Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent period film.
This is a little gem of a film - based on Robert Kaplow`s fictionalised account of the landmark 1937 Mercury Theatre production of Julius Caesar directed by Orson Welles.
Christian McKay gives an entirely credible performance as Welles and the re-creation of the production itself is marvellously evocative; at the time the play caused quite a stir with its...
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by J. Mcdonald

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Job
I thought that Zac played is role well, It was reasonably entertaining, I like period dramas and was pleasantly please with the overall proformance. I watch for relaxation and do not like any thing to heavy. This was pleasing to me.
Published 16 months ago by Maggie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Job, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me and Orson Welles [DVD] (DVD)
I thought that Zac played is role well, It was reasonably entertaining, I like period dramas and was pleasantly please with the overall proformance. I watch for relaxation and do not like any thing to heavy. This was pleasing to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Me And Orson Welles, 21 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. Brian Nuttall (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me and Orson Welles [DVD] (DVD)
Worth buying just to watch the spell binding performance by Christian McKay. His portrayal of Wells will never be surpassed....ever!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars same old advert-made-it-look-so-much-better film, 7 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me and Orson Welles [DVD] (DVD)
It's always tricky playing the part of a person who people have seen films of... Christopher McKay was going to be compared to Orson Welles in all respects.

Critics have generally gave him extremely positive reviews. I felt like he did an excellent job, but there was still a lack of the fire that made Orson. Zac Efron and Claire Danes were both asthetically pleasing. The movie was generally good natured and gentle, it had a few excellent moments, the soundtrack was good... but as with almost every film, the trailer made it look SO much better than it was.

Having said that, I'm glad I watched it. The backdrop looked amazing, and the initial premise of the film was also very interesting. There is only one part I can recall that was not family-friendly, where a few of the lads were discussing Claire Danes' character in a vulgar way.

Worth seeing if your expectations are not too high. Certainly not a bad film by any means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 15 Sep 2010
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Me and Orson Welles [DVD] (DVD)
It is 1937, and high school senior Richard (Zac Efron) dreams of being an actor. A chance meeting with 22-year old Orson Welles (Christian McKay) results in a bit part in Welles' groundbreaking, modern-dress version of "Julius Caesar" soon to open on Broadway. During a week of rehearsals at the Mercury Theatre, Richard is befriended by the cast and crew including Welles' assistant, Sonja (Claire Danes) while he tries to understand his flamboyant and temperamental boss.

I think this movie was meant to bring Zac Efron out of teenage musicals and into more serious roles, but it doesn't succeed. His character is bland and forgettable and he lacks charisma. His hipp mannerisms and speech are so contemporary that he looks out of place in the thirties. His love interest, played by Claire Danes, is also colorless and boring. Nothing that happened to or between Richard and Sonja was interesting or memorable. On the other hand, Christian McKay looks and sounds so much like the larger-than-life Welles that one forgets he's not the real thing. Welles' arrogance and theatricality and his brilliant wit make him a dazzling, shining star and he is the entire show.

The plot is tedious and, with the exception of Welles, the characters are dreary, so I recommend this movie only to fans of Welles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars McKay and Chaplin Shine!, 30 April 2011
This review is from: Me and Orson Welles [DVD] (DVD)
This period drama set in 1937 is o.k but hardly great except for the excellent performance of McKay as Orson Welles and Ben Chaplin as the actor playing Marc Anthony in Orson Welles production of Julius Caesar. Zac Efron lacks the ability to carry this film and this is why the film ultimately fails to impress, fans of High School will be disappointed as this is nothing like that film. It also says this was directed by the director of School of Rock, for fans of school of rock FYI this is also nothing like that film. An enjoyable film if at the same time being nothing out of the ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars indulgence, 2 Aug 2010
By 
O. P. Cullen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Me and Orson Welles [DVD] (DVD)
i have to admit that i bought this movie pureley cos i had just seen 17 again with Zac Efron, and im wanted to see just how versatile he can be and i wasn't dissapointed, th movie is a good story not a great one but the character selection brings it to a pleasurable experience. i don't know if i'll watch it a second time or pass it on to friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 21 April 2010
By 
Nobody (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Me and Orson Welles [DVD] (DVD)
To be quite honest I was enormously disappointed by this film. I have in the past enjoyed several of Richard Linklater's film like "Slacker" (1991), "Dazed and Confused" (1993) and "Waking Life" (2001) so have always had a measure of expectation when viewing anything new he does. So add to that a film about Orson Welles and I become excited really. The film is based around Orson Welles preparation for his theatre production of "Julius Caesar" in 1937 which was done in modern dress, however this film ironically is done as period piece which sits at odds with what Orson Welles would have done given the same opportunity. The casting of Zac Efron (whoever he is, a teen heart-throb I'm informed) in the lead is a mistake and seems incredibly cynical because he is out performed in almost every scene he is in. Christian McKay does an excellent job in his portrayal of Charles Foster Kane (whoops) I mean Orson Welles via Charles Foster Kane. You see this is a problem because the character had all the mannerism, facial expressions and bravado of CFK. I'm sure a great director and actor like Orson Welles would have severely critical of the formalistic approach in this film. But then again I don't think it was marketed to anyone who actually knows who Orson Welles was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Me and Orson Welles [DVD]
Me and Orson Welles [DVD] by Richard Linklater (DVD - 2011)
2.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews