Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Series
Started watching Series 3 when it started on BBC4 recently but, thought it wasn't doing much to introduce the main characters. Then the penny dropped, this must be the latest series, so I googled it and, lo and behold, this was Series 3. Still suffering withdrawal symptoms since The Killing, I hurriedly sent of for Spiral Series 1 & 2. Absolutely brilliant, couldn't watch...
Published on 15 May 2011 by weeredbull

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Spiral series 1 & 2
I have not been able to get the subtitles to work, I have tried many times and feel frustrated that I unable to follow the story, my friends who have watched it say it is very good so I am bitterly disappointed.
Published 19 months ago by Vivienne Brooks


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Series, 15 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Started watching Series 3 when it started on BBC4 recently but, thought it wasn't doing much to introduce the main characters. Then the penny dropped, this must be the latest series, so I googled it and, lo and behold, this was Series 3. Still suffering withdrawal symptoms since The Killing, I hurriedly sent of for Spiral Series 1 & 2. Absolutely brilliant, couldn't watch them fast enough. Terrific characters and really nitty, gritty story lines. First class, hope there's more to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


230 of 241 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty, fast moving and near perfect !, 12 Jan 2011
By 
J. Tracey "filmlivesforever" (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Wow! What can I say about this series except that it is riveting! From the first episode to the last I had a very hard time being able to stop between the episodes. Unlike the formulated American dramas like 24 which leave you with artificial cliff hangers at the end of each episode this series gives you only limited information every 50 minutes and your brain has to do the work and connect the dots.

That in itself shows you how intelligent the writers are and that in itself hooks the viewer in to want to (if possible) do a marathon of all episodes all the way to the end.

Refreshing to see something not set in the UK or the US. IE: we are transported to France and NOT just to look at the Eiffel Tower.

It is gritty and the viewer feels the grit. The cops, the low life characters and even the white collar crime bosses all come across rightly so as real people you can identify with... and you get up close and personal with all of them. You absorb their lives, their problems and their mind sets. It is done impeccably.

The actors are first rate and the story moves at a marathon pace; you really can feel exhausted after watching each episode.

As the French do a lot of talking there is a lot to take in with the subtitles (as the language of course is in French) but I didn't find that an issue at all. Yes; I did have to pause and "rewind" maybe a single time in each episode but that was just to ensure I got the right combination of dots connected with the clues.

A brilliant series. A brilliant cast. Extremely well done and definitely a keeper for anyone with a dvd collection. I look forward to re watching later down the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh continental air, 2 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
British people are notoriously reluctant to read subtitles, so the roaring success of several foreign-language detective series, of which Spiral is one, tells us that we are getting pretty jaded with the home -made (sorry, Midsomer, Taggart, Lewis et al.)

The 'who dunnit' is refreshed by these new kids on the block from Scandinavia and France.

Each series of Spiral is 'stand alone' and although a few references are made to the past, you can follow the plot easily without having seen the previous series. However, as series 3 of Spiral is about to air on BBC, how useful to have the previous episodes on DVD.

According to French sources, this is the first French series the BBC has bought since Belle et Sebastien

Is it as good as the Killing? Erm, not quite. ( But then, what is? Spiral is still top quality, and think what it may do for your French! )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a French Taggart...when it was still good, 29 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After being thoroughly disappointed with The Killing - so grim - I was reluctant to give this as go. That was totally unfair. And totally unfair of the Beeb to bury it on Four like an embaressing penpal they have over on an exchange visit, while they're airing such dross on One and Two - The Shadow Line I'm looking at you!

It looks fabulous, in an understated and cool way, and, as another reviewer has commented, it has a grittiness which is so much more authentic than in many British shows. Also a nice change not to be patronised by the writers and left to read between the lines yourself.

Loved it, will almost certainly rewatch it, and would recommend it heartily to anyone who enjoys high quality crime drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spiral Series 1 and 2, 23 May 2011
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Good value, delivered promptly and enjoyable viewing if you like gritty crime stories. The subtitles worked really well and it also helped refresh my very rusty French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and fast moving, 8 Oct 2011
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched part of the series on on the BBC but kept missing episodes due to shift work. I loved the pace and the raw humanity of the characters. I decided I had to see the whole series and purchased a box set. I am thoroughly chuffed with my purchase and have enjoyed every minute. My ability to understand French is non-existent but with subtitles I don't even notice I can't speak the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a spin, 23 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After watching the Killing it took a couple of episodes to adjust to the pace and style of this gaelic offering.
However, it is equally engrossing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spiral, 1 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic series. everyone says "The French law and order" but its even better than that. Twists and turns make it very watchable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In a spin, 5 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Spiral is every bit as good as I had been led to believe. Many twists and turns, keep with it. Sometimes when the characters are speaking fast it is difficult to keep up with the sub titles but well worth the effort. Great series, do not get into legal problems in France however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiral, 23 Oct 2011
By 
C. Chivers (Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series, excellent acting, production and the sense of suspense maintained throughout. Worth having as a DVD to be able to review. It's also great for reprising French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spiral - Series 1 and 2 [DVD]
Spiral - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] by Caroline Proust (DVD - 2010)
£15.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews