Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2010
This budget box set includes no less than 100 tracks from Aretha's golden tenure at Atlantic, and presents, in roughly chronlogical order, the bulk of her catalogue originally released between 1967 and 1976.

Such is the high quality control maintained by Aretha over this period, that the effect of listening to these 5 cds (more than 5 and half hours) is quite frankly (no pun intended) overwhelming. No track is less than very good, and many are a pure joy to listen to, helped for the most part by Jerry Wexler's inspired gutsy production, but not forgetting Curtis Mayfield's contributions from the Sparkle album, from which 5 tracks close this compilation.

Most buyers will already have around 20 of these songs, as all the famous singles are included, but don't let that put you off. The true pleasure is finding so many more tracks that measure up as well. It's pointless to mention highlights, but I was particularly struck by Prove It, I Wonder, Night Time is the Right Time, All The King's Horses and Something He Can Feel, none of which I previously knew. Even if you are a casual fan, this is heartily recommended.

I have to question the long term wisdom of releasing such a valuable catalogue at a bargain price, but for now I'm content to wallow in these amazing songs in the knowledge that my wallet has hardly been touched. Demon Music's best release so far.

If you also want to get an extended view of her career after this period, I can recommend another budget release on the Sony Camden Deluxe label - A Deeper Love, The Best Of Aretha Franklin which covers 1980-1997, with a further 32 tracks on 2 CDs. Buy both sets, and you will have almost everything you need from the queen of soul.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
I received this priceless(!) collection in this morning's 2010 pre-Christmas post, and I could not have wished for a better gift from the postman. Selling at a pathetically low price is this collection of 100 original Atlantic Records studio performaces that cemented Aretha Franklin's status as the undisputed Queen of spine tingling soul music. These historical performances, because that's what they are, could never and will never be repeated or surpassed. They reflect a moment in black music history that should be owned by every household across the country and the world, especially at this unbelievably low price. I already owned the expensive original Queen of Soul box set, which was released some years ago, but I just had to own this too; because it contains many different tracks and because the sound quality is truly first class; limited only by the quality of the original source tapes, but even they could not hinder the breath-taking spirit unleashed that is Aretha Franklin in her essence. Don't expect any pictures or indepth historical text in this box set; this is about the singer and some great songs; the great lady needs no text, just your ears and heart.

Do your music collection, ears and soul a big boost by ordering this collection today, today, today! And at this price you can order a few for your family, friends and neighbours too. You will treasure it forever, as I will. Thank goodness for Aretha Franklin and thanks to whoever it was who decided to put this collection together. I truly hope and pray that she overcomes her current battle with cancer. Er, whilst I'm at it; can I put in a polite request for similar 100 track collections on Dionne Warwick, Gladys Knight, and Gloria Gaynor (yes, she did record more than one great song lol), Diana Ross, Nancy Wilson, Sarah Vaughan, and Philadelphia Records...and so so many others. Thanks in advance. Now, time to get back to Aretha. Respect and love to the Queen of Soul and her many fans!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2011
Well, there isn't much that is needed to say. An album with 100 Aretha Franklin hits is of course worth five stars. The songs on the album are from 1967 to 1976. And if you don't have so many of Aretha's records or if you don't know so much about her, this is a great opportunity to get to know her music for a price that is fabulous, or what can one say about £5.21 for an album like this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Although probably best known for soul recordings Aretha Franklin also ranks highly at blues, R&B, gospel and jazz together with rock and pop. In her long musical career she has won many Grammy awards and is the first female to have been inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. To those finding it difficult in deciding which Aretha Franklin album to choose, then this 5 CD set is the solution. It is one of a series of CD sets sold at a budget price but absolutely fabulous and fantastic - others to investigate are 100 Hits of Otis Redding, Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong, Johnny Cash etc. - each at less than a fiver!

It is impracticable to comment on 100 numbers but these are identified in the Amazon listing where all her classics seem to be included. In addition to the variety of hit singles incorporated there are many less well known yet equally excellent numbers. Aretha Franklin is known as the `Queen of Soul' and these 100 Hits confirm the title is justified. The set starts with her phenomenal `Respect' and it includes my all-time favourite `Son Of A Preacher Man', but many styles are represented with numbers largely from the 1960s and 1970s. And Aretha Franklin goes on - in 2009 she sang at Barack Obama's inauguration and earlier this year [2011] at Dr. Martin Luther King's memorial dedication - long may she continue!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2011
A fiver for a stunning collection of 100 tracks by one of the true greats of popular music?

To call this a bargain would be a massive understatement.

Aretha's Atlantic recordings for about a decade from 1967 were amongst the greatest ever put down by any artist. The quality throughout this collection is just mind numbingly good. One sublime track follows another.

This is music of such timeless brilliance that every home should find space for it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2011
This superb 5cd collection covers Aretha`s Atlantic recordings between 1967 - 1976 .

The sound is superb and all the old favourites are here . Respect, I Say A Little Prayer , Think , etc.

Great value for money . If you like Aretha Franklin you`ll love this 100 hits legends set.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
100 Aretha songs from her classic soul period Think, Respect, Chain Of Fools, Dr Feelgood and that barely scratches the surface. This collection tells us why Aretha still gets respect today, she has always been a treasure
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
The order was for my mother and she loves them. They being back memories and she is still dancing to them now and at the age of 82.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2011
What words can you add about Aretha? I believe everything has already been said. Her amazing voice and personality as well as her style and feeling can't be matched. She is unique as unique is this fantastic collection of 100 incredible songs. Five discs to enjoy good music, a music that will always be as fresh as when it was played for the first time many years ago. Besides, a price that's just hard to believe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
as a lifelong fan of Aretha , I was blown away by some tracks on here I have never heard before, and have given me great pleasure to remind me just how good Aretha is. These 100 hit albums are fantastic value with original quality recordings, and I would urge anyone who loves the greats to buy now before they are deleted forever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)