critics. But, treat it like any other big budget film. The critics will always prefer an artistic nonsense film like "A Beautiful Mind" or "There Will be Blood" to blockbusters like this, The Dark Knight or Star Wars. However, no other film has ever looked, sounded or felt like this one before> I can't wait to see where movies go from here. Well done James Cameron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Cameron delivers another masterpiece with the sheer beauty that is Avatar, 18 Dec 2009
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avatar [DVD] (DVD)
It goes without saying that James Cameron is one of the greatest directors of our time. Titantic, Terminator, Aliens - all epic classics that have all made their mark in cinematic history. Does Avatar look set to do the same? The film has been surrounded by an immense amount of hype; statements that it's the most expensive film ever made, the dazzling trailers pulling you in with the promise of lush special effects. Avatar is an `event' movie if ever there was one, and on seeing the film itself, all i can say is boy does it live up to expectations.

For fans of action/thriller/sci-fi, this really does have it all. A lush, intensely realised setting, so lifelike you feel you can reach out and touch it (especially if you go and see the film in 3D like i did), a fantastic cast which the audience can thoroughly invest in and a plot that takes you on an emotional journey that only the very best films can manage. Encompassing themes of war, peace, nature and racial harmony, Avatar is surprisingly sentimental for an `action' film and is all the better for it.

As the film's lead protagonist, Sam Worthington puts in a stunning performance as Jake Sully. In his regular life as a marine, he is wheelchair-bound from a military injury - and on his transformation into his `avatar' body, you can genuinely feel his freedom in being able to not only walk again, but fully explore the physical capabilities of his body. As he is taught further in the ways of the alien Na'vi - Avatar takes on a kind of coming-of-age feel as he gradually achieves acceptance within their community. We learn with him, establishing a bond that is all the more important as the film progresses. Sigourney Weaver also puts in a great showing as determined scientist Grace, as do Michelle Rodriquez and Stephen Lang in their military roles.

And as for the graphics, well, they're breathtaking. The realism on offer in terms of the depiction of the Na'vi race and their jungle surrounding is incredible. The bright colours make for a refreshing change too from the usual dark greys and silvers of typical metallic sci-fi settings. The action sequences are stunning and those coming to this film for the likes of gun-fights, explosions and aerial battles will not be disappointed.

All in all, Avatar is quite simply an epic in every sense of the word. It is a blockbuster movie from the out and lives up to this tag in every sense of the word. But it's the way it's been crafted, with such attention lavished on every detail that is behind its success. It's the little subtleties played up against the big drama, both woven together perfectly in every scene, that defines it as a film and ensures its an experience that won't swiftly be forgotten.

Go see it, it's amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why should I buy anywhere else? No option,, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatar [DVD] (DVD)
The efficiency and speed of everything, especially the next day delivery is fantastic. I watched the film on the day it arrived, so that was an extra top rating in my book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ferngully/Avatar So What! I love it anyway., 23 April 2010
By 
Mr. S. J. Cook "Vindicator" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avatar [DVD] (DVD)
There is 'nothing new under the sun' as the saying goes and what has been before will be again. Can anyone say that there are any films that are truly original containing scenes never before seen in the cinema. What would science-fiction be without the giant starship lumbering though space, astronauts awakening from hyper-sleep, renegade robots, strange beasts or hostile aliens.

I notice on the internet that some wag has cleverly spliced together selected scenes from Ferngully and added the Avatar trailer soundtrack to them to produce a synchronized whole. No doubt we are supposed to believe, by this cheeky (but funny) little trick, that Ferngully was the inspiration for Avatar; it may have been but then again it might not.

Avatar and Ferngully are both, in fact, produced by the same studio, 20th Century Fox. It is quite reasonable to suggest that 20th Century Fox would allow James Cameron to use elements of another story that they already own the rights to. It's not exactly plagiarism now is it.

All the characters in Avatar can be dissected and evil or good intentions can be assigned to them depending on your view of the film. If you liked the film you would be prepared to overlook the slight (and slightly derivative) story, suspend disbelief and allow yourself to enter the beautifully rendered and immersive world of Pandora. If you hated the film you would pick every aspect of it to pieces from the characterisation, the CGI, the duration, real (or imagined) plot inconsistencies and the fact (or not) that the storyline may have been recycled from different films.

After many a disappointing experience at the cinema I was more than delighted with Avatar; as a thoroughly enjoyable and completely absorbing experience it far outstrips most of the films I have seen recently.

Incidentally, I was too enthralled with the film to notice any references to other films; only afterwards, when they were pointed out, I thought, 'well they might have a point'; but what does it matter in the end.

Postscript:

I have just bought the DVD and it still looks awesome, even on my 32", six-year-old, Philips, prehistoric, non-flat-screen TV. In fact, watching it in 2D in the comfort of my own home is still an amazing experience; there is no loss of clarity, sound or enjoyment. It is the full cinematic experience right in you own living room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overrated? It's just pulled in $2.5Billion???, 19 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Avatar [DVD] (DVD)
I can't believe people saying it's still over-rated when it has brought in over 2.5 billion dollars!!! How can millions and millions be wrong. I think this film has given the Cinema Experience a new lease of life! I was personally getting very tired of Cinema films but this film has given me a second chance on being extrememly entertained on Screen.

One of the best stories, the best acting, the best characters the best CGI. Fantastic. DVD is said to be release on 22nd April, Hopefully worldwide, but I won't hold my breathe. I'm defo getting this the first day it comes out! LOVE IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a present for someone - the disc will not play - very disappointed - should have known better - buy from a reputable firm in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should not be grouped in blue ray 3D !, 24 Dec 2011
This was purchased when searching for blue ray 3d movies and I see that this mistake has been made before. Amazon should take note of this listing error and remove this version from the 3d section. I already had a 2d copy of Avatar and didn't need another...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatar with Limited Edition Lenticular Artwork (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD) [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-rated, 13 Feb 2010
By 
Sorry, but this just isn't a great film. I can think of many other Sci-Fi films that made a far greater impact : Aliens, Bladerunner, 2001, District-9. This was a bit 'Disney'ish'. Where it deserves credit is for the groundbreaking special effects, but that is no substitute for a very basic and unoriginal story line, which is a shame as perhaps an opportunity was lost to make a fantastic film worthy of multiple awards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1159 160 161177 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews