Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Homo Reptilia" - The Dream Lord and the Silurians
This is the third volume of the fifth series of `Doctor Who' starring Matt Smith as the Doctor and Karen Gillan as Amy Pond with Arthur Darvill as Rory Williams. This contains two stories spread across three episodes. The first story is a one-parter that's a psychologically character-driven drama in a dream world; and the second is a two-part story featuring the return of...
Published 7 months ago by Tim Bradley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Of Dream Lords and Silurians!
Well, if you've already seen the original broadcasts then you will already be wise to the three episodes (7, 8 and 9 ). This is half-way through the series. Personally I like the darkness of Amy's Choice and its denouement and the foretelling the demise of one of the main characters. Toby Jones gives a wonderful performance as the menacing Dream Lord? But Who is he...
Published on 6 Sept. 2010 by Mr. Gavin L. Hughes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars got this for my children didnt think I'd like it as david tennant my favourite doctor and catherine ..., 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
got this for my children didnt think I'd like it as david tennant my favourite doctor and catherine tate my fave companion. I now prefer Matt smith and Arthur Darvill who plays Rory. really good series loved every minute of it more than my children !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice..., 23 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wot can one say, yet more fantastic Doctor who. i love the theme music too, 100% alround good fun just like it should be, well done BBC for giving back The Doctor.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who - Series 5, 2 Aug. 2011
By 
Res Maria Eugenia (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it, even though I am a die-hard David Tennant fan. Carries on in the spirit of Dr Who
and the stories are fresh and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic ..as always, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to see the early ones of Matt Smith again. Know will get watched many times by my Dr Who mad boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid stuff & much better than most television writing!, 13 July 2010
By 
What works best when watching any Who whether 'Classic' or 'Nu' is to just view it as a piece of television and in this context these three episodes work beautifully. I'm always pleased and flattered that the series' producers put something as challenging as 'Amy's Choice' slap bang in the middle of pleb primetime Saturday TV schedules - lets face it it's gazillions of brain cells stronger than any Dec or Ant or The Z-Factor! It's a triumph for human intelligence that these things happen!! 'Amy's Choice' is probably one of the best ever Who stories it's nicely complex but still very engaging on a human level. And how brilliantly chilling and underacted is The Dreamlord? Toby Jones - such class! 'The Hungry Earth' & 'Cold Blood' are spot on examples of television writing - forget the Pertwee similarities in plot etc... these stories are for a brand new audience who know nothing of BBC in 1970 and therefore work very well in their own right. Lovely scenes abound in this 2 parter - Nasrene's introduction to the Tardis is a gem and she interacts well with the Doctor, Alaya's body being brought in was quite powerful and I still love the hippy 70s message of living together in peace - get ya kaftans out! Good to see the solid Robert Pugh back on TV too. The Doctor and the Dyslexic boy was a smart touch as well. Though, not too sure about the new look Silurians but liked their aggressive female warriors - nice/sexy moves!Don't listen to me just
watch and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not good, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a hug whovian but I must say that the episodes with the silurians in are just awful, I hated them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, Its Changed... Deal., 8 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since the revival, Doctor Who has been a well scriped, realistily edited, excellantly casted family drama (Bar some off moments,but thats to be expected). This volume,and infact the whole of series five, is no exception.

Yes, the program has been revamped- with new opening titles, writers and cast- witch I know a few people have problems with- but if Doctor Who didn't change and (exuse the pun) regenarate, it simply wouldn't be Doctor Who. So if people cannot accept that David Tennant (as fantastic as he was) and other cast and crew members have been replaced, and for that reason scorn the new series, It is they who are missing out on the drama, great acting and thought out plot lines of this program. My advise? Watch the series with an open mind- and try not to constantly compare the new Doctor- Matt Smith- with the old. They are different incarnations- so Matt is not a clone of David. Deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment for kids, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for kids who have enjoyed watching again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More great Dr Who, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can one say about Dr Who that hasn't already been said, it just gets better and better. You don't have to be a kid to enjoy it. The stories are great, whether set in past, present or future, it's good triumphing over evil with all the emotions possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who and the Thrills of Creative Writing and the Disappointment of Recycled Storytelling, 27 Aug. 2012
By 
Dickie "The Bear" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Following the entertaining 'Vampires in Venice' the fifth series takes an unexpected but welcome shift in structure by permanently having 2 companions. It's bold in the sense that it breaks away from New Who tradition but it isn't new as the classic series started with multiple companions until 1970 then not seen again until Peter Davisons' time in the Tardis. But enough Doctor Who history, this set features another highlight of the series and, unfortunately, the biggest disappointment also.

Getting the negative out of the way first is the return of the Silurians, one of the monsters I was most looking forward to especially since the Jon Pertwee story is such a classic and the close relation 'The Sea Devils' is my personal favourite of the classic series. 'The Hungry Earth' and 'Cold Blood' is a showcase of how far Doctor Who has come in terms of monster designs and also visual effects, I love the new Silurian design and I appreciate a monster that isn't just mindless and driven to kill by design but also has depth, intelligence and in someways, sympathy but not overly sentimental. But that is where the praise ends because as much as the designs and visual effects stand out, this is essentially the same story told in the two mentioned stories above from the classic series except in a shorter time span which doesn't help it at all. I particularly hate the negotiation scene where the Doctor acts as mediator between humans and Silurians which is just stupid in both its naivety and predictability. It's the same sort of nonsense when Russell T Davies included a reference to President Obama (new at the time and riding a wave of popularity he has since lost) who was about to 'cure' the economic recession. I hate things like that with a passion. The 'twist' at the end of the story is also sort of let down by the previous story 'Amy's Choice' which I will not spoil here for anyone who hasn't seen it. It was a promising story and while aspects do impress, for established Whovians, this feels like small scraps of an older and better story.

'Amy's Choice' is easily the highlight of the set and a unique twisty story that sort of brings Amy's character towards a centre point which resolves her conflicts throughout the series so far. The episode is very creative, imaginative and a great thriller of the series so far with excellent performances from the whole cast. The story shifts between a powered down Tardis and a rural English village, one is a dream world and the other is the real world but both have threats. The only way to survive is to kill themselves in the dream world to escape and save themselves for real in the real world. But things are made only more complicated by the presence of the menacing Dream Lord (a superb Toby Jones) who undermined the trio and makes their ultimate decision that much harder. To say much might spoil it so I'll only say it's another series highlight that gets better with each viewing and is the best episode on this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£4.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews