Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXACTLY AS EXPECTED
With a name like "Hot Tub Time Machine" I didn't expect a sophisticated movie. I expected a 1980's style sex comedy with gratuitous nudity, potty humor, and a couple of good jokes. That is exactly what you get.

Four people with dead end miserable lives go to a resort that three of them once stayed at back in 1986. They go with the intent to cheer up Rob...
Published 21 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice title, full of promise
Adam (John Cusack) and his buddies Nick (Craig Robinson) and Lou (Rob Corddry) and his nephew Jacob (Clark Duke), have run a "down and out" sort of life. They get naked together and are washed back to the year 1987 where they have an opportunity to reflect and correct old attitudes. Will they take advantage of this opportunity or just relive their poor choices that let...
Published on 7 Aug. 2010 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXACTLY AS EXPECTED, 18 Jun. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
With a name like "Hot Tub Time Machine" I didn't expect a sophisticated movie. I expected a 1980's style sex comedy with gratuitous nudity, potty humor, and a couple of good jokes. That is exactly what you get.

Four people with dead end miserable lives go to a resort that three of them once stayed at back in 1986. They go with the intent to cheer up Rob Corddry, who they believed attempted suicide, when really he just did something stupid. The place is run down and not as they remembered. While drinking in the hot tub they get transported back into time. Chevy Chase makes an appearance as a Hot Tub repair man and hints that they need to do everything the same, or else they might alter the future. Attempting to remember all the bad and good things that happened that night, they go out to reproduce it, finding it equally hard to not to change the past as it is to change it.

The movie includes music from 1986 as well as frequent drug use, drinking, and sex. Chevy Chase's role is almost cameo. A great movie to watch with the guys and have a few beers as long as you are higher than your expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Tub Time Machine, 12 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was hillarious! Great comedy with a very funny cast. Dont be put off by some of the negative reviews for this film its well worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky Time Transporter, 18 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
My husband and I are fortunate in being able to have originally got the chance to see hot tub time machine back in early 2010 when it was released in movie theaters (we were still living in Orlando, florida during this time and saw hot tub time machine in a movie theater that was just a couple of miles from the university of central florida). Anyhow, imagine my delight when I saw this hot tub time machine dvd featured at my job as a holiday promo and I paid less than 3 dollars for this. It was fun getting the chance to watch this movie again of men who are given another chance to change their lives when they unintentionally are taken back to the time when they were teenagers. Obviously, the front of the dvd cover features john cusack, rob cordory, craig robinson, clark duke, and chevy chase. The dvd gives you a choice of the unrated and theatrical version. My husband and I enjoyed watching this move so much that we both agreed that we are definitely going to eventually check out hot tub time machine 2 ( we're just currently undecided whether we are going to see it in the movies or once it is on dvd). The plot to hot tub time machine is fun to watch because the men are given the chance to go back in time to when they vacationed at a popular ski resort together. There is a giant stuffed teddy bear image on the actual dvd and the following trailers' modern family, our family wedding, and date night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to pass the time, 3 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
O.K.
The title is a bit naff, the script is a bit iffy and the time travel part of it doesnt really stand up to heavy scrutiny, but its a comedy.
Honestly, sometimes I wonder if some people need laughter tacks adding inorder to know if things are funny, I fully understand that not everyone will find it funny, but to criticise a film because it does not have enough sjkiing in it is a little beyond me, after all, who can remember the now famous "Strange adventures in middle class sports involving time travel" series, the most memorable being "stange adventures in 80s skiing" where 4 people go back in time to the 80s and spend 75 minutes skiing then falling over and people wondering why they were dressed diffrent and used boards instead of skis, hilarious, my favourite part was when the mai charactar fell over and broke his leg after getting his skis and sticks tangled. Another example in the series was "Strange adventures of Rupert bear in golfing" Where Rupert bear gets transported forward in time and gets confused for a 70s golfer because of hos trousers, he then spends the next 90 minutes missing balls, getting holes in one and having a tantrum, I was in stitches, laughing so much I nearly coughed up my spleen, the only downside of the entire series was the commentry in the the background......
Come to think of it, both these films could have been the reult of me watching sports programs whilst being under the influence..
Anyway, back to "Hot tub time machine" I didnt like the title, so avoided it for ages, but finally watched it expecting very little and was pleasantly surprised, yes I did find it funny, yes, as I said before, it has faults, but what the heck, it was a good way to spend some time and brighten up my evening.
Buy it you have a good chance of enjoying it, if you dont, then you are hard to please and should probably watch Ski Sunday or International pro celebrity golf for your laughs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 12 May 2013
By 
laidback (Manchester, Englad) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
As an 80s kid this does bring back some good memories of the time (and some dodgy ones). top film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest film I've seen for ages, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant concep, with a nice twist on usual time-travel plots. Hilarious, even after watching it a few times. Hope there will be a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD], 15 Feb. 2013
By 
C. L. Podbery - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
Great film full of 80's rock music. A group of guys go back in time with hilarious outcome. All round funny film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love time travel, hot tubs and the 80's...., 6 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
...then you can't go wrong with Hot Tub Time Machine. It helps to have a silly sense of humour, or any sense of humour, to enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice title, full of promise, 7 Aug. 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Adam (John Cusack) and his buddies Nick (Craig Robinson) and Lou (Rob Corddry) and his nephew Jacob (Clark Duke), have run a "down and out" sort of life. They get naked together and are washed back to the year 1987 where they have an opportunity to reflect and correct old attitudes. Will they take advantage of this opportunity or just relive their poor choices that let them their present life.

The formula is as old as the hills. Nevertheless, it is always nice to see the old actors and watch their rendition of confrontation with life changing opportunities. What would you do if you could do it over?
My only disappointment was expecting something a tad more feminine in the tub.

If you like this formula a more sedate version is:
The Family Man

If you were expecting a hot tub, a better mix is:
Eating Raoul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HTTM, 27 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
Hot Tub Time Machine is an amusing romp through 1986 where a group of mates have travelled back in time via a hot tub at their ski resort.

Its very amusing and the, "Butterfly Effect," is evident upon their actions.

A feel good movie with an uplifting ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD]
£22.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews