Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Homo Reptilia" - The Dream Lord and the Silurians
This is the third volume of the fifth series of `Doctor Who' starring Matt Smith as the Doctor and Karen Gillan as Amy Pond with Arthur Darvill as Rory Williams. This contains two stories spread across three episodes. The first story is a one-parter that's a psychologically character-driven drama in a dream world; and the second is a two-part story featuring the return of...
Published 6 months ago by Tim Bradley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Of Dream Lords and Silurians!
Well, if you've already seen the original broadcasts then you will already be wise to the three episodes (7, 8 and 9 ). This is half-way through the series. Personally I like the darkness of Amy's Choice and its denouement and the foretelling the demise of one of the main characters. Toby Jones gives a wonderful performance as the menacing Dream Lord? But Who is he...
Published on 6 Sept. 2010 by Mr. Gavin L. Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Homo Reptilia" - The Dream Lord and the Silurians, 14 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the third volume of the fifth series of `Doctor Who' starring Matt Smith as the Doctor and Karen Gillan as Amy Pond with Arthur Darvill as Rory Williams. This contains two stories spread across three episodes. The first story is a one-parter that's a psychologically character-driven drama in a dream world; and the second is a two-part story featuring the return of one of the Doctor's oldest enemies - the Silurians!

`AMY'S CHOICE'

I remember watching this episode of `Doctor Who' in 2010 when I; my mum and dad watched Series 5 with Matt Smith at my nana's house. I really like this episode. This is an episode I can safely say I enjoyed very much and it's definitely a story that explored more of the characters of the Doctor, Amy and Rory that I found was rare in the current series. Some may not get this episode, but I found it pretty interesting and captivating.

`Amy's Choice' is an episode written by comedy writer Simon Nye, surprisingly his only contribution to the world of `Doctor Who'. This story is about dreams and the Doctor, Amy and Rory trapped in them and trying to figure out how they can escape from their dreams by trying to find the right one which is the proper reality.

The story starts off where five years on Amy is now married to Rory, is now heavily pregnant and both live in their home village of Leadworth. The Doctor turns up to reunite with his old friends after what seems like many years. But the three soon realise that it's all been a dream and when they wake up they find themselves in the TARDIS. But that is also a dream and when they wake up they're back in Leadworth. This is a trap set up by the mysterious `Dream Lord'. Which is the dream and which is reality? - Leadworth in the future or the TARDIS? The Doctor, Amy and Rory have to make a decision, but it's going to be tricky when there are dangers in both realities. This is a decision that will mean a hard and terrible choice for Amy Pond.

I found this story to be innovative and pretty in switching between dreams. Some may find this hard to follow - my parents certainly did when watching it. But I actually like the way the writer Simon Nye tells this story by making the Doctor, Amy and Rory debate about what is real and what's the dream and the trio never agreeing with each other and always becoming indecisive. It's also explores more about what Amy and Rory want with their lives as to whether they should travel with the Doctor or have their married lives in the future.

I like the episode's focus on the Doctor, Amy and Rory as characters. I was hoping this would be this new team set-up from now on with three people in the TARDIS. Rory had recently joined the Doctor and Amy, and they were the only regulars confirmed for the rest of Series 5. I was getting to like the Doctor, Amy and Rory set up as it was a nice change and idea to have a married couple in the TARDIS with Amy and Rory joining the Doctor. I wondered how it was going to develop.

I enjoyed Matt Smith's Doctor in this adventure. The Doctor's focus is for Amy and Rory and it's clear he's very fond of both of them. He quickly realises something's wrong with the two dreams they're experiencing and even he can't make up his mind up which dream's real or not. He finds the Leadworth village dull and suspects the pensioners to be `very old'. I like it when the Doctor's driving a caravan in Leadworth or when he's explaining to Amy and Rory about a cold star in the TARDIS. I also like the scenes he shares with Amy during some emotional tense moments.

I think this is a pretty good episode for Amy, played by Karen Gillan. Amy's not my favourite `Doctor Who' companion, but I felt in she certainly showed some depth that I found rare in this story. Amy gets to have two lives - one in the TARDIS and one in Leadworth. I don't like the way she looks being heavily pregnant ("You've swallowed a planet!" the Doctor says). Amy keeps getting false alarms when the baby comes. I like how the Dream Lord's challenges Amy's choice and it's not necessarily choosing between the two dreams as it's more about the Doctor and Rory - her `two boys'.

Arthur Darvill as Rory stands out really well as a character in this episode. Rory previously joined the TARDIS in 'The Vampires of Venice'. Like Amy, he gets to have two lives - in the TARDIS and in Leadworth, married to Amy. In Leadworth, Rory grows a ponytail. I like how Rory's unsure whether Amy prefers the Doctor or him. He's wondering why she's delaying on marrying him. I like how Rory protects Amy as his wife in the future, and keeps saying `sorry' to her by dragging her up the stairs. Rory gets to whack a woman pensioner with a plank of wood in this story.

Toby Jones is the main guest star in this story playing the Dream Lord. Toby has appeared in the first `Dark Eyes' series with Paul McGann's Doctor in Big Finish. The Dream Lord is a mysterious character who taunts and makes fun of the Doctor, Amy and Rory. He's set this trap for them in working out what's the dream and what's real. He has a strong connection to the TARDIS and a strong connection to the Doctor, though the Doctor doesn't reveal to Amy and Rory who the Dream Lord is until the very end. Who is the Dream Lord really, do you think?

There are some unfriendly pensioners in the future version of Leadworth of Amy, Rory and the Doctor's dream. These pensioners are actually aliens who have taken on their form called the Eknodine. These pensioners have green eyes in their mouths and can turn people into dust by using poisonous liquid. I found it pretty horrifying when I saw the pensioners looking horrific with their mouths open and revealing those green eyes in their mouths. They chase after the Doctor, Amy and Rory in the village which makes things pretty tense as they try to escape either in a butcher's shop or Amy and Rory's house during the story.

I like how we come back to the village of Leadworth following its first appearance in 'The Eleventh Hour' and bringing a sense of homeliness to Amy and Rory, taking them back to their roots. The village aspect of the story brought a familiarity to the episode having it back on Earth which I liked, and reminded me a bit of `The Stockbridge Trilogy' from Big Finish which I also liked. I also liked the chase sequences in the village when the Doctor, Amy and Rory were escaping from the alien pensioners on foot or in the caravan.

Rory gets killed by one of the pensioners Mrs Poggit, played by Audrey Ardington and turns into dust before Amy. Amy is heartbroken and upset, and asks the Doctor to bring Rory back. But the Doctor can't. Amy makes her mind up and decides Leadworth is the dream, since she can't accept it as a reality and doesn't want it since Rory is dead and all she wants is to see Rory again. So she, with the Doctor in the van, commits suicide by driving and crashing it into the house.

In the end, all three wake up in the TARDIS still alive as Amy made the right choice picking the right reality. The TARDIS is frozen all over; and so are the Doctor, Amy and Rory on their way to the cold-star. I do like that moment when Amy in her frozen state embraces Rory seeing him alive; and Rory is startled but delighted by the embrace. It shows how much Amy really loves Rory as the choice she made was out of love.

The story finishes with the Doctor blowing up the TARDIS, since both realities were false and they escape from being blown up in the cold-star. I like it when the Doctor explains to Amy and Rory who the Dream Lord was and what really happened. I also it like it when Amy reveals to Rory about the choice she made and how she did out of love for him which allows them both to confess their love for one another. It's a lovely moment, and it's a relationship I was looking forward to see develop in future episode at the time watching the series.

So `Amy's Choice's has been a great episode to watch. It's quite a complex story and you need to pay attention to follow what's going on between both dream worlds. But if you like really good character development, there's plenty of it as more is explored between the Doctor, Amy and Rory and how their relationships and friendships are tested between each other. It's one of the rare episodes that achieves this properly in the entire Matt Smith era.

The next story for the Doctor, Amy and Rory is 'The Glamour Chase'.

`THE HUNGRY EARTH' (Part 1)

I was looking forward to watching this two-part story in the two weeks it would be broadcast. I was intrigued and fascinated as this story features the return of one of the Doctor's foes from the classic series - the Silurians. I wondered what these Earth Reptiles would look like for the new series and how they would be redesigned and revitalised for a new audience. Certainly with the advent of Matt Smith's Doctor in his first season, I was hooked into seeing a proper monster story following the surreal stories by Steven Moffatt and the unsatisfying Dalek story with Winston Churchill.

The Silurians were monsters originally conceived by Malcolm Hulke. They appeared in the classic series featured in the 'Beneath the Surface' DVD box set. I had watched those three stories before watching the two-part story from Series 5. The Silurians are a reptilian species that were on the Earth before mankind. In the classic stories, they were reawakened from hibernation and were unwilling to share the planet with humanity. The Doctor in all three stories desperately tried to bring peace between two races, which ended unsuccessfully.

Now for the new series, they've come back again with the same intentions of rising from the Earth and taking over the planet by wiping out the humans. Show-runner Steven Moffatt asked writer Chris Chibnall to come up with a two-part story featuring the return of the Silurians, to which he was readily willing to do. I wondered how these new Silurians would appear and how they work in a contemporary society.

The story of this Silurian two-part begins where the Doctor, Amy and Rory arrive in Cwmtaff, Wales ten years in the future in 2020. They discover a mining operations project undergoing there with a massive drill burrowing deep. The Doctor discovers something is wrong as people are getting sucked down into the Earth deliberately and he loses Amy in the process. He also knows that while the drilling has stopped, something is drilling up from beneath. The scene is set as the Doctor faces a species of a bygone age on Earth. The Silurians are back and are not willing to share their planet with what they call `apes'.

I enjoyed Chris Chibnall's writing in this story. Chris was once head-writer of the first two seasons of `Torchwood' before coming to write these two episodes. Chris has done a good job in capturing the feel of the previous Silurian stories. Not only did he watch the original TV stories with the Silurians for inspiration, he also read the Target novelisation of the first Silurians story 'Doctor Who and the Cave Monsters' by Malcolm Hulke. From that book he was inspired to give the Silurians names that weren't given in the original TV story and also delved into exploration of character development with the Silurians. Chris also addresses the moral themes that echoed from the original Silurians stories, especially having the Doctor say to the humans, "As far as they're concerned, you're the invaders' which was something that came from the original inspiration for these creatures by Terrance Dicks and Malcolm Hulke in 1970.

When I say this first episode, I was on a planning weekend for a drama camp at the time and I watched the episode with some friends. Some say this first episode of the Silurians is rather slow and not much happening in it. That is in itself is true, but I found it gradually builds up to the whole Silurian story and we would have to wait until next week for more of the Silurian to develop.

I enjoyed watching Matt Smith as the Doctor in this adventure. I think by this point Matt has managed to find his feet with his Doctor, knowing what he wants and how to develop his character. He gets to display a range of emotions, including the shock; anger and being upset of losing Amy when she gets swallowed up by the Earth. I got a thrill when Matt's Doctor knew who these mysterious aliens were and he and Rory manage to capture one of them. Matt's Doctor gets everyone to pull together and defend themselves before the Silurians make their way up to the surface. I like the scene where the Doctor meets Alaya, the first Silurian we meet, and how they both interact with each other. The Doctor tries to be friendly and is intent on preventing a war, whilst Alaya's venomously intent on seeing the humans wiped out and wanting her race to win the war against mankind, echoing the previous stories in the classic series. I like it when the Doctor tells Alaya she's beautiful and scolds her regarding the humans, "Do we have to say "vermin"? They're really very nice."

Amy Pond, played by Karen Gillan does get captured in this episode I'm afraid. She's mostly absent when she's sucked into the ground taken away by the Silurians, which gives the Doctor a focus to bring her back for Rory. I like that first scene when she and Rory see themselves from ten years in the future waving at them. Both Amy and Rory are surprised and delighted that they're still together in the future. Like Amy I was terrified and would be feeling claustrophobic trapped in a caged cell by the Silurians and doing experiments on me. That image of Amy lying and trapped behind glass is unsettling.

I like watching Rory Williams, played by Arthur Darvill in this story. Rory takes Amy's engagement ring and leaves in the TARDIS for sake-keeping, since it's `expensive'. Rory gets easily mistaken for a policeman by Ambrose and her son Elliot, and gets to see the empty graves with coffins being sucked down into the Earth which is a mystery. Rory is angry with the Doctor for losing Amy, but quickly helps the Doctor when he needs him most. I like it when Rory and the Doctor trap the Silurian Alaya in a van; and when Rory notices its getting dark as the Silurians trapped the village of Cwmtaff in an atmospheric bubble that turns day into night.

The supporting guest cast in this episode include Meere Syal as Nasreen Chaudbhry and Robert Pugh as Tony Mack who work on the drilling project at the mining operations in Cwmtaff. There's Nia Roberts playing Ambrose, Robert Pugh's daughter (who's appeared in a Tom Baker Big Finish story `The Wrath of the Iceni'). There's Alun Raglan playing Mo, Ambrose's husband who gets sucked into the Earth first at the beginning of the episode. And there's young Samuel Davies playing Elliot, Mo and Ambrose's son. I like the scene between Elliot and the Doctor when they're talking about monsters in the church. "Are you scared of them?"; "No. They're scared of me."

The SIlurians have been redesigned for the new series of `Doctor Who'. I like the battle armour they wear and the masks hiding their faces. I'm not sure about the actual prosthetics though. The design of the Silurians' make-up is green, scaly skin. They look more human, which didn't seem right to me somehow as they don't relate to the original look of the SIlurians in their first TV story. They've don't have the third red eye anymore which is sad. Don't get me wrong, I don't mind this new look of the SIlurians. It's looks fitting for the 21st century. It's just not my favourite look for the Silurians. Neve McIntosh plays Alaya in the first episode, and is very impressive as the first Silurian that appears In the new series of `Doctor Who' and is also a female Silurian which is the first time ever in the series. Neve would return to play a recurring Silurian for the series called Madame Vastra.

The first episode ends with the Doctor joined by Nasreen Chaudbhry going off in the TARDIS to go down into the Earth to meet the Silurian tribe. Rory, Ambrose and Tony remain on the surface to look aftr Alaya and keep her alive. Alaya prophesies and taunts the humans that one of them is going to kill her and she knows which one it is. Tony also has been infected from a bite by a Silurian as green veins appear on his chest. The Doctor and Nasreen meanwhile have been dragged deep into the Earth in the TARDIS and eventually find themselves underneath the surface. The Doctor suspects that it's a small tribe of Silurians that's reawakened. But they both discover that that's a huge Silurian city before them meaning that it's an immense Silurian civilisation living beneath the planet surface of Earth...

'COLD BLOOD' (Part 2)

We get to see more Silurians in the second concluding episode of this story. Soon the Doctor and Nasreen are captured and are taken to be brutally scanned and processed. There's Restac, another female Silurian who looks like Alaya from the first episode (and is again played by Neve McIntosh). The Silurians discover the Doctor's not human and has two hearts and they eventually release him. I like how the Doctor makes reference to the first Silurian story with Jon Pertwee remembering his first meeting with the Earth reptiles and regretting the attack made by humans on them at the time.

Soon the Doctor and Nasreen are reunited with Amy and Mo who try to save them from the Silurians interrogating them in their great chamber. Restac orders the execution of the Doctor and his friends. But the execution is soon halted, as we meet for the first time another Silurian called Eldane, played by Stephen Moore (Marvin the paranoid robot of `The Hitchhikers of the Galaxy'). He's a Nelson Mandela type of character who is the officiating leader of all Silurians, and he calls Restac to stop her execution and restrain her hostility. We also meet Malohkeh, played by Richard Hope, who is a Silurian scientist and the one who revives Eldane from hibernation to stop Restac.

I'm very pleased with how writer Chris Chibnall delves into the Silurians and makes them more rounded characters. The Silurians have varying personalities and have inner conflicts with each other. They're not monsters as in previous stories, but are treated as people or creatures with some traits similar to humans. I like the military and scientific groups of Silurians having differences of opinion. The female Silurians are more aggressive than the males, especially as Restac and Alaya. There are plenty of echoes to previous Silurian stories, especially the first one with the moral issues and dilemmas set by original Silurian writer Malcolm Hulke. It works very well for today's audience.

In this episode, we have the first diplomatic meeting between humans and Silurians. Eldane sits at a table with Nasreen and Amy, chosen by the Doctor as Earth's ambassadors. They discuss and debate how the humans and Silurians can co-exist and share the planet with each other. This is a refreshing change in a Silurian story as previous stories the humans and Silurians fought each other. It's something the Third Doctor wanted in the first Slurians story. It's taken a number of regenerations to Matt Smith's Doctor to reach this point. I really thought this is where we get to have Silurians and humans living in harmony.

But as ever, it's not as idyllic as it sounds. Back on the surface, Ambrose (played by Nia Roberts) does something really terrible to jeopardize the bargaining chip she and the others have. Upset and desperate to have her family back and for her father Tony Mack to be cured of the venomous infection he carries, Ambrose begs Alaya the Silurian to tell her how to cure her dad. But Alaya is pretty mean and nasty and provokes Ambrose to inadvertently kill her. I found Ambrose's character really interesting. What Ambrose does against the Silurians is out of love to save her family. Alaya knew Ambrose would kill her since she has the most to lose making her weak. It costs everything when they're told to bring Alaya down to the Silurian city, the purpose being she would be alive.

The Doctor is pretty angry with the death of Alaya, and is desperately trying to be the peacemaker between Silurians and humans. Things are made worse when Restac discovers her sister Alaya to be dead when Ambrose becomes difficult revealing that the drill has gone back into operation and is telling the Silurians not to bother them anymore. This provokes an attack from Restac and her Silurians troops who she's revived from hibernation, and the Doctor and others make an escape.

Managing to get into Malohkek's lab (who got killed by Restac for his betrayal), the Doctor and friends with Eldane debate what to do with Restac and her troops outside. The Doctor discovers Tony's infected, and Eldane offers to remove the infection from him. The price of returning will mean that Tony will have to stay underneath and never return back home. Tony is willing to stay, and after a tearful farewell with her daughter Ambrose and his grandson, Elliot, the others make to leave. Nasreen intends to stay with Tony and not return to the surface. Sending the Silurians off to their hibernation chambers the Doctor escapes leaving Tony and Nasareen.

But as they make their way back to the TARDIS, the Doctor discovers the `crack in time' that appeared on little Amelia's wall in 'The Eleventh Hour' and has been a recurring theme in the whole of Series 5, including 'The Time of Angels'/'Flesh and Stone'. It's now appeared underground where they are. The Doctor is anxiously curious about why the crack keeps popping up everywhere he goes. Despite warnings from Amy and Rory, the Doctor fetches something from inside the crack. He's got hold of something and takes it out with a handkerchief, not knowing what he's got.

This story ends on a sad ending, as Rory gets killed trying to save the Doctor's by Restac (who didn't return to hibernation with the other Silurians). I really like Rory as a companion in `Doctor Who'. Arthur Darvill's performance has been great and he's developed Rory's character in an interesting direction being Amy's fiancée. I liked it when Rory told Ambrose he believes and trusts in the Doctor and also when he speaks for the humans when talking to Restac who's on the video screen on the surface earlier. At the time watching this, I really thought Rory was going to be another companion to join Matt Smith's TARDIS. I did not expect Rory to be killed; nor did I expect him to be erased from history by the crack in time. It seemed like Rory was never going to come back.

In the TARDIS, Amy is upset at losing Rory and the Doctor saves her by taking her in the TARDIS and leaving Rory to die and be erased from history. Amy begs the Doctor to go back for Rory, but she starts to forget her as he's being erased not just from history but from her history as well. The Doctor tries to get Amy to remember Rory and keep her memory of Rory alive. Amy finds it a struggle and can't keep Rory focused in her memory. The Doctor keeps trying to make Amy remember Rory, but after a sudden jolt to the TARRDIS she instantly forgets. This is a pretty gut-wrenching scene and moment, and I was impressed with emotional intensity displayed by the two actors Matt and Karen, especially in a well-written episode by Chris Chibnall.

The Doctor and Amy soon leave after the drill project's blown up and the Silurians are left in hibernation for a thousand years. Amy waves at her future self in the distance and it seems like it's only Amy now and not Amy and Rory in the future. But Amy could have sworn she saw somebody else, but quickly forgets. Meanwhile the Doctor, whilst telling Amy to go inside the TARDIS, checks what it was he picked up from the crack in time earlier. It turns out to be, a burned out piece of the TARDIS police box sign. What could this mean? Does the TARDIS get destroyed in the future?

I really enjoyed the Silurian two-part adventure by Chris Chibnall. It's a well-written story with an emotional intensity that harks back to the classic Silurian stories. Saying that however after watching this episode, I felt worried about what had happened to Rory. I didn't come away thinking that was a great Silurian story. At the time I was thinking, `Oh no, Rory's dead. He can't be dead. I don't want Rory to die. He was really good!" But now seeing the whole Season 5, I can definitely say this has been a great two-parter. Possibly the best out of the whole of the Matt Smith series.

There's a `Monsters File' special feature accompanying this DVD that focuses on the Silurians from the two-part Silurian story. It features interviews with Matt Smith, Karen Gillan, Steven Moffatt, Chris Chibnall, director Ashley Way, Neve McIntosh, Stephen Moore, Richard Hope, etc. I like how references are made to the classic Silurian stories comparing to how the Silurians are done for today's audience.

The next story for the Doctor and Amy is 'The Ring of Steel'. 

This DVD contains some really good episodes of `Doctor Who' from the Matt Smith era. I like the psycho-character-drama featured in `Amy's Choice' and the thrilling return of the Silurians in their two-part story reintroducing them for a new audience in `Doctor Who'. I was sad about Rory's exit from the end of the Silurian and didn't want him to go. Little did I know what would happen in the series finale later that year in 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing as always, 2 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I don't get with all the Matt Smith haters, he is a great doctor. Alright i prefere DT but MS comes a close secord and is great. Volume 3 is the weakest out of all the volumes but its still great. Amy's Choise is amazing and it really shows what a wonderful actress Karen Gillen is. I would give it 4.5 mainly because i feel Cold Blood is a bit slow but it really picks up at the end and has a great twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Of Dream Lords and Silurians!, 6 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. Gavin L. Hughes (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, if you've already seen the original broadcasts then you will already be wise to the three episodes (7, 8 and 9 ). This is half-way through the series. Personally I like the darkness of Amy's Choice and its denouement and the foretelling the demise of one of the main characters. Toby Jones gives a wonderful performance as the menacing Dream Lord? But Who is he?

The Silurian story ( The Hungry Earth, Cold Blood) might give the Silurians more depth and complexity than previous incarnations, maybe humanising them a bit too much in my view, but even Silurians involve, I suppose! Myra Syral is very good as the geophysicist and her ending unexpected!

If you buy all the new series DVDs as released as I do then you will already have bought or about to buy it. Amy's Choice is definitely better than the Silurian episodes. I'm sure some Dr. Who fans appreciate some stories more than others.

Make up your own mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Series 5 Vol. 3, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Adventures in time and space with the Eleventh Doctor and his companion Amy Pond.

Amy's Choice: A pregnant Amy Pond faces a terrible choice. Or does she? All is not as it seems...

The Hungry Earth: The reptilian Silurians are the former rulers of Earth - and they want their planet back!

Cold Blood: Mankind and the Silurians teeter on the brink of all-out war.

15 - 29 May 2010
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Series 5 - Out with a Big Bang, 28 Jun. 2010
By 
C. Disley "who fan" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Three wonderful episodes on this volume so if you don't plan on getting the full series, I would at least recommend this one and the Time of Angels two-parter. Amy's Choice was a myterious episode and had bit of the classic who feel about it. Toby Jones was some inspired casting for the character of the Dreamlord and played it quite well.

The Hungry Earth seemed a bit filler-ish for the conclusion, "Cold Blood." But nevertheess, it's worth watching as it reintroduced a new tribe of Silurians - although personally, I preferred the others. More alien-like, you see.

Cold Blood contains a balance of action and diplomacy. On the one hand, the Silurian military prepare to take over the Earth, on the other, Amy helps in negotiating peace between the two owners of the planet. But with a cry of "EXECUTE HER!" it swings into gear as the Eleventh Dctor gleefully announces that it's squeeky bum time. But I wasn't prepared for what was to come and change the course of the series...

....

The following review contains SPOILERS for the Doctor Who Series 5 finale and should be viewed with caution. You have been warned....

....

.....

.......

..........

Alas, "The Big Bang" has aired and Series 5 has come to a close. In retrospect, I have really, really enjoyed this series. Full of Doctor quirks fabulously pulled off by Matt Smith. Anyone still not rating him against previous doctors needs to ride off on their high horse and stick with repeats.

"It's a fez... I wear a fez now... fezzes are cool."

One of the great features of this series for me, was, the ending. For the first time in New Who history - we got a happy ending. No deaths, no sadness, no loss. Two companions and the same Doctor heading off into the new series on a new adventure. It put a smile on my face and that smile is still there. I only wish they kept the fez. Never gonna do it without fez on....! I'd be singing it if I could.

"You'll dream about that box..."

Matt Smith was, as ever, wonderful. Playing The Doctor really suits him and so long as the character writing level remains high, I'm happy for him to stay on for quite some time. In the meantime, put your arms in the air and wave your head about in between!

"Something old... something new... something borrowed..... something blue."

I don't think the scripts and directing have been that generous to Karen Gillan this series. A bit too much shouting for my liking. But when she gets the chance she pulls it off. There was certainly a lump in my throat as she learnt of the lone centurian watching over her for almost 2000 years.

"Say it again. One... more... time."

Alex Kingston / River Song. I love this character and this actress. Such a unique character with such mystery as we progress backwards through her timeline. I'm very much looking forward to learning a lot more about her next series (we were promised by The Moff!) but at the same time, I hope some questions are left unanswered. For example... The Doctor's name! Her stand out scene for me this series was definately confronting the lone Dalek as it cried for mercy after looking her up. She's definately hiding something, but she has a good alibi - Spoilers!

"Hang on kid. This is where it gets complicated."

The prize for the scene that made me almost fall off my seat this series goes to (you were warned of spoilers) little Amelia opening the Pandorica to reveal big Amelia... Amy. Some genius writing by Steven Moffat as we find out what happened between Amy being shot and her taking The Doctor's place in the ultimate prison... albeit confused as to why the sonic screwdriver could open so many deadlocks so easily... and quite suddenly. Regardless, Moffat even threw in some harmless time travel humor. After all, this is a show about Time... don't forget that!

"Don't worry your majesty.... we're on our way."

Extra special mention to Arthur Darvill as Rory Williams giving an excellent performance this week and providing a lot of the emotional value this series. I'm thrilled that he appears to have joined the TARDIS crew permanently as he heads off with both The Doctor and Amy (in full wedding attire!) to investigate an egyptian goddess on the loose on the Orient Express..... in space.

So it is with great sadness that I bid farewell to Doctor Who and hope that Christmas can get here that much sooner. GERONIMO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 10 July 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Before I start, just to correct the info up on the page above, the episodes are not written by Steven Moffat- Simon Nye and Chris Chibnall write these-

Amy's Choice is quite frankly brilliant- And handles everything extremely well. There is humour, action and tension- The Dream Lord is a brilliant villain, superbly acted by Toby Jones, and very well written. This was my first 10/10 for the series and is very re-watchable!

The Hungry Earth/Cold Blood two parter is a bit of a mixed bag for me;

Part One (The Hungry Earth) is pretty good. I'd give it an 8/10. It builds up very well, a great introductory first episode, with fine writing and good potential, however, I don't like Part 2.

It gets tedious, and the intro narration of the Silurian leader a thousand years in the future sucks out any tension in the story- Amy & Nasreen (A scientist at the drill) "negotiate" with these "homo reptillia" (Which is factually wrong) for the planet, which is very unrealistic. What would happen when they reach an agreement and rise to the surface, only to be ignored and shot down by the military and world leaders? Yes, indeed. The writing in Part 2 is sloppy, with two many forced pieces of emotion and sticking out plot devices- The way Ambrose kills the Silurian warrior is out of character, and comes without any prior experience to make her do so- The writer tries to write it in ("Oh, look what you've done to my dad! Tell me! Or I'll kill you!) and fails- I also found the acting from the co-stars (Not Matt, Karen & Arthur) to be lackluster

The last 5 minutes are great though, due to a reason I won't spoil if you haven't seen these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Boxed Set v individual discs, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
R. SLATER - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a set of individual discs instead of the Series 5 boxed set because it was a bit cheaper. My daughter is now upset because they won't 'fit' with the rest of the Dr Who boxed sets she has. It would have been worth the extra money to avoid the moaning - Dr Who fans are clearly more OCD than the average punter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Good Outweighs The Bad, 25 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
In this DVD, the story continues in 'Amy's Choice', by Simon Nye (Men Behaving Badly). 'Amy's Choice' begins 6 years later in a sleepy English village with The Doctor visiting a very pregnant Amy and a very pony-tailed Rory. However, nothing is as it seems as the gang wake up seconds later in the TARDIS console room... And then they're back in the village... So which one's real and which ones fake? And how would you decide if your life depended on it?
'Amy's Choice' is one of the boldest, bravest episodes of Doctor Who history, with moments that will make you laugh out loud, pensioner villains that are genuinely creepy and at the same time extremely funny and an ultimatum for Amy Pond that will break your heart!
The script is fantastic, the direction captures the true dream-like world the trio are stuck in and the acting is superb with Matt Smith and Karen Gillan taking it to the next level along with the fantastic portrayal of the Dreamlord by Toby Jones who is both utterly sinister and comic.

'The Hungry Earth' and 'Cold Blood' are this seasons (and I use the term lightly) duds! In a slow but acceptable first part, we are introduced to a Welsh mining village in the year 2020, with the biggest drill into the earth the world has even seen, led by Nasreen Choudry (Meera Syall). Soon as the Doctor, Amy and Rory arrive things begin to get a bit strange as the Earth sucks Amy underground and we learn that the Silurians (with a major face lift) are living there. In what is a slow opening episode there are often moments of great dialogue and the show is saved by Matt Smith's engaging performance. However, 'Cold Blood', in what should be a rip-roaring race against time, feels tired and dragged out, even Amy herself yawns at one point. The very end of the episode does shock, and is beautifully played by Karen Gillan (I'll say no more).
Ashley Way's direction is great and attempts to pace an episode written with no pace or little action.

The positives really outweigh the negative here with this selection, while 'Amy's Choice' is an utter triumph, The Silurian two parter isn't entirely that bad. Tweet-Tweet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dr who !, 21 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD for my little boy, he is 4 and he absolutly loves Dr Who. He has watched the dvd over and over again. He liked it so much he can tell you what is about to happen.
this dvd was excellent value for money and im very pleased with my purchase,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show to bits!, 13 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
WOW! Where did the amazing 'Amy's Choice' come from?! It's so brilliantly Doctor Who and wonderfully left of field. Toby Jones is superb and hopefully in the future will get the Oscar he so clearly deserves. Simon Nye writing for Dr Who is a sheer revelation - he certainly knows his stuff. One to watch and be gobsmacked by. Pity about the incredibly fast and slightly unconvincing denounement! The Silurian 2 parter is good solid Doctor Who story telling and not to be sniffed at. A returning monster covering old themes but brought up to date - how ironic that it deals with forming a coalition and it was screneed the weekend of the 2010 election? Again I found this an involving yarn with sympathetic characterisation and moving in places. Keep up the superlative work Moff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who  - Series 5, Volume 3 [DVD]
Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 3 [DVD] by Matt Smith (DVD - 2010)
£6.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews