Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Series
Started watching Series 3 when it started on BBC4 recently but, thought it wasn't doing much to introduce the main characters. Then the penny dropped, this must be the latest series, so I googled it and, lo and behold, this was Series 3. Still suffering withdrawal symptoms since The Killing, I hurriedly sent of for Spiral Series 1 & 2. Absolutely brilliant, couldn't watch...
Published on 15 May 2011 by weeredbull

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars someone suggested this after I watched and enjoyed "the Killing"
someone suggested this after I watched and enjoyed "the Killing" : sadly the graphic images and sex references meant that I threw it in the bin. Seedy and unpleasant compared to the clean investigations of Sarah Lund!
Published 3 months ago by P. J. Waterton


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiral - Series 1 & 2 DVD box set, 19 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic French Fliques!!! (sic) Excellent, tough, gritty realism! The French did invent the Term "Cinema Verite" after all! What a roller-coaster ride from start to finish, nail-biting climaxes, superb chases, great confrontations and intrigue all the way! Roll on Series 4, just finished watching Series 3 "Le Boucher de Villette" Fantastic, yet again! How do they keep up this incredible standard?... I don't care!
Just don't stop!!! Congratulations to Laure, Gillou, Tin-Tin, Clement and even the unbelieveably sexy, devious, money-worshipping Josephine!!... yes tonight, ha ha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In a spin, 5 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Spiral is every bit as good as I had been led to believe. Many twists and turns, keep with it. Sometimes when the characters are speaking fast it is difficult to keep up with the sub titles but well worth the effort. Great series, do not get into legal problems in France however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French cops get down and just do it, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
R. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
This French series really knocks our British cop/detective shows for six. This French team, struggling against the system and its corruption, pursue justice to the end even if they have to get down in the dirt themselves.

The characters are all believable and as fallible as the rest of us. Despite being diverted by the bureaucracy, office politics, and outside rivalries, they keep on into the villains are nicked and banged up. Makes me wonder if our own cops shouldn't get down and get dirty to get the crooks behind bars, and to hell with their 'rights'.

Gritty, unexpected, uncompromising, and definitely not afraid to step on toes, there's not drop of phony Hollywood scripting in sight. You cannot fail to fall for our tainted heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cogs of French justice system grind exceeding small, 23 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
I feel it's backfired slightly on the brilliant Spiral that series three was first transmitted in the slot vacated by The Killing on BBC4. Too many fans of the contemplative pace of the Danish series will have been dismayed by Capitaine Berthaud's sweary, sweaty, hotheaded approach to law and order and her own chaotic love life. From Faeroe Island jumpers to off-the-shoulder vests seems to have been a leap too far for some viewers.
I caught the first Spiral Series on BBC4 when it was originally transmitted and was hooked from the start.
The French are very proud of their tradition of independent examining magistrates and it's therefore not surprising that the incorruptible Juge Roban is one of the unlikely heroes of both series. Around him circle well-intentioned and overworked Crime Squad coppers, naive public prosecutors, corrupt barristers, public servants on the take and kindergarten teachers in the throes of a nervous breakdown. Berthaud's officers have to juggle several cases at once and their office is like bedlam. Some of her team go the extra mile to keep their informants happy.
Both series one and series two in very different ways show that polite Parisian society is really not far from the underworld of the concrete suburbs. Fast-paced, shocking and at times very moving, Spiral is well worth watching if you don't mind a few French cliches mixed in with your gritty police drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spiral, 1 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic series. everyone says "The French law and order" but its even better than that. Twists and turns make it very watchable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiral Up !, 8 July 2011
By 
Far Away (Phu Wiang.Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Unlike some reviews have actualy taken the trouble to watch both episodes....

.....Anyway,having run out of decent "crime drama" bought this + Wallander (UK) after seeing them recomended by amazon.whilst the pretentious Wallander/Branagh showed the value of the FF button, Spiral was a welcome delight.

OK its not ground breaking,not meant to be I suspect,but it is a very well made crime drama series with the added bonus of a look at the way things are done in La Belle France (well Paris anyway),the subtitles are not a problem,they seemed a perfectly natural way to watch/enjoy this.

Both 1 & 2 follow a similar format - a horrific crime - the subsequent investigation uncovering deeper plots.Spiral 1 is a bit of a slow burner but is amongst other things a good way to get a handle on how the French justice/investigating system works,it also features a splendidly creepy junior minister.Personaly not to keen on the ending,could have done better me thinks.Spiral 2 moves 2 years on,the main characters are still all there sporting new haircuts,promotions etc.This is much faster paced with most of the "mini stories" relating to either the main arc or a character insight - you have to watch to see what I mean !..and this time a satisfying ending.Yes !!

It may be a coincidence but shades of the DNA of Spooks/Taggart//Waking the Dead seem to be in there...I think it fair to say anyone that enjoyed these will for sure enjoy Spiral..Spiral 3 on order - can't wait !!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spiral season 1 and two, 27 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
For some time Im in the habit of watching BBC Four Crime Series Saterdaynight 22.00 GMT.; After first watching differenet Wallander series I watched the Killing, a great Danish Police Series It contains violent scenes but is built up in detail around the crime. After the Crime I watched Spiral Season Three. It is about a crime squad in the French Police in Paris. This series contains even more violent scenes. I had difficulties at first in dealing with it. The difference between the way the Police is operating in Sweden(Wallander), Denmark(The Killing) and France Paris(Spiral) is striking. Spiral differs from the first two as there are parallel secondary crime lines. Spiral shows the thin line between police operating and the criminals, it makes the human vulnerabilities clear visible as pits in which civil servants may easily tumble. The international aspects of crime are shown, as well as the difficulties to build a criminal case.
This makes all together the serie worth while to watch and to be recommended. As I watched the third season of the Spiral. I wanted to know the story of the main characters in the seasons before. The acting performance in the first season isn't over all great at the start but this improves gradually as the season's stories unfold. In the second season the main characters have evolved as robust personalities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than British TV, 21 April 2011
By 
Dean Allison (Durham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good French police/justice drama; anyone familiar with the Danish series The Killing will enjoy this although it is distinctly different.

If you are not familiar with the French justice system it may take you a little while to get your head around what's going on but hang in there the drama is worth it.

If you have seen The Killing don't expect the same thing, the Danish justice system is similar the UK system and the plot is very singular focussed.

If you haven't seen The Killing you should it's excellent, don't watch it before watching this or you will spoil yourself.

Spiral is different from The killing the plot is multi-focussed and the whole system of investigation and justice is very different from the UK.

If I'm confusing you I'm sorry, this is a very good series well worth the money and with over 16hours of entertainment on four CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiral Series 1 and 2, 28 Feb. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the first 2 seasons on DVD. I think series 1 was good but season 2 was great. In both seasons, there is a conflict between the female detective Laure Berthaud and her nemesis, Josephine Klassen, a corrupt criminal defense attorney. The tension between them is much more intense in season 2. I found the series fascinating in part because I don't know anything about the French justice system. There are a number of characters that come together by the end of the two seasons. Other reviews compare this to "The Killing". This is understandable since "Spiral" was recommended by Amazon based on my interest in "The Killing". The Danish "Killing" is also quite good, but these are very different shows. In Spiral, we have a very likable, yet flawed, Detective, who is paired against a beautiful, yet very unlikable attorney. The protagonist in "The Killing", does not let her personal life interfere with her work as a detective, quite the opposite. I actually thought Season 1 was much better than Season 2 of "The Killing". I. watch these DVD's in the USA. I found that the easiest way to watch region 2 DVD's, was to buy an external drive for about $50 that I can put into the computer and format as region 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars c'est super!, 23 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
You don't even need to be able to speak French to enjoy this series. Better than anything that's on UK TV right now and can stand side beside other comparable hit American crime dramas, maybe even a little higher if they stand on their tip toes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spiral - Series 1-2 [DVD]
Spiral - Series 1-2 [DVD] by Caroline Proust (DVD - 2010)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews