Customer Reviews


243 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!
This was my first Baldacci novel and I will now go on to read his others! Great read and great ending and loved the relationship between the two agents - hopefully they will get it on in the future!
Published on 21 April 2006 by Mister P

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so
This is the tale of a serial killer who goes about his work with thought and style but when he's not quite as free to murder who, where and when he originally planned to, the sense of intrigue fades away and it takes much of the interest in the story with it. It's a rather stereotypical scenario involving an extremely wealthy family full of jealousies, tragedies and...
Published on 16 April 2007 by OEJ


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so, 16 April 2007
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hour Game (Paperback)
This is the tale of a serial killer who goes about his work with thought and style but when he's not quite as free to murder who, where and when he originally planned to, the sense of intrigue fades away and it takes much of the interest in the story with it. It's a rather stereotypical scenario involving an extremely wealthy family full of jealousies, tragedies and divided loyalties and enough potential suspects in the shapes of kingpins and widows, sons and daughters, in-laws and various hangers-on to satisfy those who enjoy working out who did it before the inevitable revelation. It's even possible that the butler did it, if you want a taste of the corniness, but for me the only thing I wanted to happen was to reach the end of the story, all 100+ chapters of it and probably 50 too many.

The goodies, Sean King and Michelle Maxwell, are a pair of former government agents now working together as male/female partners in a small P.I. firm in a small Virginia town. They have appeared together previously in SPLIT SECOND, but one of the biggest flaws in the novel reviewed here is that they make a pretty uninteresting couple, certainly neither of them possesses the charisma or personality to carry a series and probably not even a stand-alone.

It's all a bit ho-hum in the end, a by-the-numbers murder mystery which might have been compelling 20 years ago but with so much crime fiction available today it doesn't really stack up against the best of the competition. It's OK but it's nothing special and doesn't break any new ground or old barriers. Something to pass the time on a long-haul flight perhaps, but not a contemporary crime classic by any stretch of the imagination - particularly if the genre of crime fiction is your favourite and you read a lot of it regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, 21 April 2006
This review is from: Hour Game (Paperback)
This was my first Baldacci novel and I will now go on to read his others! Great read and great ending and loved the relationship between the two agents - hopefully they will get it on in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taut Tale of a Serial Killer on a Rampage, 17 Dec. 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
My favorite style of crime thriller is one where the criminal matches wits with the detectives and the book alternates perspectives in sharing what each is thinking. Unfortunately, many current authors are unable to carry off this style with enough tension, plot interest and interesting characters to make the story compelling. Having enjoyed Last Man Standing, I wanted to see what David Baldacci could do with this style. I was mostly pleased with the results. I hope he will write more crime thrillers of this sort.
The Hour Game features a slightly over-the-top killing spree that provides many red herrings and twists in the plot. The identity of the serial killer is well hidden until about two-thirds of the way through the book.
The private detectives are appealing. Both Sean King and Michelle Maxwell are former members of the Secret Service whose service ended with less than stellar results. They are bright, determined and counterparts in style. There's also a hint of sexual chemistry between them that makes the story more interesting -- it almost reminded me of The Avengers. They are originally dragged into the case as volunteers when the first dead body appears and are eventually deputized. In that role, they are placed in predictable and unnecessary conflict with the Feds.
The book's main weakness is that the trigger for the crimes lies in a history that is too bizarre to be credible in current times. If the current events of the story had been placed back into the 1960s or 1970s, I think it would have been easier to swallow. There are also just a few too many murders for one book. I think if the solution had been developed about 100 pages sooner I would have liked the book much better.
But I cannot think of new serial killer mystery that I have enjoyed any more in the last few years. So you should give this book a try.
I also plan to go back and read Split Second which introduces this series. If you haven't already read that book, perhaps you should consider doing that as well. I didn't find that I was at sea at all in reading Hour Game because I hadn't seen the earlier book. So it's your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grind it out.., 12 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hour Game (Paperback)
I have read all of this authors books, from the sentimental, modern romance of Christmas Train through to the inventive & taught thriller, 'The Winner'. I read 'Split Second' being reasonabably impressed with the story and felt the characters were adequate instruments in giving the reader some pace and insight. I was surprised to see that a second novel has come out based around Sean King & Michelle Maxwell as they are characters that seem to be fairly run of the mill ex-law enforcement dectectives that are almost clichéd. The book is a soild read, with the usual peaks and troughs between believability and realism worked inside a good small town drama-murder. I did expect to read that Angela Lansbury was going to assist on the case on occassions, or that another long lost daughter or son was going to appear for another twist.
As with all the other Baldacci novels the book is highly readable and well thought out. You are kept guessing enough to turn the pages, but no so much that frustration & laughter set in. Perfect for a week in the sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 31 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Hour Game (Paperback)
I too had never read any David Baldacci novels before, but found this excellent. The only thing i didn't like was the relationship between the investigators - i don't see it necessary to keep trying to progress these sort of relationships in books especailly when I haven't read any of the previous books - but at least i know they don't die in an earlier book!!
On the basis of reading hour game and the comments from other reviewers i've bought 3 of his other books to read. Can't get a better recommendation for the author than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taut Tale of a Serial Killer on a Rampage, 17 Dec. 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hour Game (Perfect Paperback)
My favorite style of crime thriller is one where the criminal matches wits with the detectives and the book alternates perspectives in sharing what each is thinking. Unfortunately, many current authors are unable to carry off this style with enough tension, plot interest and interesting characters to make the story compelling. Having enjoyed Last Man Standing, I wanted to see what David Baldacci could do with this style. I was mostly pleased with the results. I hope he will write more crime thrillers of this sort.
The Hour Game features a slightly over-the-top killing spree that provides many red herrings and twists in the plot. The identity of the serial killer is well hidden until about two-thirds of the way through the book.
The private detectives are appealing. Both Sean King and Michelle Maxwell are former members of the Secret Service whose service ended with less than stellar results. They are bright, determined and counterparts in style. There's also a hint of sexual chemistry between them that makes the story more interesting -- it almost reminded me of The Avengers. They are originally dragged into the case as volunteers when the first dead body appears and are eventually deputized. In that role, they are placed in predictable and unnecessary conflict with the Feds.
The book's main weakness is that the trigger for the crimes lies in a history that is too bizarre to be credible in current times. If the current events of the story had been placed back into the 1960s or 1970s, I think it would have been easier to swallow. There are also just a few too many murders for one book. I think if the solution had been developed about 100 pages sooner I would have liked the book much better.
But I cannot think of new serial killer mystery that I have enjoyed any more in the last few years. So you should give this book a try.
I also plan to go back and read Split Second which introduces this series. If you haven't already read that book, perhaps you should consider doing that as well. I didn't find that I was at sea at all in reading Hour Game because I hadn't seen the earlier book. So it's your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story, wonderfully read., 9 Nov. 2008
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hour Game (Audio CD)
This is a cracking story. Fast, puzzling and well structured. The story has been abridged well and at 4 CDs and 4 Hours running time it does not outstay its welcome for a second. Henry Goodman, the reader, has done an excellent job. His pace is fine and his voices excellent. (At times his reading of the women's voices had me rechecking the box to see if there was another female actress reading the parts) The story itself is excellent and two maybe three plots are expertly intertwined by David Baldacci. I pride myself on figuring out the endings but this one beat me and had my attention to the bitter end. All in all a 5 star reading of a 5 star book. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gruesome and entertaining follow up, 18 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Hour Game (Paperback)
The second book in the series featuring ex-Secret Service agents Sean King and Michelle Maxwell certainly doesn't hold back on the vicious murder scale - and it is an entertaining read to boot.

The killer's identity becomes fairly obvious after about three-quarters of the book, but up until then, Baldacci does a good job of shrouding him in secrecy and making him every bit as unnerving and brutal as you expect from a good thriller.

It's a fairly standard "small town shaken by killing spree" backdrop, but the plot zips along at a good pace and Baldacci does a nice job of tying all the various strands together as the story nears its end.

King and Maxwell again prove likeable characters, as they track down the murderer killing people in similar fashion to some of the world's most famous serial killers, and you could pick this book up without having read their first outing, in Split Second.

It's a good choice for any Baldacci fan, or just for someone who enjoys crime thrillers. It's also not a bad introduction into what Baldacci can offer, for first-time readers of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable readable thriller, 23 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hour Game (Paperback)
After discovering who is the deadly serial killer who is intent on imitating notorious killers in the past, Sean King goes on to discover the other 'one off' killer who turns out to be even more surprising than the serial killer. This novel keeps you in suspense right to the end.
For lovers of thriller and whodunnit books, this book is highly recommended. It will encourage you to take up other David Baldacci's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OVERLONG, FRANKLY TEDIOUS., 17 Jan. 2007
By 
Mark53 (BRIGHTON, EAST SUSSEX United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hour Game (Paperback)
Got this because 'absolut power' was a real page turner, at nearly six hundred pages this was a lot to take on and frankly could of done with some severe editing, because it is stretched out to unbearable lengths and so many cul-de-sacs that you lose track of who is who after a while. This is formalic crime writer without say the excitement of his other novels. At times it was just plain stupid and for someone with such a high reputation in crime writing very badly written and cliched. Page turner, by the end i was thinking why did i bother?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hour Game (King and Maxwell Book 2)
£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews