Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a really good film well worth watching
a really good film well worth watching. its scary frightening and even gruesome but its about predatory lions its shot in south africa which is a bonus and a pleasure to watch. i liked all the actors especially crawford the south african hunter who only hunts the big five the lions are terric but i found the very ending a bit far fetched. well worth watching the...
Published 5 months ago by david robinson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Out here, you're the endangered species...
American hydraulic engineer, Tom Newman, has just arrived in Africa to work on a dam. He's brought along his daughter Jessica, son David and his new wife Amy. David has taken to Amy really well, but there's a lot of tension between Jessica and Amy, as Jessica is still struggling to come to terms with her parents divorce. Tom has to go off and work but has set up a game...
Published 22 months ago by West25


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Out here, you're the endangered species..., 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prey [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
American hydraulic engineer, Tom Newman, has just arrived in Africa to work on a dam. He's brought along his daughter Jessica, son David and his new wife Amy. David has taken to Amy really well, but there's a lot of tension between Jessica and Amy, as Jessica is still struggling to come to terms with her parents divorce. Tom has to go off and work but has set up a game drive for his wife and kids hoping that Amy and Jessica will bond, but things don't go to plan when the ranger decides to go off-road and they're set upon by a pack of hungry lions. They're going to need to survive the heat and lions in the hope that Tom will find them, who has convinced a local hunter called Crawford to help him find them.

Bridget Moynahan is good as Amy, I liked the way she played the character and I really liked the way she interacted with the kids, especially her relationship with Jessica. As good as she is, she does suffer now and again when the script demands that she makes stupid decisions. Moynahan has had a pretty decent career with roles in I, Robot, Lord Of War, Unknown and Battle Los Angeles, but has only recently really enjoyed success with a starring role in the TV series, Blue Bloods. Carly Schroeder is excellent as Jessica, she makes her character's unwarranted hatred towards Amy very believable, she's so moody and stroppy that I really disliked Jessica until the second half of the movie. Schroeder is probably best known for a recurring role on Lizzie McGuire, an excellent independent film called Mean Creek and Firewall with Harrison Ford. Conner Dowds doesn't get as much to do as David, but does it quite well. He hasn't appeared in another film since Prey. Peter Weller is probably the biggest name in the cast as Tom, he's good but isn't in the film that much as the film concentrates more on his trapped family. Weller is best known as playing Alex J. Murphy/Robocop in the first two Robocop movies, he was also the main star of the short lived TV series, Odyssey 5.

It's directed by South African Darrell Roodt, he's made a lot of films, most of which I've never heard of, but he does a pretty good job here. It's beautifully filmed and the African wilderness looks fantastic, hot and barren. There's also a couple of scenes of genuine tension when the lions attack, it's just let down a little by the characters doing silly things, which Roodt is partly to blame for as he co-wrote the screenplay with Beau Bauman and Jeff Wadlow. Bauman and Wadlow were the team that made Cry_Wolf a few years earlier, a film I seemed to enjoy more than most. Wadlow has come a long way since those films, he's recently directed Kick-Ass 2.

I love that the lions in Prey aren't genetically engineered or mutated, they're just normal, hungry African lions and lions are scary. It looks like real lions were used for most of the film, and the scenes of them attacking and jumping all over the stranded jeep are really well shot. There's just far too many long pauses between attacks where the film gets a little boring, you never really feel that the three central characters are ever in danger and the stupid decisions the characters make seem to be done just to stretch out the running time. There was probably four or five times in the film where I said out loud "why are are you doing that?" or "that was dumb", but it didn't ruin my enjoyment of the film as I always try and be prepared to suspend my disbelief when watching a film.

The DVD picture quality is great. There's English, Spanish and Hindi subtitles, and an option of a Spanish audio track. There's not many extras, a bunch of trailers and a 22 minute making of with some behind the scenes footage and interviews with the cast and crew. Prey is a valiant attempt at a suspenseful animal attack film, but it never really scares or entertains enough to be great. It's similar to another animal attacker called Bear, both involve a group of people trapped inside a vehicle while there's a natural wild animal trying to get them, but the best trapped inside a vehicle animal horror is still Cujo. Well worth a watch if you can ignore how many silly things the characters do, and the lions are a joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'A STRUGGLE FOR SURVIVAL', 14 Feb. 2015
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Prey [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
this films story line isn't bad.
based on a true story.
A family go on a 'Safari' break at a animal reserve, the father 'Tom' also has business in the area with a dam construction.the children are left with prospective 'step-mum' while father works, daughter 'Jessica' resents the woman in her dads life.
The family minus dad go on a 'Safari' ride with the park warden at the wheel as their guide.
The children are getting bored as they sight no animals so the warden takes them off road in search of wild life.
When young 'David' needs a 'call of nature' the warden parks up and takes the lad to a out of sight spot, trouble is there is a small pride of hungry Lions previously unsighted close by.well the warden and the boy have to return to the vehicle before they become the 'menu' for the Lions this is

the start of a terrifying couple of days, trapped in the vehicle, keys missing, no water or food, and some very hungry Lions trying to get them.
their only hope is that the centre where they are staying send out search parties in time or the father returning from work finds a way to get to them, the chase is on.
The only good thing happening is the children and the 'prospective 'step -mum' 'Amy' need each other and are bonding.

Will the 'ranger's or the father' reach them in time ?
This is a film to watch rather than buy, after watching it who knows, depends how you feel about it. the film does have some 'graphic' scenes, and is also tense at times, a popcorn and drink time perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a really good film well worth watching, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prey [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
a really good film well worth watching. its scary frightening and even gruesome but its about predatory lions its shot in south africa which is a bonus and a pleasure to watch. i liked all the actors especially crawford the south african hunter who only hunts the big five the lions are terric but i found the very ending a bit far fetched. well worth watching the extra on the making of the film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie about dangers in the wild, 28 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prey [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
movie well made, african bush with lions and stupid ranger that paid with his life for getting off track. Lost family in wild being watched and attacked by lions. Good movie and not far from facts like other movies are. could be great as a gift for person that loves wildlife and africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC MOVIE, 27 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prey [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
DEAR ONES,
IAM INTERESTED IN WILD LIFE MOVIES.RECENTLY ,I ORDERED PREY FROM AMAZON--U.K.THE MOVIE IS REALLY FANTASTIC.I ALWAYS BELIEVE THAT IT IS GAMBLING BY GOING TO TIGER RESERVE SAFARI & UNABLE TO SITE A TIGER.IT IS WASTE OF TIME &MONEY.TO SUBSTITUTE IT,I PREFER WATCHING THESE TYPE OF MOVIES.
THIS MOVIES IS VERY INTERESTING AS WELL AS THRILLING.I WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE & MORE THESE TYPES.
ITS ALWAYS ADVISEABLE TO WATCH WILD LIFE MOVIES IN SAFE CORRIDORS OF YOUR HOMES RATHER THAN TAKING UNDUE RISKS WITH TIGERS OR LIONS.

I REALLY APPRECIATE THE EFFORTS OF AMAZON--U.K. FOR PROVIDING THIS MOVIE TO ME IN INDIA.THIS DVD IS NOT AVAILABLE IN INDIA.THEY ARE SUPERB PEOPLE AT AMAZON--U.K.THEY BELIEVE IN GOODNESS & HONESTY.HERE IS AN INCIDENT--WHEN I FIRST ORDERED DVD OF PREY ON 10 TH JAN11,I NEVER RECEIVED THE DVD TILL DUE DATE.I INFORMED THEM & THEY ADVISED ME TO WAIT TILL 08-02-2011.I DID SO.I AGAIN INFORMED THEM THAT I HAD NOT RECEIVED THE DVD OF PREY.THEY IMMEDIATELY DISPATCHED THE SAME.I RECEIVED THE SAME ON 25 TH FEB.2011.
IAM HIGHLY IMPRESSED BY THEIR PROFESSIONAL ATTITUDE.IAM HIGHLY INDEBTED TO THEM FOR THIS EMOTIONAL GOOD GESTURE OF THEIRS'.

CAPT.RAVI CHATURVEDI,GURGAON---NEWDELHI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I don't want to see an animal eats human film that's scarier, 31 Oct. 2007
By 
J. I. De Beresford "safemouse" (Farnham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prey [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
In my view, this is a good film, worth seeing, that never quite becomes a great one. Without giving too much away, what stops it being great is how it doesn't cash in on all the potential the film has. Just about everything is done well, but it's sitting on gold that isn't completely mined. From the way things were shot when people ran away to the way plotlines were developed, to scripting. Yes, more drama, better characterisation and more fear could have been wrung out of it. I don't think Hollywood would have managed a better script but they might have milked the action and suspense better. On the other hand, my nerves had about as much as they wanted to take and I was glad it ended when it did. And sometimes action films just become over active and this doesn't really stray into too far into silly territory. The work with lions is great. No CGI, it's pretty much all the real thing, and you can see in a good making of and B roll how they did it. The story isn't just about lions chasing people, it's about humans bonding and this theme is crafted quite well, albeit treading a well-beaten path. When the film ends it feels a bit like we've been cheated of 20 minutes, even half an hour or more of story. The people-phobic South African hunter is a fantastic character to have in a film, I think he should have been used more. In terms of the scare factor, enthusiasts may want more, laypersons may find it hard to watch but will want to see it through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dont get out of the Land Rover..., 30 Jan. 2008
By 
P. Dennett "Pete" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Picture the scene: Daddy's new young wife, stroppy teenage daughter and lovable son go off for a game drive in a South African game park. Young lad needs to go... Safari guide points him to a bush and stands guard. Lions see boy and guide, boy is the faster runner... A fun little romp, a bit gory in parts but quite well shot and nice scenery. A must see safety film for people about to go on Safari.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent film so long as you don't expect too much., 31 Dec. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This isn't a bad film so long as you don't have high expectations. It's a fairly tense and well acted "people trapped in a vehicle with the keys outside and hungry animals trying to get in" type of film. Nothing new, and not overly gory, but it is well done and there are some great shots of the lions (no cgi). The characters are also likeable and believable.

It's not as good as "The Ghost and the Darkness" (which one reviewer, I feel unfairly--given that film had A-list actors and a far bigger budget--compares it to) but it is better than many low-budget creature features around and worth a watch if you are in the mood for something like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, Poor, Poor, 10 Nov. 2007
By 
S. Moriarty "Suze" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME ON THIS FILM. IF I COULD GIVE IT NO STARS I WOULD!

If you take the basic concept of this film, wild animal attacks stranded people, it sounds that at least on a gore / chill factor angle you can't go wrong!

Not only do you NOT see any (I recall one scene) of carnage but the affects are awful, blood looks fake...etc.
The film also begins with old real footage of lion/tiger attack on a Zebra. I mean, were the people that produced this film struggling so much - for the need to throw in a clip that wouldn't look out of place on the nature Discovery channel.

Oh btw, neither the plot, actor/actresses save this film it is completely dire! The animals do a better job acting!

If you want to watch a similar themed film done brilliantly - watch or at least browse 'THE GHOST AND THE DARKNESS'. 'The Ghost and the Darkness' is not only a film that captures the essence of the lions but the backdrop as well as plot is just astounding. Not to mention it is based loosely on true events. It's eerie, at points quite gruesome, but beautiful to the eye!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dont get out of the land rover...., 30 Jan. 2008
By 
P. Dennett "Pete" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prey [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Picture the scene: Daddy's new young wife, stroppy teenage daughter and lovable son go off for a game drive in a South African game park. Young lad needs to go... Safari guide points him to a bush and stands guard. Lions see boy and guide, boy is the faster runner... A fun little romp, a bit gory in parts but quite well shot and nice scenery. A must see safety film for people about to go on Safari.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prey [Blu-ray] [2007] [US Import]
Prey [Blu-ray] [2007] [US Import] by Peter Weller (Blu-ray - 2010)
Used & New from: £5.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews