Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three of the best so far!
Judging by the 'Marmite' reception that this series has recieved, I know that this review won't be popular with everyone. Oh well, here goes anyway. These three episodes, including the later episodes of Amy's Choice and Vincent and The Doctor, were my three favourites of the series - and why? Because in two of the three episodes the scariest Who enemies of the modern...
Published on 14 July 2010 by KAT

versus
4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The angels have lost their bite
I know, I know, I wrote a good review after having seen the first episode of the new series because I had enjoyed it and because Matt Smith had managed to impress me when I actually thought he would be insipid.I still think Matt makes a very good doctor (although I do not agree with people saying that David Tennant is already forgotten. How could he be? I just have to...
Published on 29 Jun 2010 by H. Lacroix


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings, Fangs and Mini Skirts - it must be Doctor Who!, 13 July 2010
By 
This series just goes from strength to strength. The Angels' two parter is an example of efficient and effective wrtitng upheld by good production values and acting. The cast are impressive from the regulars to Alex Kingston and the brilliant Iain Glenn. Lets not forget Mike Skinner's (Yes, him from 'The Streets'!) little appearance in the tightly written opening sequence which entertainingly re-introduces the voluptuous River Song. It all escalates after this into a mooody and scary race-against-time story with a nail biting cliff hanger in the middle. The Angels could be said to have been reinvented here but I feel they work very well in this rather wider context than 'Blink' afforded them. Well worth watching. 'The Vampires of Venice' is a rather by numbers production/plot for 'Doctor Who' but is still worthy nevertheless. Nice filming and camerawork from Croatia and some rather sexy Vampires. This is the story that does have one of those brilliant Doctor-confronts-villain scene which is actually quite taut and effective. Congratulations to all involved with this show - thanks Mr Moffat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun..., 8 July 2010
This second volume is a great buy, the first story a 2 part one and well it's shows the new doctor in full swing. i'm not going to tell you much about the story find out for yourself by buying the dvd, lets say i think we have a great new doctor worth watching... the last story of vampires in venice was fine but not a top story in my book, i didn't like the ending much. the first season of the 11th doctor been fantastic and i can't wait for the next season and the xmas special due before that.... long live DR WHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars received, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
received the product very quickly through the post and are very happy with it and would like to send my thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tickled By Tardis, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the cutest little DVD that we ever did see! You need to check it out if you are a Doctor Who fan. LOVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Weeping Angels two parter - absolutely stonking!!, 13 July 2010
By 
What a joy the Weeping Angels 2 parter is! It just zooms along and leaves you breathless! Best opening 5 minutes in Who ever! Angel Dave and his chirpy 'dead' voice was superbly disturbing and more kudos to River Song's hallucinogenic lipstick - what a riot! This is simply a great chase story with some chilling and hilarious moments. Great stuff Moffatt! The Vamps in Venice looked stunning parading with their parasols and baring their fangs - probably the most beautifully shot scene ever in Who. But their true form was too comical to take seriously - the bodies were effective but the heads too silly. But great stag do scene at the beginning and overall, not too bad for a pedestrian Who story. Good thrills and spills viewing. Where else do you get this on terrestial TV? BTW, River Song and the Vamps are pretty sexy!! I think I've been a wee bit over zealous in my use of exclamation marks....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marvellous. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Series 5 Volume 2, 15 Jun 2010
A Kid's Review
This DVD contains the folowing episodes:
1. The Time of Angels
2. Flesh and Stone
3. The Vampires of Venice

In The Tme of Angels The enigmatic River Song hurtles back into the Doctor life but she's not the only familiar face returning... The Weeping Angels are back with an army!

In Flesh and Stone the Doctor, Amy and River faced the Weeping Angels but discovered an even more sinister force threatening them...

In The Vampires of Venice The Doctor takes Amy and Rory away for a romantic break but terror awaits in 16th century Venice. What secrets are held by the House of Calvierri and who is the mysterious Rosanna?

I would of perferd it to have
1. The Time of Angels
2. Flesh and Stone
3. The Vampires of Venice
4. Amy's Choice

They normaly have four episodes and this isnt the same price as series 5 volume1!!
This is a good DVD to buy because it has Flesh and Stone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Series 5 Vol. 2, 3 May 2013
Adventures in time and space with the Eleventh Doctor and his companion Amy Pond.

The Time of Angels: The Doctor hunts the last of the Weeping Angels through the terrifying Maze of the Dead.

Flesh and Stone: Surrounded by an army of Weeping Angels, the Doctor must escape through the forest vault.

The Vampires of Venice: Corpses and terror fill the canals as the Doctor, Amy and Rory visit 16th century Venice.

24 Apr - 08 May 2010
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Series 5: The Weeping Angels Are Back!, 26 Aug 2012
By 
Dickie "The Bear" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Since it returned in 2005, each new series of Doctor Who has re-introduced us to some classic villains whether it be the Autons, Daleks, Cybermen, Sontarans, Master or Silurians. The return of these villains has been a mixed bag mostly because of either design (Cybermen) or story (Daleks, Silurians) but none of them have been as well recieved as the Weeping Angels. The Angels made such an incredible impression in 'Blink' that the two part story on this set, 'Time of Angels' and 'Flesh and Stone' is arguably the most anticipated return of a recurring monster ever. It is also fitting that their creator and writer, Steven Moffat develops them further and takes them to even more terrifying heights. Now I have never been scared of a Doctor Who monster, even as a child when I watched the classic series on VHS, but even I admit that the Angels get to me.

Following a stunning opening and two mixed but generally solid efforts, the fifth series of Doctor Who really kicks itself into high gear with the epic 'Time of Angels/Flesh and Stone' double. This doesn't mean that anything should be taken away from the also impressive 'Vampires in Venice', but the Angel two parter is the kick starter to developing the arc of the whole the series and beyond. The visuals are great and the angels themselves are given some new powers in a show stealing scene where Amy Pond finds herself at the mercy of a Weeping Angel recording. One example yes but a prime one of just how simplistic yet effective these monsters are. More crucially however is the return of Alex Kingston's River Song, another Moffat creation, who is a mysterious recurring character that has more importance to the Doctor than arguably any character who's ever appeared in the show (classic and new) before. More of her background is revealed to keep her intriguing but the bulk is saved till later. Many dislike River Song, I however find her a great character who enjoys great chemistry, like Gillan, with Matt Smith's Doctor.

'Flesh and Stone' is a more complex part 2 than the first and the twist development in the episode is a major departure from previous series' where the overriding threat would only manifest in the finale. This twist does add greater menace but at times you can argue whether it takes too much attention away from the Angels themselves, regardless however, there are some great moments featuring them still in this episode. The divisive Amy Pond also strikes again here and has the critics complaining about the new direction with this companion in a rather daring scene (for Doctor Who standards) that fleshes out the rebellious nature of her character and resolves the question of the wedding dress at the end of the first episode of the series. This takes you right into 'Vampires in Venice'.

The main problem, at times, with the relationship between Amy Pond and Rory Williams (Arthur Darvill), established in 'Vampires in Venice', is that the writers seem to retread old ground with them in later episodes, but intially it is a bold and new departure from previous series to have two companions in a relationship and in the Tardis together for a significant amount of time. Darvill I find more charming than the feisty Gillan and his development more satisfying as the character gains more confidence in the presence of the charismatic Smith. Visually impressive again with a nice little Doctor Who take on vampires. It doesn't boast a major plot enhancement the same way the the last 2 episodes did but from a character perspective it is one of the best of the series by focusing on the 'love triangle' that runs for a few episodes. It's not Twilight so don't panic in this regard, the actors are too talented and dialogue quirky and funny to be so predictable but 'Vampires in Venice' in general is just plain old entertainment.

It's a great set for Doctor Who, the best arguably since series 4 volume 3 with the Library double and 'Midnight'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 11th's adventures continue, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I received this package quite quickly and it is excellent. I have become quite the Doctor Who fan and Matt Smith brings all the emotions in the 11th incarnation. This volume adds 3 more brilliant episodes to the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews