Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Normans
This is an absolutely first class series which I greatly enjoyed and recommend unreservedly. One thing it could have made clearer while speaking of the supposedly 'mixed' racial origins of the English population however, is that the Normans, Saxons, Jutes and Danes were all closely related Germanic tribes, who were all originally from the same region of...
Published on 2 Sep 2010 by C. W. Bradbury

versus
24 of 69 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing
I read a few reviews on this DVD before I purchased it and thought it might be a little slow but being an avid historian I thought it was worth a look! This DVD is very, very, dry. It is full of superfluous "atmospheric" shots of trees and birds which really don't bring anything to the video. The presentation is generally quite dull and pretty boring. I have only managed...
Published on 9 Dec 2010 by Pete


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Normans, 2 Sep 2010
By 
C. W. Bradbury (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Normans [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absolutely first class series which I greatly enjoyed and recommend unreservedly. One thing it could have made clearer while speaking of the supposedly 'mixed' racial origins of the English population however, is that the Normans, Saxons, Jutes and Danes were all closely related Germanic tribes, who were all originally from the same region of Scandinavia/Northern Germany. The only significant differences between them were actually linguistic/cultural not racial; IE:- Saxon 'fashion' encouraged long hair and moustouches, the Normans had a type of 'skinhead' crop, while the Vikings wore their hair braided. An excellent DVD which illustrates these close genetic ties is:- Face of Britain [DVD] which is centred around a landmark reseach project carried out by Oxford University geneticist Sir Walter Bodmer. He and his team have created the most detailed DNA map of Britain ever, and show us, I quote:- "exactly who our ancestors were, where they came from and what they looked like.". This highly informative 155min 3 part series is the perfect companion to The Normans and I unconditionally recommend both as highly informative educational entertainment.
The Normans [DVD]
Face of Britain [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never dull, and a great introduction to the Normans, 6 Mar 2011
By 
Isis (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Normans [DVD] (DVD)
"The Normans" is a truly excellent starting point. For the layperson, who probably only recognises the date and William's name, it's a chance to be introduced to the full story and some of the factors that affected events and motivations that drove the leading players. For me, it provided a loose overview of the background involved, explaining why the Normans were distinct from the rest of France, and it refreshed my memory of the events of the Norman conquest.

The visuals are shot just right. Bartlett presents key scenes to us, and stands present at the key locations and surviving artefacts, placing such items and locations in context today, but at the same time we are equally treated to languorously lingering close ups of the artefacts, sweeping shots of the buildings, and a few abstract shots of extras in period clothing but thankfully no low budget third rate acting. Bartlett is an excellent choice of presenter. He clearly knows what he's talking about, and can add interesting detail to proceedings whilst at the same time engaging the viewer. I found the supporting music cast just right; the tone of it suited the subject matter, and furthermore it did not overwhelm the dialogue - there are increasing complaints of programmes whose music drowns out the dialogue of the presenter or otherwise overwhelms and spoils certain elements of the programme. The programme was both informative and entertaining, and the one addition I would have liked to have seen would have been a genealogical graphic explaining Rollo's connection to William the Conqueror.

Some history documentaries have a tendency to feel slow, dry, or drag in places even though they are informative. This series does not, and engages throughout. It should also be commended for presenting a new side to the Normans that has not often been in the public consciousness - the fact that the Normans also had an effect on states and cultures outside of England, even dramatically so across Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-Written, Well-Presented, Beautifully Shot, 20 Dec 2011
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Normans [DVD] (DVD)
This excellent series is not just a history of the Norman conquest of England; it's scope is much wider. It is presented by Professor Robert Bartlett.

Each one-hour episode of the three-part series can be split into two distinct halves. Episode one, MEN FROM THE NORTH, shows how a band of Viking pirates became a major political force in its first half; whilst the second focuses on the conquest of England up to and including the Battle of Hastings. (I would have preferred the former to have occupied a while episode, since it is so vital as to what followed later.) The second hour, CONQUEST, whilst beginning with the death of William, actually addresses the resulting conquest of England in the first half - a conquest of culture as much as by force - and the differing later conquests of Scotland, Wales, and Ireland in the second. NORMANS OF THE SOUTH is the title of the third episode, where Bartlett explores their legacy in the Mediterranean and the Middle East. The first half looks at southern Italy and Sicily; the second at the First Crusade.

Bartlett has a neat turn of phrase. For example: "They came, they saw, they conquered. Then they married the locals, learned the language, and assimilated themselves out of existence." Not only well-written and well-presented, the series is also beautifully shot. On the latter, I particularly enjoyed the instance of the blades of a modern windfarm in Normandy being used as a metaphor of the blades of swords in battle. The series's music is also worthy of note; though, alas, uncredited, it has an epic cinematic quality that perfectly matches the story to be told.

Thankfully, the series engages only minimal attempts at dramatic reconstruction; it is no docudrama (though is that the facial features of Bartlett himself on the dead body of William the Conqueror?). Bartlett skilfully employs the words of contemporary chroniclers and other documents in his argument. He also alludes to other means of communication - such as art, architecture, and archaeology (for example coins) - in trying to understand the Norman mind; and, of course, there is the Bayeux Tapestry.

All this praise is not to say that there are no problems. For instance, the Vikings were not and are not renowned for being especially proficient with the horse or for building in stone, yet Bartlett provides no explanation as to why the Normans became great cavalrymen whilst those in England's Danelaw (for example) did not, or whence the Normans obtained their love of motte and bailey castles. There are, too, some anachronisms; when Bartlett talks of the Domesday Book, I spotted a quick sight of the Luttrell Psalter, and we witness gothic arches on screen when Bartlett refers to the cathedral-building of the Normans.

In the series Bartlett argues that the compilation of Domesday Book was a direct result of King William's need for more money. Dr Stephen Baxter, though, in the hour-long `extra' episode on this disc, sees Domesday as being more in the mould of providing security of title, whilst at the same time confirming William as the legal heir to Edward the Confessor and all landholders being dependent on him. Maybe, but why did William need this? I think Baxter's argument against Domesday being a tax document, whilst interesting, is flawed.

The prerogative of the young, Baxter is brasher than Bartlett. He clearly knows his stuff but is less magisterial. There are problems too: Gloucester Cathedral was not such in 1085, and the Domesday inventory was not "down to the last pig". (This is hype and Baxter knows this.) Nevertheless, this is a good detailed look at Domesday. Along the way we learn, for example, how parchment is made.

There is no book to accompany Bartlett's series, but for those wishing to explore the Norman world of England in print, Bartlett's contributory volume to the New Oxford History of England is also worth five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super and informative history Documentary, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Normans [DVD] (DVD)
Wow, This gives a fantastic interpretation. If you want an amazing interpretation of many of the roots of our recent history this is a must see series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Les normands, 12 Dec 2010
By 
Duran (Pays-Bas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Normans [DVD] (DVD)
Not ignoring as a French the french part of the "Normands" history (Normandy...etc), I found it extremely interesting to discover the rest of their incredible and fascinating story in :Sicily, Palestine etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Normans [DVD] (DVD)
Having recently renewed my interest in English Medieval history I bought 'The Normans' and was very pleased with my buy. Robert Bartlett , I found, presented very well and being a very learned about this era, was not patronising. Definitely a DVD to watch and rewatch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HISTORY AT ITS BEST, 19 Jun 2013
By 
G. G. Willson (Hayling Island, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Normans [DVD] (DVD)
This production is a little gem. Its gorgeous to look at and kept me captivated from start to finish. Prof. Bartlett is a natural presenter whose authority on the subject delightfully and completely engages. Dr Stephen Baxter also adds to the magic with his presentation of the Domesday Book. I cannot praise this lesson in History enough. Do yourself a favour pour a glass of your favourite tipple make yourself comfortable and prepare for a rare treat . Outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Stormin' Norman(s)', 13 April 2013
By 
B. L. Potter "Trent Barton" (Cambridge, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Normans [DVD] (DVD)
Very well produced and informative documentary, with a great insight to the origins of The Normans and their subsequent effect on Great Britain, which they changed forever !. A great record for any budding historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand History, 28 April 2011
This review is from: The Normans [DVD] (DVD)
The Normans was a brilliant bit of television when it was aired. History came to life for me watch the series and watching it again on DVD has been a treat. The documentary focuses on the story of the Normans throughout their history. This is more than the nth retelling of the norman conquest of britain - there is a significant history behind the Normans and it is actually really very exciting. I am realy engaged by a documentary when it's more than just a series of dry facts - as history can often be presented. Here history is a grand tale, throughly engaging and fascinating. Professor Bartlett does a great job of enthusing about his subject and we get to visit some great places. I can't really enthuase about this programme enough.

I was less engaged by Doomsday but it is still a superb programme. Dr Baxter is actually very personable and i like that he challenges current theories openly. It's an interesting programme but the Doomsday book in isolation just doesn't have the grand scope of The Normans. What this programme does do well is illustrate the real impact of the norman invasion. I found it surprising and refreshing in a lot of ways and these two programmes together definitely work extremely well.

If you have never been grabbed by Norman History, this programme could well change your outlook. I say give it a go. They are high quality documentaries, packed with information and a worth addition to anyone's shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our Ancestors, 23 Aug 2010
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Normans [DVD] (DVD)
Myself, I know that I have Celtic, Anglo-Saxon and Norman ancestry, so this series on the Normans I found very engrossing. Professor Robert Bartlett takes us back to the day when the Normans started to gain power in France and then on to their conquests and legacies. Like the Vikings, who the Normans are descended from, they were bloodthirsty, gained power by force and brutality, and then assimilated with the native population. Consequently, due to this they haven't left as much evidence behind them as some other cultures, but what they did leave have been castles and churches, problems that still resonate today, and the beginnings of our law and culture.

From their rise to power in France, onto the conquest of our country in 1066, Professor Bartlett then takes us on to where they played an influential role in the Crusades and the Middle East. Taking in the Bayeaux Tapestry and the Domesday Book, as well as their building work and tactics you really feel that you can get to grips with these people. Of course these people also left a legacy that is felt to this day, with such problems as Ireland and unrest in the Middle East; after all Fundamentalists still cite the crusades. This group of people also kidnapped the Pope to get their ends, so some could say that they weren't all bad. I like many others, my relatives included, love looking at the castles, churches and cathedrals they left behind. I am an atheist, but I love a good building.

Professor Bartlett, unlike some in academia has a down to earth approach and is obviously very knowledgable and enthusiastic on this subject, and that comes across. Indeed it is a pleasure to listen to him, and when this was on tv I was rivetted to the screen. If you are interested in history or just the Normans, then this is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Normans [DVD]
The Normans [DVD] by Robert Bartlett (DVD - 2010)
8.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews