Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT
This was a great movie .I totally enjoyed to watch it and will do so time and time again.Many Thanks
Published 17 months ago by Ruf.Diamond21

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basement
I can not believe how bad this film is....Quite possibly the worse film i have seen.
I really like Danny Dyer, and thought him and Severance were brilliant!
However - this excuse of a horror film had no scares at all. You will not believe how many times you get a shot of one of the corridors either in normal shot or green shot.
AWFUL!
Published on 10 Feb 2011 by DompierPapan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basement, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: Basement [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I can not believe how bad this film is....Quite possibly the worse film i have seen.
I really like Danny Dyer, and thought him and Severance were brilliant!
However - this excuse of a horror film had no scares at all. You will not believe how many times you get a shot of one of the corridors either in normal shot or green shot.
AWFUL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh Danny Dyer - what were you thinking !!, 24 Aug 2010
By 
M. B. Richardson (Stockton - on - Tees, Cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Basement [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Danny Dyer is such a good actor and excelled in horrors like Severence, but this latest film by him is utter drivel ! There is absolutely no professional directing or producing, the script is just nonsense, the acting is abysmal (apart from Danny Dyer), the set is just some sewerage works, the dead keep breathing, the stabbed don't have any bloogy marks or stab tears in their clothes, there is nothing funny or horrific about any of the film as some people have said, when it's all over you wonder what was this all about - NOTHING - I felt after 70 minutes of this rubbish that that was 70 minutes i would nevr get back again.

This is the 2nd really bad film I have seen Danny Dyer in recently, he does'nt need to take on roles in such bad movies, it will eventually damage his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alex, 2 Sep 2010
By 
Alex (shropshire england) - See all my reviews
Please please please do not buy this movie ! I am a big fan of danny dyer but I can honestly say that this is the worst movie I have ever seen . In short this film is about a group of friends who find a open hatch in the middle of the forrest . Once they decide to go down , the hatch is shut behind them . The threat of what could happen is their for a while as there is no way out and their is obviously something or someone down their with them . So I cant deny that I was enjoying it to a point but then we find out whats after them . So after twenty minutes of being chased round and round in circles by a green light I was loosing intrest fast . So is one of the group the killer ? is it some creature ? , no its a bunch of geneticaly modified ninjas ! If your looking for gore , there is none , if your looking for scares , there is none . What was danny dyer doing in this movie ?! I can admit that I enjoy cheesey horror movies and it takes alot to disapoint me but seriously this movie sucks ass !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of money...., 11 Sep 2010
This review is from: Basement [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Hello being a Danny Dyer fan I thought what the hell and bought it. I had already read the reviews but thought against their advice and took a gamble. Well the gamble I had taken never paid off. If this was supposed to be some sort of horror then when did the horror start? I bit of a fight scene and a little blood, well I have seen more blood when I cut myself shaving each day... This should tell you all. I am only giving it 1* this is for Mr Dyer and thats all. Please do not waste your time and money on this as you will be totally disappointed..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Basement, 18 Oct 2012
This review is from: Basement [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
what a load SxxT, again danny (am from london so i must be hard) head down walk with a swagger and a 3/4 Leather jacket on
and thats it(WELL you must be hard then) in the film well any of his films, dont give him a name just call him Danny, cause every film he's in he just plays the same part, (Oright tregull), the film was rubbish, would have been great if you had left him out.
now his doing a thing on tv talking to the old east end mob, like he's on a par with them, anyway it's the best comedy on sky. he should do a show with dave courtney in and Ian freeman, they would have him as the TEA BOY. come and earn your bones here in Scotland,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible film, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basement [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
*SPOILERS ALERT*

This has to be one of the most depressing films I've ever seen. Terrible script, terribly shot, and a terrible set.

The story is simple: A group of friends find a metal hatch in the middle of the forest and decide to explore. Once down there the metal hatch closes, locking them in. Soon they discover that they are not alone down there.

It sounds like rather intriguing, and I think it could be a good film, but due to a bad script and a storyline that goes from simple to a jumbled mess, the film fails to entertain.

I think one of the problems with Basement is that it doesn't know where it stands. It starts off as a Horror, then ends as a Science Fiction. And having the enemies as ninjas doesn't help either!

Jimi Mistry's character does make the film less boring with his sarcastic attitude, which brings quite a comic relief to it. Danny Dyer's character is all over the place due to the terrible plot.

I would recommend avoiding it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars the worst film ever !!!!!, 24 July 2011
This review is from: Basement [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I never seen a worse film than this and i've seen some awful piles of c**p .. But this takes the biscuit , the story is so lame it's shocking , the acting makes "the only way is Essex" seem oscar worthy . I cant strongly enough state how bad this is , it's crud, minging , cack ,pants ... IT SUCKS BIG TIME !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Paper thin that goes from bad to worse, 13 Mar 2011
I have to agree with some of the previous reviews, story is nonexistent etc. I bought this on blu-ray, and i must say that I was really annoyed with the picture quality which was worse than some old DVD's that i have. I understand why you can get this for £5, so i guess I got what i paid for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy this film!!!, 2 Nov 2010
This review is from: Basement [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Seriously - I wonder whether this film is a wind-up - maybe they are trying to achieve cult status. It is truly terrible in every respect. The script is rubbish. The actors say their lines as if they are reading them off eachothers foreheads. The direction lamentable. The whole package edited into an incoherent rambling waste of time. I mean, at some point, someone involved in this movie must have sat down to watch the whole thing (demanding though such a chore would be).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Test Department, 29 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basement [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Five anti-war protesters, on their way back from a demonstration, stop for a toilet break in an isolated forest. Two of their party, Derek and Saffron go missing, the others find their coats at the entrance to a mysterious underground shelter. The others descend the steps to find their missing friends, only to find the door shutting above them. They are now all trapped in the strange bunker, and attempt to unravel exactly where they are, and if they are there by accident or design. They also soon discover that they are not alone...
One day an interesting horror thriller will be made incorporating the Iraq war and all its ramifications. Unfortunately this isn't it. Recent British horror and science fiction films such as Heartless, The Disappeared, S.N.U.B and The Dead Outside have been of an excellent standard and therefore the bar has been set very high. This doesn't even begin to reach their collective heights.
I'm afraid that all the plot consists of is various characters running around a series of dingy corridors shouting and swearing at eachother. If there was some semblance of a plot carrying their actions forward, so be it, but the so called twists and turns in this film are telegraphed a mile off, and the 'suprise' denouement is also a bit of a damp squib. I'm no great fan of Danny Dyer as an actor, but he is capable of far better than this as he delivers a shocker of a performance as Gary. Jimi Mistry is wasted as Derek, and nobody really stands out from the crowd. It would have helped if the characters were more well rounded, allowing the audience to identify with them.
Alas this is a film that outstays its welcome even though it is only an hour and a quarter long. One for British horror/thriller completists only. 2 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Basement [DVD] [2010]
Basement [DVD] [2010] by Danny Dyer (DVD - 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews