Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong cutting
I have used the £20, £40 and £60 shredders in the past and they always appear to end up with either the mechanism getting clogged or the unit shredding its own plastic internals! This one appears quieter and stronger. Churns through 12 pages. Unlike other units it doesn't need to work for 2 mins only and then require a 20 minute cool-down, this one just keeps going, but...
Published on 15 Jan. 2012 by John Bradshaw

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed.
Very disappointed. My old Rexel shredder was by far superior in quality compared to this. I wrongly assumed a new version would be at least as good or even better, The old one was solid and would shred everything I put in it. This one is fine for A4 size sheets, and credit cards but try small address labels and receipts and it keeps clogging. Once it clogs. it simply...
Published 24 days ago by Geoffboy


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong cutting, 15 Jan. 2012
By 
John Bradshaw (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rexel Prostyle+ 12 Sheet Cross Cut Paper / CD / Credit Card Shredder for Home / Office with 20 Litre Bin and Auto-Shut Off Function (Office Product)
I have used the £20, £40 and £60 shredders in the past and they always appear to end up with either the mechanism getting clogged or the unit shredding its own plastic internals! This one appears quieter and stronger. Churns through 12 pages. Unlike other units it doesn't need to work for 2 mins only and then require a 20 minute cool-down, this one just keeps going, but it does have a temperature warning on it - which I've not reached yet.

I thought a slide-out bin would be less messy than units where you remove the top. But in practice, once you slide out the bin all the paper from the cutters falls onto the space left and you end up with a mess anyway.

It has a sleep-mode, if you leave it in auto too long and will wake from sleep with the first page inserted; it also has a more traditional on/off rocker switch on the back.

I've not used the plastic CD or card yet - but I can guess like most shredders it will only hit the card in 3 places anyway.

Still, a great unit for home-office printing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great machine, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rexel Prostyle+ 12 Sheet Cross Cut Paper / CD / Credit Card Shredder for Home / Office with 20 Litre Bin and Auto-Shut Off Function (Office Product)
No problems with the machine, but there does need to be improvement in the advertising/instructions.
1. Advertised as not handling staple/paperclips - machine packaging says it does ( and it does)
2. advertising says does not take lubricating oil - instructions says it takes lubricating sheets ( which had I known would have bought them at the same time).
Apart from those niggles ( which cost it a star) the machine is great. It munched through a two year backlog of old business documents, at a steady pace, 6-7 sheets of 90gm paper on average, did not overheat once, emptied the bin regularly so no jams, its not exactly quiet, but not loud either ( quieter than my previous Fellows ) did most of my shredding whilst watching tv and the noise did not unduly distract.
Its early days but it seems it is a better buy than my Fellows, which was disappointing in all levels and caused the delay in getting another shredder, as I wasn't sure shredders were worth the money based on that experience. This Rexel has restored some faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good shredder, 30 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Rexel Prostyle+ 12 Sheet Cross Cut Paper / CD / Credit Card Shredder for Home / Office with 20 Litre Bin and Auto-Shut Off Function (Office Product)
Really good shredder, looks good, shreds well, doesn't jam and I haven't had any problems with it over-heating. I think the only downside is that it doesn't cut-out or tell you when its full (learnt that the hard way!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay for the money, 18 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Rexel Prostyle+ 12 Sheet Cross Cut Paper / CD / Credit Card Shredder for Home / Office with 20 Litre Bin and Auto-Shut Off Function (Office Product)
Does a very good job at shredding however I have two minor points:

1. The specification claims it shreds staples. The user manual recommends removing them prior to shredding.
2. Removing the paper bin if relatively full can be a messy experience as paper can remain in the cutting teeth which is then agitated as the drawer is removed. The end result: shredded paper goes everywhere except where it is supposed to. Emptying more regularly solves this problem however the manufacturer's claim that it holds 250 sheets of A4 is at best optimistic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rexel Prostyle, 8 Nov. 2011
By 
M. C. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rexel Prostyle+ 12 Sheet Cross Cut Paper / CD / Credit Card Shredder for Home / Office with 20 Litre Bin and Auto-Shut Off Function (Office Product)
I'd been looking for a new shredder for some time, my previous shredder (a Rexel) was on it's last legs after many years of heavy use. I'd done a lot of research before purchasing this model, reading various review including the Gadget Show one. I have to say I'm over the moon with it, it cuts a good number of sheets at one go, is very quiet and the motor seems powerful enough to cope with a good number of shets in one go. Great price too from Amazon, I made a substantial saving over the price quoted by a big online shredder supplier. 10/10 for the shredder and 10/10 for Amazon. Rexel Prostyle and Shredder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality Item, 21 Nov. 2012
By 
A. Cumming "Andy" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rexel Prostyle+ 12 Sheet Cross Cut Paper / CD / Credit Card Shredder for Home / Office with 20 Litre Bin and Auto-Shut Off Function (Office Product)
I have had this for several weeks. Used it to shred a large back log of documents. It coped very well without overheating. I am very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never could I expect more of a shredder - considering the price, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rexel Prostyle+ 12 Sheet Cross Cut Paper / CD / Credit Card Shredder for Home / Office with 20 Litre Bin and Auto-Shut Off Function (Office Product)
The design , features and ease of shredding paper make it a wonderful machine . The day I brought it , I had piles of paper to dispose of . It did a smooth , wonderful job . Though , I used it - non-stop - for about an hour , the heat warning light didn't come on . I strongly - and without hesitation- recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable , appealing shredder at a moderate price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gadget show - thanks, 5 Nov. 2011
By 
S. Morgan (Guernsey, CI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rexel Prostyle+ 12 Sheet Cross Cut Paper / CD / Credit Card Shredder for Home / Office with 20 Litre Bin and Auto-Shut Off Function (Office Product)
I am a Gadget show buff and saw this machine being put through its paces on the program. So far it has lived up to its hype. Fairly quiet and able to handle a few sheets without any problem. It is very attractive too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Purchase, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rexel Prostyle+ 12 Sheet Cross Cut Paper / CD / Credit Card Shredder for Home / Office with 20 Litre Bin and Auto-Shut Off Function (Office Product)
excellent shredder, have bought cheaper products in the past that have not lasted long and did not appear to be the quality of this one.
Also love the front loading and removal waste box, but dont let it get too full before pulling out.good product that hopefully will last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed., 5 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very disappointed. My old Rexel shredder was by far superior in quality compared to this. I wrongly assumed a new version would be at least as good or even better, The old one was solid and would shred everything I put in it. This one is fine for A4 size sheets, and credit cards but try small address labels and receipts and it keeps clogging. Once it clogs. it simply keeps running trying to unclog itself which of course it cant do. Try reversing it to clear and still no joy. The jam has to be physically cleared which would be fine if it did not happen so often. I am going to try shredding only larger size docs in future (A4) and hope it works with them and shred the small receipts by hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews