Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Textured and High Quality.
I'm a Powerslave man myself so yeah "yawn, yawn this album is not like my favorite etc etc". We all need to admit that Maiden have grown and developed as a band since whichever album or era we like best and that when the quality of the new stuff is this good we can sit back knowing Maiden are still on top of their game.
Iron Maiden are a stadium band these days and...
Published on 2 Sept. 2010 by Xtro Jon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing from the Mighty Maiden
Although this album is good and Maiden are still one of the greatest bands in the world this album just sounds a little tired and lacks a truly stand out track. This album isnt going to win any new fans but I don't suppose thats a problem for them. If you want to get some 'Proper' Iron Maiden, try 'Number of the Beast' and 'Seventh Son of a Seventh Son'. These albums set...
Published on 25 Sept. 2012 by Mr. David


‹ Previous | 117 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How can u give this more than 1 star ?, 13 Dec. 2012
By 
V. K. Manglaveras (thessaloniki, greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final Frontier (Audio CD)
I'm a fanatic maiden fan since dickinson entered the group with the # of the beast. I have all albums released after the number of the beast. I REALLY CAN'T BELIEVE PEOPLE GIVING THIS CD MORE THAN 1 STAR. For me the LAST REAL GREAT ALBUM WAS "FEAR OF THE DARK". All other maiden albums which followed were poor except "A matter of life and death" which was the best since "fear of the dark" but still not great.
This new cd has NONE track which is to be remembered. NONE. PERIOD.
Previous poor albums had at least one track to be remembered."brave new world" had "the wicker man", "dance of death" had "rainmaker", "virtual XI" had "futureal", the "x factor" had "man on the edge" and "A matter of life and death" had at least 5 songs to be remembered "different world, ...brighter than a 1,000 suns, reincarnation..., for the greater good of god...etc...", BUT "The final frontier really HAS NOT EVEN ONE SONG TO BE REMEMBERED.
IT'S THE FIRST MAIDEN ALBUM IN THEIR HISTORY WHICH DESERVES THE TITLE OF MAIDEN'S WORST ALBUM EVER.
Iron maiden released great albums until the era of "fear of the dark" then they disappointed with poor albums which at least had a few good songs except the "final frontier" which had NONE.

MY TOP 13 MAIDEN ALBUMS FROM BEST TO WORST SINCE "THE NUMBER OF THE BEAST" WAS RELEASED...

1. SEVENTH SON OF A SEVENTH SON (Not even one bad track in this great album)
2. SOMEWHERE IN TIME (AlexAAAAAAAAAnder the great...)
3. FEAR OF THE DARK (Last great album with 6 epic songs)
4. THE # OF THE BEAST (all time classic)
5. NO PRAYER FOR THE DYING (bring your daughter...to dickinson)
6. PIECE OF MIND
7. POWERSLAVE
8. A MATTER OF LIFE AND DEATH (the only worth but not great maiden album after "fear of the dark"
9. VIRTUAL XI (Futureal, angel and gambler, two worlds collide)
10. THE X FACTOR (Man on the edge, sign of the cross)
11. BRAVE NEW WORLD (The wicker man)
12. DANCE OF DEATH (Rainmaker)
13. THE FINAL FRONTIER (Worst album. not even one decent song)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars an album made of the fillers from the killers, 21 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Final Frontier (Audio CD)
been listening to IM since '79, seen them live countless times but this ranks up there with the worst post the return of the air raid siren... Dance of Death was good the song Ghost Of Benjamin Breeg also good but this album ranks with the other stuff i can't remember from that era, no hooks, no melodies, no riffs, although there were a couple but they soon disappeared into maiden molasses... same old same old, there's probably some good material in there somewhere but it smacks of steve and bruce simply linking ideas up into one single thread of base, synth suitar and a wittering vocal with nothing really to say... in a word 'overindulgence'... can already see the reviews of the next album saying 'we wanted to do something more immediate in the same vain as killers, beast, piece and slave'... 1 stars for avalon and the first song... lets hope its not the final frontier...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I don't like it.., 18 Aug. 2010
By 
L. A. Prince - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Final Frontier (Audio CD)
Whilst bands like Motorhead and Saxon still give us albums that stand up to their very best efforts-Maiden unfortunately do not.This release ranks as probably their 9th best album...surely even the most rabid fan would have to agree with that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Final Nail in Iron Maidens Coffin, 2 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Final Frontier (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of the lads since the Number of the Beast Tour, and it pains me to see this. A Matter of Life and Death was awful, but just a warning that this was coming..... the end of Maiden as all their fans knew them. This is now Emmerson, Lake and Palmer prog rock. There are no songs on here that I could hum to myself if I even wanted to, they are forgettable and tedious beyond belief. Pretty much every song is twice as long as it needs to be. I will be there on the tour, but I don't look forward to hearing these songs at all, still, they will provide plenty of time to get to the bar and back, whilst I wait for the classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The WORST Iron Maiden album ever....., 19 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Final Frontier (Audio CD)
I have been a massive Iron Maiden fan for ages. Fantastic albums, brilliant sounds, thunderous chorus lines etc...
The simple question is, what in Eddie's hell have they made here?!! An ok beginning to 'Satellite 15', 'Isle of Avalon' and 'Where the Wild Wind Blows' but even they then progress into a droning mish-mash of unstructured and totally disorganised sounds....like the rest of the album. They can't leave like this. One more album please guys to prove that this mess was just an illusion that didn't really happen. Listened to it twice and cringed. The WORST Iron Maiden album without doubt.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 19 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Final Frontier (Audio CD)
its maiden end of story the only song i find a little off is coming home but its OK other wise up the irons and buy it you will love it.!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 87 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Send Maiden to the farthest frontier - Not exactly Maiden Find The Lost Chord!, 15 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Final Frontier (Audio CD)
EVER FELT like you Can't Take Anymore (ANYMORE!) of Maiden's same old?

I'm sick of Bruce's inflections at the end of a lyric like in El Dorado, as in how he sings:

TEARS!
FEARS!
DEATH!
TOLD!
GOLD!

It's only marginally less irritating than Anton Maiden's works of art.

I'm tired of his whiny thin voice and operatic style. It's so difficult to hear him gasping Mooother of Mercy, then without pause go for the next line. Reminds me of the mouthful chorus for Montesegur. And he's not the only problem, just perhaps the most instantly noticable. The intro of Mercy is recycled from the intro of No More Lies. Here we go again...

I'm not against the new, precisely the opposite. All of it belongs to the past. That also goes for Dickinson's ponderous poetic quiet style of singing in Coming Home, and other places. Here's the old 'I'm only a soldier' schtick again.

Biggest overall album flaw: Lacks freshness as all the post-reunion material has. This is what the loyalist misses out on. They only note the fact that the melodies are new and haven't been done by Maiden before (that's because it is a new album), and admittedly there is more of a looser, less structured, what some might call "progressive" style. But all the Maiden trademarks that we heard a thousand times are here and makes me instantly tired and weary as the ancient mariner. It's just a few "new" ideas squeezed in with the old, a lot like new wine in old bottles. People have been playing the same 'progressive' ideas since the 70s and especially since the prog metal craze amongst naive listeners mostly in their teens/early twenties took off in the aftermath of Dream Theater.

A good example as any (or is that many) of Maiden sticking to the tired and true/old: The Alchemist - There are the hummable gallops (dum-de-de-dum, dum-de-de-dum), with Nicko plodding along, coupled with Bruce's strained old man howls, and a lame dual guitar riff. And still the 'true fan' will wet their knickers with the glee of a five year old that's been allowed to stay up late.

Isle of Avalon ... somebody decided to be "progressive" again. Which means more barely recycled riffs, even recreating the break from SSOASS at the 5:46 mark...resulting in a directionless mish-mash than should have been forgotten during the writing stage.

I heard half the album upto this point in one go then took a break to hear some good music, my senses were just crying out for something tasteful. I thought it would be a good idea to inject some positivity to this review too, by reviewing that other music I heard, so here's a quick review of Killers:

KILLERS: You can't criticise this album really! Awesome line-up, with a vocalist who doesn't lose his breath and yet keep singing. A drummer who had groove and ideas that had feel and no repetition. Purgatory, Genghis Khan, Killers, Innocent Exile, Twilight Zone, Prodigal Son, this can't be beat!!!

Now back to Final Frontier. This band really might have a slight chance if they got Blaze back. The singing is a major drag on the band. Actually I think they need to fire Nicko, and Adrian too. Harris should take a back seat and stick to focussing on live performances. Murray might regain his inspiration if he had other good song writers to work with.

Halfway through Starblind I started fast forwarding. This was too predictable, too ughh... the whole B-side... DO YOU HONESTLY NOT SEE HOW OLD THIS IS??

For the poor musically starved people, the bare minimum of variation has become a masterwork. I'm reminded of a certain president promising change and fooling a good many.

Do I have to explain how wrong the fans and reviews have it? According to Rock Sound, the album is "an essay on death, war, adventure and the human condition" and says that it "might sound alien at first." Ofcourse not a single IM album going back to the 80s has not had these major themes, (The previous album and X Factor were almost all about war) but the moe rons will insist that this is all somehow fresh.

MASS GULLIBILITY.

Accept it, Maiden IS OLD.

I though Dance of Death and AMOLAD were horrible but this is going too far. The bad songs are now 7 minutes average, one after the other!

Find yourself something new to listen to and salvage what's left of your taste if you can.

If anyone is planning on telling me that this needs a couple of listens before you can understand its complexity, I will say only this: GROW UP. You're only fooling yourself, telling yourself that this rehashed mess is challenging anyone but yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Final Frontier?, 18 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Final Frontier (Audio CD)
This is Slow Paced and Bruce, singing out of Tune. i can't listen to it. Worst Album Ever. Where's the brilliant Guitar Solos and fast paced Music? Maybe they are too old to play, Fast. Time to Quit. So disappointing. Thumbs down on this bad effort. Avoid it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly bad!, 21 Aug. 2010
By 
J. May (Oxford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Final Frontier (Audio CD)
Not that I have ever been a great fan but like to listen to different sounds so this has found it's way onto my playlist with others by the band over the years.
I am always amazed at how little they can cram onto the available media for a start. They couldn't even fill a vinyl disk so to expect value for money on a CD is a bit unlikely.

The music as usual is muddy and ill thought out. Banal lyrics shouted over fumbled and fudged guitars. Watch out for the overdubs! If there were that many guys in the band they couldn't ALL be that bad!

I wont drone on as this is the area of devotees, not the disenchanted! But take a tip and LISTEN to the damn thing before you buy, you may be more disappointed than you thought...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars for those who loved iron maiden for their short sharp songs stick with paul dianno,, 17 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Final Frontier (Audio CD)
unfortunatley the reason why i give this album 1 star is that the album's tracks are firstly to long, coupled with the excessive guitar noodling at each beginning of some of the tracks like satellite 15. the final frontier to name a few, thirdly Bruce Dickinson sounds like he has the lungs of a person who has smoked 60 marlboro cigerettes a day especially on El Dorado which lacked the trademark agression and passion he injected into such classic tracks like "Aces High" and "The Trooper".

Other people and magazines may think this album is a masterpiece of epic proportions but Steve Harris should take into account that some fans like me have short attention spans and get bored easily making tracks over 6-8 minutes long especially if some tracks start off for about 3-4minutes full of excessive instrumental fooling about before Bruce unleashes his warn out air raid siren vocals which gets me thinking that i hope this is the last album as no disrepect to brucie and the boys but even if they make another album 3 or 4 years later i won't be rushing into the shops to buy it if its anything similar to the final frontier should they get round to it even though they have often said it may or may not be the last album they have ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Final Frontier
The Final Frontier by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews