Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They rock again
After bursting into the scene with their self-titled debut album, Buckcherry had put out some great music and killer songs. Nothing really captured the magic and energy of their first album until.. well, we are still waiting.

Still, this is a good CD. Their last CD was more Aerosmithish than GnRish, but this CD turns back the clock a little. They still have...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by G. Heywood

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Treading water
So put Appetite For Destruction, Pump and Dr Feelgood into a mixer and what do you get? yes, Buckcherry.

For the last 10 years or so, this hasn't been a bad thing as while they haven't quite matched their inspirations, Buckcherry have produced some quality, rocking albums with memorable songs like Lit Up, Crazy Bitch and Rescue Me. Unfortunately this run seems...
Published on 21 Aug 2010 by Zaggle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They rock again, 4 Aug 2010
By 
G. Heywood (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Night Long (Audio CD)
After bursting into the scene with their self-titled debut album, Buckcherry had put out some great music and killer songs. Nothing really captured the magic and energy of their first album until.. well, we are still waiting.

Still, this is a good CD. Their last CD was more Aerosmithish than GnRish, but this CD turns back the clock a little. They still have the slow songs (which they admittedly do very well, in this case Bliss and I Want You), but the album does rock. The title track is absolutely typical Buckcherry from the opening bar. Hell if your foot isn't tapping or your head isn't nodding, check they are still attached. The song screams with the kind of drums and guitar work that the band have been capable of from the beginning. It's A Party is the cliched song that they always tend to include and it no better or worse than previous examples (Too Drunk to F&^k). In fact it is probably less cheesy. Liberty and Never Say Never are solid rock tracks, and Oh My Lord challenges you not to crank up the volume again. I can see this being a great song live. The album is finished off nicely with rockers Our World, Recovery, and These Things, which attempts to be emotional without going overboard. Throw in a stack of acoustic tracks and it is good value.

If you like Buckcherry, this is a great addition. If you are new to the band, this is still a good CD. Not as good as their first but a great example of a Buckcherry CD. I am sure it will be one of the more commonly played albums of this year on my MP3 player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Treading water, 21 Aug 2010
This review is from: All Night Long (Audio CD)
So put Appetite For Destruction, Pump and Dr Feelgood into a mixer and what do you get? yes, Buckcherry.

For the last 10 years or so, this hasn't been a bad thing as while they haven't quite matched their inspirations, Buckcherry have produced some quality, rocking albums with memorable songs like Lit Up, Crazy Bitch and Rescue Me. Unfortunately this run seems to have come to an end since rather than being reminiscent of late 80s classics, this cd just sounds like an uninspired imitation of earlier Buckcherry albums.

It's not a bad idea in theory to start with an album with a couple of "partying" numbers - in this case, All Night Long and It's a Party, but the reality is that both sound rather forced and not party-ish at all. Try listening to some Crue again before your next album Buckcherry!
From then on it's all pretty much Buckcherry by numbers until the final song, Dead, a fairly dark, GNR like track where the band actually seem to cut lose a little.

The additional acoustic EP's not bad, but it might have been more interesting if they'd interspersed a few of the tracks in the main album instead of tagging them on at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 May 2011
This review is from: All Night Long (Audio CD)
Really good proper rock and roll, only reason i would knock it down to a 4 star is due to the song "Our World" which to me knocks the band back a bit. Other than that really good album still sticking to the old ways of the band even with different members!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Going through the motions part II, 13 Aug 2010
By 
S. J. Reason "Born a rocker" (Cambs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Night Long (Audio CD)
Like the first reviewer S. Anderson, I too have been a Buckcherry fan from the start. I clearly remember me and my mate buying the debut on the day of release, turning it up loud and drinking much Jack Daniels and celebrating the best debut we'd heard since 'Appetite'.
We made the trip to the Camden Underworld where we were right at the front for one of their first Uk gigs, and we've both loved the band ever since.
For me, subsequent albums have all had great moments on them, and while not as brilliant as the debut I've enjoyed them all.
So to this one, and I'm REALLY disappointed. For me it is flat and unimaginative, good playing, great vocals as always and sharp production, but no standout tracks, nothing that really grabs my attention.
It's not a bad cd, and after all this is just my opinion, but I think it sounds cliched and, well, boring. I've played it five times hoping it would grow on me, and I really want to like it, but I don't much.
If you're a long time Buckcherry fan, you'll buy it anyway, and hopefully you'll enjoy it more than me. If you're new to the band, I'd really strongly suggest you start with the s/t debut and then try 'All Night Long' later. For me there's no comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUCKCHERRY DO IT AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!, 4 Aug 2010
By 
S. Gibbs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Night Long (Audio CD)
Buckcherry are in my opinion, a GREAT Rock N`Roll band and again in my opinion, the last great Rock N`Roll band that need to be heard!!!

I find nowadays that bands lose alot of their "Original Sound" after their first record......... NOT BUCKCHERRY!!!!! They have stayed at their roots from day one and "All Night Long" is another Rock Masterpiece!

Every track is killer on this record, there is not one bad track! "ITS A PARTY" is a mixture of AEROSMITH and VELVET REVOLVER, in "NEVER SAY NEVER" you can hear that BUCKCHERRY are really inspired by the likes of AC/DC(Which is no way a bad thing) "I WANT YOU" is a BEAAUUTTIFFULLLLLLL Song! This track reminded me of BUCKCHERRYS "WITHOUT YOU" which was on their second record "TIMEBOMB"! "OUR WORLD" is a great Rock N`Roll track with VERY powerful lyrics(Its about the BP Oil spill)

"DEAD" reminded me at first of Motley Crue and when the singin come into affect, i tryed to think of a band that i could compare it to but in all honesty...BUCKCHERRY are their own and in my opinion, if you like ROCK N`ROLL, go and buy this record....You will NOT be disappointed!!!!

OHHHHH and not only that, you get an EP of acoustic tracks which is a good come down after rockin out to this MASTERPIECE!!!!!

Rock on peeps!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars going through the motions, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Night Long (Audio CD)
Before I start, I should say I am a MASSIVE Buckcherry fan and have been since their debut album back in '99 (and even followed the band back in their "demo" days as Sparrow) so was seriously excited about this album. But....it's just rock by numbers. Reviews have been slating Black Butterfly and saying his is a real return to form but up until Black Butterfly I don't think they had lost it.

This is an okay album, Up All Night being the most "obvious" singalong classic buckcherry song. But there's no Lit Up, no Loneliness and Lulu, no Slammin', no Sorry, no Talk To Me....

Musicianship-wise, everyone puts in the usual sterling performance and Josh Todd is still one of the best Rock Vocalists on the planet, but this is not the album I had hoped for. I'll stick with the first four albums for the time being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but it's ok, 4 Sep 2010
By 
Ms. L. E. Watret (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Night Long (Audio CD)
I'm a massive Buckcerry fan and was really looking forward to this album. I do like it, but it's by no means the best they've done. I don't know if Josh is going soft or what, but there are a lot of slower songs on it and not the usual rock we're used to. I'd recommend Josh fans get it, but don't get your hopes up too much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh My Lord, 31 July 2010
By 
Mr. Jrd Roche "jroche" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Night Long (Audio CD)
Wow This Is A Great Album Much Better Than There Last Album Black Butterfly Back To There Best.
Oh My Lord Is The Best Song On The Album It Really Rocks Very Happy With This Album 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Night Long
All Night Long by Buckcherry (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews