Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm and Gentle, 3 Oct 2010
By 
Honey Twam Ham (Neath, South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jam and Jerusalem - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love Jam and Jerusalem. Admittedly it does take a while to get into as this is far slower and gentler than Jennifer Saunders' other sitcoms. There is a greater depth within the writing this time as there are far more serious moments within all three series (which I shant tell you of course!). It's so good to see a cast that gel together and there is no awkwardness among the cast, it just looks natural - and they are all popular celebrities that make each character their own. What is even better is that the DVDs contain the specials that were also aired and some also contain picture galleries. All three series are definitely light and gentle and admittedly not 'a laugh a minute' but that works in this! It's definitely one to watch and treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising comedy with touches of drama, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Jam and Jerusalem - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
It takes an episode or two to get used this this comedy/drama from Jennifer Saunders. I wasn't quite sure at first how to take some of the characters - particularly Dawn French. But I warmed to this heartfelt comedy set in a small Westcountry village. The stories of the women of the WI are entertaining, but also tinged with a touch of sadness.

Sue Johnston is superb in this series... the glue that holds the whole thing together. Dawn French - endearing as always and Jennifer Saunders one liners were well timed and added nice touches to lighten some serious moments.

Well worth buying and sitting back and relaxing at home with. We found after we navigated the first episode or two we wanted to watch all the way through. For fans of French and Saunders this is a must, but also worth purchasing if you like a good well acted, well scripted comedy that also has a lot of heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality Jam, 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: Jam and Jerusalem - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Fabulously written and beautifully perfomed this gentle comedy has the feel good factor. Revolving around a group of women in a local village, the storylines explore their differences and similarities, but ultimately show that the bond of friendship is stronger than anything. Definitely one to watch when you need to lift your spirits and feel the world is a good place. The whole cast shine.You will laugh and cry- sometimes at the same time- but you will feel a warm glow when its finished that makes you want to see it all over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!, 27 April 2013
This review is from: Jam and Jerusalem - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
An absolutely brilliant series! Jennifer Saunders writing delivers on so many levels, its funny, sad and heartwarming with some wonderful characters.
I wish the BBC would commission another series as it was just what T.V needed, a cosy, unoffensive but fantastically funny programme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fabulous!, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Paul Turner (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jam and Jerusalem - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely loved it! Wonderful, eccentric characters who you really grow to love, played by an equally wonderful ensemble of comic actors. Leaves you wanting more, but at least if you own it, you can re-watch when you get J&J withrawal symptoms!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did I miss this?, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jam and Jerusalem - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I don't remember this coming on television but I'm so glad I caught up with this now. Depsite the sugary-looking cover and soppy name, this is very adult humour delivered by a myriad cast of some of Britain's most famous and talented tv comedians. I'm very pleasantly surprised - this is a comedy gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars jam and jerusalem, 19 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. M. A. Smith "mave the rave" (nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jam and Jerusalem - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
top rate writers and actors should become a hope to see more of the same idid not eat all the cheese
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knitted Coffins, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jam and Jerusalem - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
This boxed set comprises all three series of `Jam and Jerusalem', as well as the Christmas Special for the first series.

The focus of this witty drama set in a Devon country town is the recently-widowed Sally, played by Sue Johnston. In the opening episode she tells her best friend Tip (Pauline McLynn) to kill her if she ever joins the local Women's Institute. Tip agrees, stating that not only will she kill her, she will also knit her a coffin. This gives an idea of the kind of humour that permeates this gentle but often wickedly-funny series.

Other highlights include Caroline, the equivalent of the lady-of-the-manor, played expertly by the writer of the series, Jennifer Saunders. Caroline lives in the manor house and her husband John (never seen) earns oodles of money in the City, but rather than play the character as somebody imperious, instead she carries a subtle naivety that sees her talk in all innocence about going dogging down by the river, cottaging in Norfolk, rimming, and having a spit-roast. Her son `Mikey' (again never seen) is a pop star, and so Caroline can express casual annoyance about Sting playing his lute and Trudy reading her poems.

It's not all comedy, though, as serious relationships have their ups and downs. The town's WI itself appears always to be on the edge of collapse: what would they do without the ever-resent Pauline to stand in at short notice because the lecturer they had booked was unable to make it?

Don't be put off by Dawn French's take on `Sybil', a woman with multiple personalities. Dawn French's character is fun but nave Rosie; but under pressure she becomes the formidable and no-nonsense Margaret. There are hints that the origins of this transformation are due to some childhood trauma. Viewers new to the series might find Dawn French's brazen in-your-face interpretation disconcerting to begin with - I did - but things settle down as the series progress, and in fact there are some fantastic and wickedly comic moments between Rosie and the pompous vicar played with a straight-faced by the brilliant Patrick Barlow.

I am a Devonian born and bred - indeed, one line of my ancestry comes from the very town (North Tawton) in which the series was filmed - so I can appreciate how some of the accents in the series are a bit dodgy. Nevertheless, these tales of a group of middle-aged women in a small Devon town is not that far from the truth: as well as the comedy and the heartache, there is much warmth to be experienced too.

Apart from the Christmas special, there are - alas! - no extras. One would have liked to have known why Steve Bendelack directed no more than the first episode, and it would have been nice to have seen what must have been many outtakes, particularly in scenes comprising only Rosie and the vicar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jam and Jerusalem - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
The whole series was great and included the Christmas special which I missed first time round.
Not easy to find the Christmas Special though, had to go into the extra's to find it at end of first series.
Highly recommend to anyone with a sense of humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Series 1,2,3 of Jam & jerusalem., 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jam and Jerusalem - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I have already given my opinion of this series, & noted that the language in No.3 was increased from the last of Series on BBC TV., probably because it was after the 9 shedule & on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab670ec4)

This product

Jam and Jerusalem - Series 1-3 [DVD]
Jam and Jerusalem - Series 1-3 [DVD] by Sue Johnston (DVD - 2010)
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews