Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment!
Way back in 1975, I didn't know what cybermen were or heard of them before until Weetabix did a promo of Dr Who stand up figures in their cereal packs and one of Dr Who's enemy featured was a Cyberman and lo and behold that same Saturday evening Revenge of the Cybermen story was broadcasted. Brilliant! I really enjoyed this story. So nostalgically the release on DVD has...
Published on 7 Aug 2010 by Luke73

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revenge/Nemesis - Two Cybermen stories with the Fourth and Seventh Doctors!
The advent of these two classic Cybermen stories from `Doctor Who' was really exciting for me when they were announced for release on DVD. The Cybermen are my favourite monsters, so I was keen to see them in these particular adventures. They're not the best Cybermen stories I've seen. `Revenge' was rather hard-going and `Silver Nemesis' was a little improvement if not...
Published 6 months ago by Tim Bradley


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting mix, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen / Silver Nemesis [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
I perhaps am a lone voice in the wilderness on this, but I quite like Sylvester McCoy's seventh doctor. Yes he's an old ham (but then which of them wasn't?), yes he rolls his rrrrrrs (but then I never liked Pertwee calling everyone "my dear chap"), yes he wears a stupid costume (it was the 80s!), but I like him. He was my doctor.

So I quite liked Silver Nemesis. I remember seeing it on telly in the 80s, and one of the episodes was braodcast on the 25th anniversary of the show. It is perhaps indicative of how low the show had sunk in the late 80s that there really isn't a sense of fanfare with this anniversary, so to watch it out of context actually improves it. There's much to like here. Lady Peinforte is good, the Cybermen are the usual silliness (emotional responses when they don't have emotions, extras walking like tall people rather than robots etc), and for no reason a bunch of neo-nazis turn up up from Brazil. All to posess something the doctor hid years ago.

And this is why I like McCoy. His doctor has a sense of the past. Rarely did the classic drs have this, I felt. He has done things in the past that come back to haunt/bite him. A precursor to the troubled 9th, 10th and 11th drs I think. Ace is brilliant too. And (again for no reason) Courtney Pine turns up.

Revenge of the Cybermen is disappointing. From Tom Baker's first season, accompanied by Sarah Jane and Harry, and beset by some truly dire special effects. The story is drawn out and I coudn't be bothered with it. But then, I like McCoy, so what do I know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great boxset loved it, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen / Silver Nemesis [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
i give the boxset 5 stars as it has two fantastic stories both involving cybermen and two awesome doctors, the discs without any problems as was the cases were also undamaged, the price was very reasonable and i gave the seller 5 stars as they delivered as promised and the products worked extremely well a job done absolutely well :D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 23 July 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen / Silver Nemesis [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
This product is an amazing example of a doctor who box set. Both stories are great and amazing together. Individually both stories are great, especially silver nemesis which is an excellant story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good the first time and good now, 11 May 2013
By 
Dr. I. A. Dunn (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen / Silver Nemesis [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Fond memories and Courtney Pine on Dr W what more could you ask for . I even watched the extras and enjoyed them .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cybermen Box set, 15 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen / Silver Nemesis [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
A great buy for any Doctor Who fan or just starting to watch Doctor Who.
The Cybermen are one of the most favorite characters in Doctor Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr WHO doing as he should do & it's great, 25 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen / Silver Nemesis [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Dr WHO doing as he should do & it's great as the TOM BAKER is one of his best that I say grouing up with the TV , along with histongue in cheek in danger . The Sylvester McCot is a good one from him as it's like the Cybermen facing one them enamy this the doctor playing against each other & him doing his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE CYBERMEN BOX SET, 17 Aug 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen / Silver Nemesis [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
These are two very good stories from the fourth and seventh doctor.

Revenge of the Cybermen-
4 parts long and very well presented.
This is a very good story that is key to any cybermen fans, as there are a lot of them from part two onwards. It was a well thought out plot and had very good cliffhangers,(part 1 and 2 especially). And of course Tom Baker acts brilliantly, using his mixture of jokes and seriousness, this story get 5/5

Silver Nemesis-
Only 3 parts long but very action packed.
Unfortunately part one is a bit boring, though everything gets redeemed in the fight in part 2, which is absolutely EPIC! My veiw is that the seventh doctor was a good doctor but given rubbish scripts, but this one is great. It's a nice one to add to the collection but really only two GOOD parts long, for that 4/5.

over-all you really need to get this set if you are

a) A Cybermen Fan
b) A Tom Baker fan
c) A Sylvester McCoy fan
or
d) All three, or maybe two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cybermen Box Set, 3 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen / Silver Nemesis [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Two good and underated storys loaded with extras, personally my favourate box set well worth the money. This box set is some good entertainment, i just love it.

Revenge of the cybermen
Story 5/5
Cover art 4/5
Extras 4/5
Overall 5/5

Silver nemesis
Story 3/5
Cover art 4/5
Extras 4/5
Overall 4/5

VALUE FOR BOX SET 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gold Plating and Silver Gilt, 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen / Silver Nemesis [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
I suppose that last two complete available classic series stories featuring the Cybermen make for a rather natural pairing in a DOCTOR WHO box set despite coming from two very different eras of the show and fans of one era who are not completists might resent having to acquire the other when buying this set. Neither story has been historically particularly highly regarded despite one coming from Philip Hinchcliffe's much loved "gothic" era and the other supposedly being a "special" production for the 25th anniversary year of the show, but they're both pretty enjoyable slices of DOCTOR WHO and have quite a lot going for them.

REVENGE OF THE CYBERMEN, the final story of Tom Baker's first season playing the Doctor dating back to 1975, is one story that I've always been very fond of and once upon a long ago made a rather surprising choice for the first ever DOCTOR WHO video back in the days when affordable home entertainment systems were an impossible dream for this young fan, and this story always manages to take me back to a time in my life when this particular programme seemed extra special and held a rather wonderful place in my heart.

The Cybermen are back having not been seen in a full on-screen adventure since Patrick Troughton held the keys to the TARDIS back in 1968's INVASION. This time they want to destroy Voga, the legendary "Planet of Gold" which had played a large part in their defeat in the unseen Cyberwars many years before. The Nerva Beacon (last seen in THE ARK IN SPACE a couple of stories earlier) has been assigned - at a much earlier point in its history - to act as a kind of deep space lighthouse and, on their way back to rendezvous with the TARDIS after the events of GENESIS OF THE DALEKS, the Doctor, Sarah and Harry are returned there, landing slap bang in the middle of a quarantine zone as the Cybermen (as usual with the help of a human traitor) are up to their old scheming ways.

It's a cracking little four-part tale on the whole - episode one is particularly effective as our heroes reacquaint themselves with the troubled Nerva Beacon - sadly let down by one or two less than convincing looking effects shots especially towards the climax. The Cybermen themselves make a fairly imposing threat (and have rarely looked better on screen) and the Vogans are quite effective too. Some of the location film work (in Wookey Hole) is amongst the best ever taken for the show and looks magnificent, and the excellent supporting cast involves some of the most excellent British character actors of the time including David Collings and Kevin Stoney (who coincidentally also featured in INVASION) as well as Michael Wisher (the original Davros!).

There's something magical about the wonderful chemistry of the three leads with Ian Marter playing Harry Sullivan alongside Elisabeth Sladen's Sarah Jane Smith and a rather mercurial Tom Baker that has rarely been bettered.

REVENGE OF THE CYBERMEN also completes the releases of Series 12 onto DVD, making it only the second complete Tom Baker series yet released.

SILVER NEMESIS was made thirteen years later for the 25th series in 1988 and the opening episode was broadcast on November the 23rd, the anniversary of the broadcast of the first ever episode AN UNEARTHLY CHILD in 1963 and how very different the programme had become.

This time around SYLVESTER McCOY is giving his rather special take on the Doctor for the second year, alongside Sophie Aldred as the very popular Ace. The plot includes a 17th century witch, a group of "born again" Nazis and a whole army of Cybermen all trying to gain the upper hand in a battle for control of a super-weapon that has a rather unusual connection with the Doctor and which has managed to crash-land on 20th century Earth. Witchcraft, Courtney Pine's Jazz Quartet, Tea Rooms, Social Workers, Catapults and even Queen Elisabeth II all have their part to play in a wacky three-part story that tries to answer once and for all that enigmatic question of "Doctor Who?"

Incidentally, fans of the old 1993 "Special Edition" VHS release might be disappointed that it isn't that version that's included here, just the episodes as broadcast, and the US documentary from that release isn't on these discs either.

Extras for both stories include the usual comprehensive selection of text commentaries, photo galleries, PDF materials and so on, as well as a range of documentaries. The "behind the scenes" piece on REVENGE OF THE CYBERMEN is pretty good, but you might have seen the local news item on another release and the half hour film about fans collecting copies of episodes on home video in the days before they were commonly commercially available is interesting, if possibly a tad too "specialist" for the general viewer. A new "Behind the scenes' piece on SILVER NEMESIS is fine and there are a hefty set of deleted scenes which probably compensate for the material from the old "special edition".

The commentary for REVENGE OF THE CYBERMEN (Elisabeth Sladen alongside Producer Philip Hinchcliffe, guest actor David Collings and Designer Roger Murray-Leach) can be a touch dry at times, and the SILVER NEMESIS one (The 2 leads alongside the Script Editor and Director) is more fun, but seemed unnecessarily defensive.

All-in-all then a decent enough release for these two CYBERMEN stories which both have their shortcomings but remain fine entertainment and rattle along at a fair old pace without outstaying their welcome, and both are well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A MIXED BAG, 22 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen / Silver Nemesis [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Forgive the cliché, but this Cybermen box set is a decidedly mixed bag containing a solid Tom Baker story and a very poor Sylvester McCoy effort.

Revenge of the Cybermen is very good story that harks back to the Troughton era's 'monster invades an isolated base' scenario. The first two episodes set the scene and retain the same claustrophobic atmosphere present in The Ark in Space and the crew of the beacon are well cast. Then at the end of episode two we get to see the Cybermen for the first time since the brilliant Invasion and they don't fail to impress. Obviously after such along time they have undergone a redesign and look better for it. They now have the addition of gun cleverly building the head piece, but unfortunately gone are chilling voices of the 60's and instead the cyber-leader has a very dodgy American accent. All in all this a very good production with a solid script and plot, a strong cast, nice sets and good location filming.
In my opinion Revenge of the Cybermen is much underrated and serves as a strong finale to Tome Baker first series.

Silver Nemesis is without doubt the worst Doctor Who serial I have seen. Thankfully there are only three episodes and the first two are just absolute drivel with no real plot or substance of any sort. The last episode just about saves it from being an absolute disaster and contains some mystery, some action and a lot more of the cybermen. I think this story would have been a lot better if it concentrated more on the Cybermen and got rid of Lady Peinforte and the Neo-Nazi's. The Cybermen themselves are the only highlight and although they are a bit tinfoil and die very easily, there are lots of them for once and they are quite menacing. Cybermen aside this is a very disappointing tale and I wouldn't even think about buying it on an individual release.

So in conclusion the BBC has yet again found a way of making us fans part with more money than we should have to, lumping a good serial with a bad serial by finding a tenuous link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews