Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three of the best so far!
Judging by the 'Marmite' reception that this series has recieved, I know that this review won't be popular with everyone. Oh well, here goes anyway. These three episodes, including the later episodes of Amy's Choice and Vincent and The Doctor, were my three favourites of the series - and why? Because in two of the three episodes the scariest Who enemies of the modern...
Published on 14 July 2010 by KAT

versus
4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The angels have lost their bite
I know, I know, I wrote a good review after having seen the first episode of the new series because I had enjoyed it and because Matt Smith had managed to impress me when I actually thought he would be insipid.I still think Matt makes a very good doctor (although I do not agree with people saying that David Tennant is already forgotten. How could he be? I just have to...
Published on 29 Jun 2010 by H. Lacroix


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three of the best so far!, 14 July 2010
By 
KAT "tatethegr8" (Kettering Northants) - See all my reviews
Judging by the 'Marmite' reception that this series has recieved, I know that this review won't be popular with everyone. Oh well, here goes anyway. These three episodes, including the later episodes of Amy's Choice and Vincent and The Doctor, were my three favourites of the series - and why? Because in two of the three episodes the scariest Who enemies of the modern revamp are back - Move over Daleks - The Weeping Angels are back!

Episode 1: The Time of Angels; The Bazantium space ship has crashed to earth and the returning River Song (reprised by the fantastic Alex Kingston)and her army of Soldiers need the Doctors help. Trapped in the cargo hold of the Bazanthium is the last of the Weeping Angels. When Amy is left inside the control room, she is given one instruction by the Doctor - Don't Blink - but little does Amy know that not blinking at all could leave her in even deadlier peril. As the trapped crew search desperatly for a way out, they realise that their only hope is through the terrifying Maze of the Dead. With the trapped Angel causing havoc, the Doctor suddenly realises that the simple stone statues that surround them are not the long-dead population of the planet - they are The Weeping Angels themselves! Hemmed in and surrounded by a terrifying maze of decaying Angels, how will the Doctor and his companions survive this terrifying ordeal? The Doctors spine-tingling "One thing that you should never put in a trap" speech at the end of this episode was the moment that Matt Smith officially became the 11th Doctor for me and was only hampered by that bloody animated Graham Norton dancing across the screen! Agggggh! (And No - I was not one of the hundreds of people who complained to the BBC about it either)

Episode 2: Flesh and Stone: Still trapped inside the Maze of the Dead and with half his team wiped out by the Angels, The Doctor is determined to get the remaining crew out alive - only it now seems that the Angels have possessed Amy's mind. Can the Doctor save Amy's mind from the evil of the Angels and get everyone else alive? And exactly what secret is the myserious River Song hiding from the Doctor?

Episode 3: Vampires in Venice: The Doctor returns to earth to pick up Rory, hoping that having her fiance onboard will quell any of Amy's future romantic notions towards himself. Deciding to take the two lovebirds on a date to Venice, their well-intended trip doesn't turn out to be the romantic date that the Doctor had hoped. The House of Calvierri is recruiting beautiful girls into their 'school' - but they never come out again. Infilterating the school by using Amy as a potential 'student', the Doctor soon realises what is really happening behind the walls of Calvierri castle. The Countess is turning the girls into vampire-fish. Determined to restore her home planet Saturnine, which she claims fell into the 'crack in time', the Countess is planning on flooding Venice and returning her 'daugters' to the 10,000 'sons' she has waiting in the water. The Doctor must stop her from turning the Earth into Saturnine Mark II but will Rory and Amy prove more of a hinderance than a help? And what is the meaning of the Silence that the Countess claims she saw through the Crack?

In my opinion these episodes are three of the strongest (and scariest) stories of the season. I am so glad to see the Weeping Angels make their triumphant return, and in just as scary circumstances (even though they still scare the bejesus out of me!) All in all, I loved these episode and I think they really showcased the acting talents of the two main stars. Matt and Karen may not be liked or accepted by everyone, but in my opinion they have done themselves proud with these three spine-tingling stories. I will definitly be buying these episodes to watch again and again in comfort - And without Graham Norton in attendance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING! CONTAINS IMAGE OF AN ANGEL, 25 Jun 2010
By 
Don't Blink! You don't want to miss a second of these amazing episodes.

Steven Moffat has triumphed in his two parter, 'Time of Angels' and 'Flesh and Stone' which sees not only the return of the creepy Weeping Angels (first seen in 2007's 'Blink') but also welcomes back Alex Kingston as the complex, timey wimey River Song. The Doctor and Amy are recruited by Doctor River Song and an army of clerics to search the crash of the Byzantium for the lone Weeping Angel trapped inside it. However things soon turn sinister as Amy learns the dreadful truth that even an image is powerful and Clerics begin to get their necks snapped. Soon The Doctor discovers it's not the Weeping Angel that's trapped, it's him! The Doctor and his friends are stuck in the maze of the dead surrounded by Angels, but there's one thing you never put in a trap - and it's him.
In what is the most cinematic episode of Doctor Who ever, Adam Smith directs beautifully, with the pace and action continuous and flowing wonderfully with Steven Moffat's juicy script. Matt Smith (incredibly this the very first episode he filmed) shows the more brooding, serious side of his Doctor and Alex Kingston returns with a much feistier River Song, with a more electric chemistry with this Doctor than the last.

'Flesh and Stone' picks up where the last episode left us with our jaws hitting the floor, and doesn't disappoint! The Angels are winning, Amy has seconds to live, The Doctor is helpless. It's a race against time inside the ruins of the Byzantium and the action doesn't stop! We soon learn the terrible truth of the crack in Amy's bedroom wall and that River Song isn't a woman to be trusted.
The conclusion is a satisfying one but with so many more secrets and revelations yet to be discovered. Again, direction and script are fantastic and the lead actors dazzle! Special acknowledgement goes to Iain Glen as the lead cleric, with a certain scene between himself and Matt Smith being one of the highlights of the episode, tragic and beautiful with a big fat juicy shocker!

Next we move to a stag party in Leadworth, and as the stripper arrives in a big cake... out pops The Doctor and he's got something to tell Rory Williams, his fiance tried to kiss him! So off we go to Venice in the aptly titles 'The Vampires of Venice' with a new Tardis trio, Amy and Rory are taken on a date to the most romantic city of all! Except instead of romance, death and mystery stalks the streets of Venice.
Toby Whithouse (Being Human), delivers a stellar romp of a script, with so many laugh out loud moments and great interaction dialogue between The Doctor and new recruit Rory. The direction is beautiful, with the streets of Croatia really becoming a believable Venice! Action, explosions, romance and some fish, 'The Vampires of Venice' is another hit for this series and continues to show just how lucky we are to have Matt Smith as The Doctor.

And remember, the image of an Angel can become an Angel...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BEST Time Lords, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
FANTASTIC...

as i will keep saying. Matt Smith possibly my favorite time lord of all time.
just fantastic to see him bring this character to life. action. comedy. and suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More of the great original British TV series spanning 50 years. Superb and enjoyable Family entertainment for Dr Who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not one of the best but still good evenings entertainment and amusement Matt Smith is growing in to the part
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smith continues..., 18 Jun 2010
By 
R. Thomas "unreadable" (S Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Moving on from the first volume we have the next two stories compromising the seasons first two parter The Time of Angels and one parter The Vampires of Venice.

The Time of Angels has everything I want in a Who story and I firmly believe this story will go down as one of the greats. Moffat brings back two of his toys from the previous era in River Song (wonderfully played by Alex Kingston) and the Weeping angels who are turned up to 11. This story has no central set or location and starts off in all places a museum and after the hectic James Bond style opener catapults the regulars into the plot. Despite this being the first story filmed I think this is Matt Smiths best performance also of note is Iain Glen who is understated and wonderfully noble as Octavian. Keep your eyes peeled as there's a few moments that look to be linked to a later episode.

The Vampires of Venice is unfortunately a fairly weak episode, in my opinion the best qualities are the location work and an all round good performance by the cast who rise above the script they've been given. Also its got pretty girls with sharp teeth! The main huge faults in this are the direction and the script. Of note is Rory from The Eleventh Hour becoming a companion who is likeable in a bumbling way.

Both stories look like they foreshadow the end of season finale (which as I type has yet to be broadcast) with the cracks and some comments by the various villains. All in all four stars as Time of the Angels is so good it makes up for Vampires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular!, 15 Jun 2010
The first two parter of series 5 turned out to be fantastic, the first episode may of dragged slightly but i'll overlook that minor detail. Although the weeping angel two-parter was great, it didn't over shadow vampires of Venice, as others thought it would. But once again they were proven wrong. I am enjoying the series a lot and were almost at the finale. May i remind everyone that this series has had a lower budget than previous series, as the BBC didn't know if people would like the new doctor or the new series for that matter. But they were proven wrong. o i'm guessing that next series is going to be more action packed as was series 1-4, and this series too (but this series is a little talkative if you get what I mean)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars continues to impress, 17 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
matt smith and karen gillan continue to impress in these 3 episodes. matt smith's in his stride as the doctor now. to me he comes across as a cross between patrick troughton, tom baker and david tennant while karen gillan is excellent as amy, one of the best companions ever. the 2 part story with the weeping angels is matt smith's first classic, and is one of the best of the series. the added bonus on the dvd being you hopefully wont get the annoying over the rainbow ad at the end of part one! the weeping angels are the best monsters that the new series has created and are destined to stand alongside the daleks and cybermen as all time classic monsters. the episode also sees the return of the excellent and mysterious river song, and the episode strongly hints that in the future she may end up not only becoming the doctor's wife, but that she might also murder him. vampires in venice is very silly but good fun. loved the doctor gate crashing rory's stag night! 3 excellent episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who Series 5 volume 2, 4 Jan 2012
Item arrived on time. My son is a massive Dr Who fan so he was pleased with this dvd for Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews