Customer Reviews


274 Reviews
5 star:
 (203)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE TITLE SAYS IT ALL
It's 3 in a row now from director Matthew Vaughan.
Following on from his no nonsense feature debut 'Layer Cake' was the charming 'Stardust' and now this little gem.

Filmed at the same time as the comic was being written; infact the film got finished before the comic in the end - Kick Ass is a refreshing blast of comic book celluloid.

It follows...
Published on 6 Aug 2010 by The Black Regent

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift
bought this dvd for my son. didn't give it top rating as it is not my sort of film but I'm sure he will enjoy it.
Published 8 months ago by Rose Gilmour


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE TITLE SAYS IT ALL, 6 Aug 2010
This review is from: Kick-Ass [DVD] (DVD)
It's 3 in a row now from director Matthew Vaughan.
Following on from his no nonsense feature debut 'Layer Cake' was the charming 'Stardust' and now this little gem.

Filmed at the same time as the comic was being written; infact the film got finished before the comic in the end - Kick Ass is a refreshing blast of comic book celluloid.

It follows the exploits of Dave Lizewski (Aaron Johnson) who one day, decides to become a superhero and inadvertently attracts the attention of a couple of other super dudes called Big Daddy (Nicholas Cage) and his 11 year old daughter Hit Girl (Chloe Moretz). He then becomes embroiled in their plans to bring down a rather nasty bit of work (portrayed by the ever reliable Mark Strong) as well as being the catalyst for the appearance of another wannabe real life superhero.

Without giving any of the plot away, mark my words when I tell you that if you are in the least bit offended by profanity and excessive, but wonderfully executed hyper kinetic violence - stay away. However if you like both the former and latter as well as an involving story, some laughs and some suprising human drama, then kick back - watch and enjoy Kick Ass.

I only hope that if and when a sequel is released, that it not only lives up to the standard set by this primer but exceeds it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BEST Movies of 2010 !!, 2 Oct 2010
By 
M. B. Richardson (Stockton - on - Tees, Cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass [DVD] (DVD)
I will not be covering the storyline - as others seem to have done that fine - but I will say that this film has something for everyone, great storyline, great acting, plenty of action (some might say too much explicit violence - but not me, it suited the plot of the movie). It had humour in the right places, it had edge of you seat drama. The main characters were a treat to watch - let's hope there is a sequel !! You can see this movie has one of the highest star rating of any movie on Amazon.

And it's a British film - see, we can make great movies !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic in the making, 10 April 2011
This review is from: Kick-Ass [DVD] (DVD)
I only recently came to view Kick Ass over a year since its cinema release. How did I ever conceive to miss what I now feel is second only to Inception in 2010's film releases. Where as Inception was truly groundbreaking in a 'lets trust the audience to keep up with this' kind of way for a summer blockbuster, Kick Ass is pure unadulterated fun all the way with great performances (by far and away Nicholas Cage's best in many years) and scene stealing performance by Chloe Moertz.

This is NOT a film for the younger audience, I would say 13+ is ok, the language and some of the graphic violence can be on the heavy side.

All in all only 1 word suffices.

BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrorism for the eyes, 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: Kick-Ass [DVD] (DVD)
Based on British writer Mark Millar's comic book series, this is an ultraviolent satire from the writer/director team behind 2007's Stardust. Like that film, Kick-Ass tweaks the nipples of genre convention to create something bold, distinctive and memorable. Unlike that film, Kick-Ass's central love story is between a father and daughter, the former educating the latter by shooting her in the chest with a handgun from ten yards.

The plot concerns a normal kid, Dave Lizewski (Nowhere Boy's Aaron Johnson) - not an uber-geek or a ruffian - who dreams of being a superhero. When a mugging leaves his nerve-endings ruined, he unwittingly finds himself allied with the twisted dream team of Big Daddy (Nic Cage) and Hit Girl (Chloe Moretz) as they seek to take down the vicious crime-lord, Frank D'Amico (Mark Strong). Impalements, oversized microwaves and dual-handgun ballet ensue.

If film-making is a process of small judgements adding up to a single whole then Goldman and Vaughan get most the decisions right. The pacing is superb, with the snappy, fabulously foul-mouthed script bridging a series of thrillingly inventive set-pieces, chief among which are Hit Girl's introduction as she splatters the walls of a drug den to The Banana Splits theme song (a possible reference to the grandfather of the modern superhero movie, Richard Donner), as well as a first-person perspective rescue mission played out to a re-working of John Murphy's "Kaneda's Death" theme from Danny Boyle's Sunshine.

There are a couple of cons. D'Amico is a familiar mob boss with familiar patriarchal issues; he could have used a perversion or two aside from bloodlust. And Big Daddy's old police buddy (Omari Hardwick) is unfortunately sidelined, destined to remain perennial backup, as if too damn honest to spoil the party. And what about Xander Berkeley's sporadically glimpsed Gigante? Perhaps the sequel ("Balls to the Wall") will share the love more evenly.

Unlike the bloodless, toothless, sexless Scott Pilgrim Versus the World, Kick-Ass spits vile anarchy from every orifice. Both films are wish-fulfilment fantasies for grown-up geeks, but while Scott Pilgrim reduces the sub-genre to 8-bit whimsy, Kick-Ass enhances it to glorious, eye-gouging HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool case with lots of extras - a fun, if somewhat vulgar, movie, 4 Sep 2010
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass Combi Pack (Blu-ray + DVD) Steelbook (Blu-ray)
This 'Kick Ass' Steelbook DVD set comes in a cool black metal case, that's tricky to open and probably wouldn't like being trodden on, but it's cool none the less. Inside there's plastic inserts holding three DVDs. One is Blu-ray, and the other two are standard res DVDs: the film and 'disk 2' [the extras]. The 2 hours of bonus features include 'The making of kick-ass: A new kind of Superhero [114 mins]', The artwork of Kick-ass [storyboard and designs], the Director's commentary, and 'The comic origins of Kick-ass' featurette. The extras are on both the Blu-ray and split across the two standard DVDs, with the Blu-ray and disk 2 DVD giving ~2h of extras, while the standard film DVD has another 20 minutes of them [plus the movie of course]. The Blu-ray disk is 1080 hi-def 2.4:1 widescreen, English DTS-HD 5.1 audio, with English subtitles and English Audio description track 2 only. The DVD is English 5.1 audio with English SDH subtitles. No other languages supported. 'Special features' also include 'English Dolby Digital 2' audio. The movie run time is 1h 58mins on Blu-ray, and rated 15. As you would expect the Blu-ray looks great on my teenage sons hi-def+PS3 system, and we are happy with the standard DVDs universal play on our other systems. There doesn't seem to be an 'iPod' friendly compressed digital version of the film though [which could lose a star for some].

And to the movie itself, well it's kind of a vulgar, violent and puerile version of 'Watchmen' [OK that film was even more violent and puerile], but Kick-ass is great fun none the less and has surprisingly sensitive moments amongst the carnage. It's pretty much an anti-superhero mickey-take movie, based around a likeable teenage lad who decides to become a super-hero, despite having no super-powers or any training - the result is predictable and the costumes chosen are almost as lame as the crime-fighter names. Naturally the movie is saved by the coarse humour [a sort of live action, intense 'Incredibles']. With Nicolas Cage as 'Big Daddy' the movie could have been called 'Adam West rides again' - as a kid the camp 1960's 'Batman' was a fave of mine. Doesn't matter which came first either, the Kick-ass comic or the movie. So while we were waiting for 'Scott Pilgrim vs the world' to come out on DVD/Blu-ray, we ordered this movie set. Being 14 at the time, my son was annoyed he couldn't see the film at the cinema, but now, just in time for his 15th birthday, it's arrived - and he rates the movie and DVD set 5*, plus we paid about the same for this three DVD steelbox combo set as the single Blu-ray release, so it was also 5* for value as well.

Typical Kick-ass quote: "I'll be honest, there wasn't a whole lot of crime-fighting at first. But even so, it kept me pretty busy. I called it preparation, but if you called it fantasizing, it would've been hard to argue. All I knew was, I never felt so good about myself". Even more typical Kick ass quote: "F*** this s*** ....". Actually there's not really too much swearing in this movie, and if that's all that offends you when watching Kick-Ass, you're really not paying attention. The standard DVDs are coming up as region 2,4 locked, while the Blu-ray is probably region free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of heart., 6 Sep 2010
By 
Natasha Long "GeekygirlUK" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kick-Ass [DVD] (DVD)
If you're easily offended, or don't like comics/violence/juvenile humour this film isn't for you.

If you like well written, well acted, all out comic style fun with a bit of a twist you'll love it. Don't let the bright colours and comic background styling of the cover fool you (as some seem to have done!), this film is definitely for adults or older teens only. The violence starts off fairly realistic, but quickly goes to comic-y/Kill Bill style when our child protagonist appears. And what an appearance! I haven't fallen for a character so quickly in a long time, and rarely a child. Hit Girl is a joy to watch because of the joy she seems to take in her 'work', (which, by all accounts, Chloe Moretz did) and the score complements the action perfectly to enhance this perception.

I laughed out loud more times than I could count, and winced and groaned a lot too. As well as a lot of violence and 'language' this film has a lot of heart, with characters you can care about - even Red Mist is a fairly sympathetic character for a lot of the film.

This is one of only 3 films I've seen more than once at the cinema and I could have gone another 2/3 times if I had the money/time.

I can't wait for the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film of 2010, 4 Sep 2011
By 
Philip Black (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My favourite film of 2010 and the first film in years to leave me in open-mouth wonder during the Banana Splits...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best superhero movies ever., 20 April 2011
This review is from: Kick-Ass [DVD] (DVD)
Ignore the people who give this movie low ratings and say it's mediocre, these people just don't get this movie. It has everything comedy, drama and great action scenes. Some people complain that the tone of the movie is 'uneven' and that it struggles to balance itself in the real world because of how ridiculous it gets near the end, but i see this movie as a cross between the real world and a superhero movie, and i love it. The acting is great, Aaron Johnson plays kick-ass who is the guy you relate too throughout the whole movie and he did a great job, Mark Strong did a great job as the villain, he isn't on a 'Hans Gruber' kind of level but he's much better than most movie villains right now, Chris Mintz-Plasse also did a great job as Red mist. But obviously the highlights of the movie by far are Hit-girl and Big Daddy and the violence. Nicolas Cage is hilarious as Big Daddy, and also incredibly bad-ass when killing bad guys. Chloe Grace Moretz is simply amazing as Hit-Girl. If it was just any young actress playing Hit-Girl it wouldn't have half the impact that it does with Moretz playing her, she steals every scene she is in. She is the Han Solo of Kick-Ass, when you see this movie you will probably want to watch more films with her in as i did because she is equally brilliant in 'Let Me In'. The action scenes are pretty much the funnest action scenes i have ever seen, because of the acting, effects, directing, music and just plain awesomeness. Oh yeah, that's another thing, The music in this movie is SO good, it all fits perfectly with the movie. If you love Spider-Man, X-men, iron man etc. then buy this movie now, it will become one of your favorites because it ranks up there with Spider-man 2, X2 and The Dark Knight as one of the greatest superhero movies ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the doctor ordered, 17 Jan 2011
By 
D. Diep - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kick-Ass [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the funniest, most outrageous and action-packed films I've seen. If you're going to watch this film, at least know what to expect before criticising it for its excessive violence and its bad influence to children! This is a 15 rated film, why in the world would you let your child watch it? There is age certification on films for a reason, use it!

You have to see this, if only for Hit-Girl (played by the ultra-talented Chloe Moretz).

WATCH THIS NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic entertainment, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Kick-Ass [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed the original comic book version and in my opinion the movie is even better. expect very bad language, ultra violence, slapstick violence, some very funny characters and expect to enjoy every second of it, especially nic cage in 'big daddy' mode riffing adam west and the brilliantly foul mouthed hit-girl.

one minor quibble, not to spoil things for those who have yet to see it, but there is one thing in the last sequence of the film that didn't really fit for me and it involved kick ass and a piece of technology (you'll know it when you see it), it didn't really fit with the vibe of the film in my opinion but certainly didn't spoil things for me.

to conclude, kick ass is one of the best action movies i've seen in ages and probably my second favourite comic book movie (after dark knight)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kick-Ass Combi Pack (Blu-ray + DVD) Steelbook
Kick-Ass Combi Pack (Blu-ray + DVD) Steelbook by Matthew Vaughn (Blu-ray - 2010)
Used & New from: 8.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews