Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Duty Safety Padlock Hasp & Staple - Powder Coated
Got this to go with the Padlock Alarm for my shed.
Feel very safe now, if anyone tries to break in they will get a shock.. !!!!
Published 15 months ago by David Walsh

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Great
I want to be objective about this product.
Looks the part but on closer examination I'm NOT
convinced the 'staple' part of the product offers much
peace of mind/security. The product has no security
rating unlike some others, but is described as Heavy Duty.
The staple could be broken with a couple of good blows
or levered/prized open. Having...
Published 20 months ago by Christopher R. Farell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Great, 13 May 2013
This review is from: Blackspur BB-BH091 Heavy Duty Safety Hasp and Staple (DIY & Tools)
I want to be objective about this product.
Looks the part but on closer examination I'm NOT
convinced the 'staple' part of the product offers much
peace of mind/security. The product has no security
rating unlike some others, but is described as Heavy Duty.
The staple could be broken with a couple of good blows
or levered/prized open. Having the best padlock available
would be a waste of time as any criminal would simply
by-pass it.
It's a case of don't be fooled by what something something
superficially looks like. Won't be using mine !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price............., 28 Jun. 2012
By 
IOWBOY - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackspur BB-BH091 Heavy Duty Safety Hasp and Staple (DIY & Tools)
Not too much to say really! A good quality Padlock Hasp and a bargain at the price (comparing well against significantly more expensive equivalants from a well known DIY store).

Strong and suitable for long term outdoor use; obviously the overall effectiveness of this product relies on the padlock used though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Low protection, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackspur BB-BH091 Heavy Duty Safety Hasp and Staple (DIY & Tools)
The Hasp, and eye appear to be ordinary steel so can be cut with bolt cutters.The screws supplied are rather feeble, and could easily be levered out of a shed door. I doubt that the hinge pin is hardened steel so would succumb quickly to any attack, and can easily be hammered out.
This Hasp is OK for low security areas, for example, where there are no valuable items stored, or helping to secure a boundary gate where it is on the inside, and access to the Hasp is difficult for the wannabe thieves, but if want to effectively protect the contents of your shed or garage you'll need to spend more money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars cheap crap not worth it, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackspur BB-BH091 Heavy Duty Safety Hasp and Staple (DIY & Tools)
as soon as i open it i knew this was going to be painful. i decided to fit it onto my shed and the quality was soo bad that the metal part was bent and you can see all the screws. Hasp lock is suppose to hide the screw to stop anyone from unscrewing the lock. don't buy if you need mild security. great for decoration only....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the strongest, but good value, 30 April 2014
By 
Geoff - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackspur BB-BH091 Heavy Duty Safety Hasp and Staple (DIY & Tools)
Bought three of these for garden storage bins. They are not the most robust or secure, but for what they cost they are perfectly good enough for my needs.

If someone really wants to break in there are much easier way to do so, rather than removing or breaking these hasps, and I did not see any need to buy more expensive ones.

What appears to be black power coated paint looks like it will give them a good few year of protection from the weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't complain with this price, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackspur BB-BH091 Heavy Duty Safety Hasp and Staple (DIY & Tools)
Some coating chipped off. the hinge bit is like hand made quality, not perfectly symmetrical, a but loose, but it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quality good, but doors need to be almost touching to use, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackspur BB-BH091 Heavy Duty Safety Hasp and Staple (DIY & Tools)
Quality of product is good, but the photo is slightly misleading. There's 2.5 cm gap between the doors I wanted to lock. The photo suggests there'd be enough of a gap for my purposes between the two fixing plates, but in fact that's not the case. Unfortunately, this wasn't apparent through the packaging either, so had to open it to find it out. This may be standard for hasps, but I'm a DIY novice.
Better photo or better still a 'spec' showing overall sizes needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not outdoorsy., 23 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. T. S. Hemstock "hemdogg4444" (grantham, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackspur BB-BH091 Heavy Duty Safety Hasp and Staple (DIY & Tools)
It's not heavy duty and not very suitable for outside. The screws rusted almost immediately and will need replacing soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars WRONG PICTURE OF GOODS, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackspur BB-BH091 Heavy Duty Safety Hasp and Staple (DIY & Tools)
DANGER DANGER DO NOT BUY THIS ITEM IT IS NOT AS IN THE PICTURE. I NEEDED TO REPLACE THE HASP ON MY GARAGE DOOR WITH A NORTH SOUTH APERTURE. AFTER WAITING A WEEK IT ARRIVED WITH EAST WEST APERTURE. I TOLD THE COMPANY ..THEY ASKED WHAT I WANTED THEM TO DO..REFUND MY MONEY OBVIOUSLY .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Duty Safety Padlock Hasp & Staple - Powder Coated, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackspur BB-BH091 Heavy Duty Safety Hasp and Staple (DIY & Tools)
Got this to go with the Padlock Alarm for my shed.
Feel very safe now, if anyone tries to break in they will get a shock.. !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews