Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars un-be-effering-lievably good
With so many dodgy concert DVDs around I'm grateful to the other Amazon reviewers of this disc for convincing me to part with my hard earned cash to purchase this DVD.
If ever there was or is a band that really should play with a full orchestra it has to be the complex and classically structured musical style of Yes. The blend of individual musical expertise...
Published on 23 Jun 2004 by Smokey Joe

versus
3 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ageing Hippies
I've followed Yes and bought their albums since I was a school boy in 1971. Oh dear, oh deary-me! What has happened to Yes? Specifically, Symphonic Yes?
Yes were at the creative and playing hight from 1971 until 1974 and it's gone downhill ever since (with the exception of the odd track, here and there). And to see Jon Anderson 'ponce'-around like some spaced-out,...
Published on 22 May 2005 by David Hulme


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars un-be-effering-lievably good, 23 Jun 2004
This review is from: Symphonic Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
With so many dodgy concert DVDs around I'm grateful to the other Amazon reviewers of this disc for convincing me to part with my hard earned cash to purchase this DVD.
If ever there was or is a band that really should play with a full orchestra it has to be the complex and classically structured musical style of Yes. The blend of individual musical expertise interwoven with the sympathetic and tasteful orchestral arrangements is nothing short of breathtaking in it delivery. I was a little suspect of a line-up without Mr Wakeman but when you think about it - with a full orchestral backing, would he not have been either swamped or a little redundant?
Anyway, what you have here is 4 of the original musicians, each at the peak of their powers delivering the performance of a lifetime. This is a CD you (and you and I) will probably watch again and again. Fortunately, it contains a good mix of material old and new. As a guitarist, I of course, cannot help but slaver over both Steve Howe's skill and his guitar collection. Being able to watch his technique close up, will be a major delight of this DVD if the guitar is your instrument of choice.
However, that said, I derived as much pleasure watching the impeccable drumming and bass playing of Mssrs White and Squires, respectively. And Jon Anderson must be doing something right because his voice is still as entrancing as it was 30 years ago when I was fortunate enough to catch the entire Tales of Topographic Oceans live, at the Guildhall Portsmouth.
OK, if you are a Yes fan, you'll need this - don't bother with some of the other Yes DVDs, this IS the real deal. If like me you are returning to the music of your youth, sit down, tune in, turn on and have a great evening. A generous (194 minutes), well produced, quality audio DVD worth every penny of the admission price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes - Sympohnic Blu, 21 Sep 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Yes have about 19 different concerts available on the market, from all different eras, with countless different line-ups and of differing quality. Yes Symphonic Live has the unique selling point of being performed live in conjunction with a Symphony Orchestra.

The sound and visuals are top notch (apart from some cheesy, but thankfully short animations) and there are no major complaints to be made about the camera work or editing. The sound is equally impressive, balancing your need to hear the band's performance with your desire to hear the Orchestra's addition well.

The actual performance is strong too, this concert stands on its own merits and is not worthwhile only because of the Orchestra's involvement. Howe, White, Squire and Anderson are on rare form and deliver classic material like "And You And I" and "Long Distance Runaround" with passion and precision.

The tracklisting too, is perfect for this type of event. The material concentrates on Yes's grander and more symphonic works, the band manage to play three of their longest compositions "Close to the Edge," "The Gates of Delirium," and "Ritual" all in the same three hour concert. The track listing comprises primarily of material from the band's classic Wakeman/Howe/Anderson period (from `The Yes Album,' until `Going For The One') although there are one or two songs from their post millennial, orchestral album `Magnification,' in addition to the 1980s smash hit "Owner Of A Lonely Heart," which is the sole Trevor Rabin composition in the set.

Despite the heavy leanings on Wakeman era material, Rick himself is absent from the band during this recording and the keyboards are handled by the talented Tom Brislin, who makes a more than capable replacement.

Many other bands release Orchestral concerts (Kansas, ELP, Ian Anderson, Deep Purple, Kiss, Metallica and Serj Tankian, to name a few) and they usually deliver something interesting, providing a new spin to the music and inspiring the original musician's to give it their all. This is no exception and could even be described as one of the best examples of this sort of collaboration. After all, their albums `Time And A Word' and `Magnification' have given Yes Orchestra experience before and their music is so frequently described ad grand or symphonic on its own merits.

Overall, I highly recommend this Blu Ray to a first time buyer, however if you already have the DVD it isn't really all that essential for Upgrading, sure the sound is marginally better and the picture is a higher resolution obviously, if that is enough then by all means get the Blu Ray version, otherwise don't pick it up if you are happy enough with your existing copy; Yes put in a brilliant performance, it looks and sounds good, they play The Gates Of Delirium and the Orchestra adds considerably to the experience, but all that applies to the DVD edition as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prog-tastic!, 4 Jan 2005
This review is from: Symphonic Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I was 'lucky' enough to have seen Yes live in 2004 at Wembley Arena on their 35th Anniversary tour. It wasn't the best concert I've ever seen, but then it was Wembley with its famous accoustics (if it takes you 8 bars to recognise 'going for the one' you're in trouble). However, I'd have given my eye teeth to have been at one of the Symphonic concerts if this DVD is any indication of what they were like! It's recordings like this which make you want to weep with frustration that you weren't there. Personally, I thought the chappie playing keyboards (a young Ben Stiller look-alike) was not only talented but also enthusiastic which made him an improvement on the perenially miserable Wakeman (sorry Rick - but the BBC don't have you on 'Grumpy Old Men' for nothing - even if you do manage to crack the odd smile on the YesSpeak documentary). The band were positive and very 'together' and the orchestra - any time they're having a party, I'm in there! Nobody - at all - seemed to be having anything other than a good time! Especially the oboe player and the French horns! I've never seen an orchestra get up and start dancing along before this... We've had the DVD for about three weeks and have watched it about 15 times by now.
If you're pondering about which concert DVD to get - don't. House of Yes is OK. 35th Anniversary Tour is OK. But this is sublime. AND you get the bonus of a CD of some of the concert too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless!, 8 Feb 2005
By 
Youri (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
Get this DVD, find three hours of spare time (some good wine may also come handy), and enjoy the Yes magic: you will be amazed at the quality of this show!
At last the magic and power of Yes performance was caught on DVD with proper quality both of video and audio - the picture and sound are both great, DTS surround track is incredible.
I am not going to give you the details - you will see it yourself, here is just my impression of this magnificent show.
The band is at its best - the musicians are enjoying the show, and the orchestra gives the band as good as it gets, really having a good time on stage. The interaction of the band and the orchestra is a creative one; they complement each other giving Yes music another dimension: just check the brilliant performance of my all-time Yes favorites "The Gates of Delirium" and "Close to the Edge"!
Standing ovation of the audience is its way of sincere appreciation of timeless music and unforgettable evening.
This DVD is an exemplary case when everything's in proper place: excellent performance of the band/orchestra and exceptional quality of DVD itself. This is definitely the best Yes DVD so far.
This DVD is a must - you will enjoy the show over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Yes DVD -epic in scale, power and beauty, 21 Sep 2003
By 
S. Lindgren - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Symphonic Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Symphonic probably marks the high point of Yes DVD's so far. If you love Yes, you'll love this. If you dislike them, you will loath it beyond all comprehension. Good! I loved Keys to Ascension (the last one), but here things are lifted to the next level. But -I'll get it over with now; this is basically the tour for the Magnification album. No bad thing, but it does mean, of course, that Rick Wakeman isn't on board. Which is a pity for Wakeman-heads like myself. I appreciate that not everyone likes Rick -fine. You won't worry then. Me, I miss him. Tom Brislin is great, no question, but for me, Rick was always the greatest keyboardist of all time. (with Yes, or solo. If you choose to disagree, then fair enough -I would be the last to impose my views upon anyone). Tom does a worthy job however, albeit without quite the subtlety (yes, I did say that) creativity and delicate touch Rick brings. Good for all that though.
But this concert is wonderful. All the classic Yes members are on top form -Jon is in the best voice I've ever heard him; Chris is his usual ballistic self on bass, and particularly with Ritual, we finally have a visual of his use of bass as a lead instrument (rare indeed). Alan is as quick and crisp as he's ever been, and Steve is floating off somewhere in the majority of tracks with that beautiful touch only he can provide since the tragic death of Rory Gallagher. Oh, and the European Festival Orchestra is with them. Did I forget to mention that? (shark-like grin). And they are terrific; they lend a power, creativity and a depth to the huge scale of Yes's always classically influenced music that brings it into a new dimension, and their enthusiasm is astouding. The selection of tracks is fascinating, with a fine mix of older and more recent, all presented with an addictive bite.
The DVD quality is good, with a crisp picture and decent production. Stereo mixing is fine, Dolby 5.1 good, but DTS streets ahead. Worth every penney. The second disk is fun, too, but its the concert, recorded in Amsterdam, that will remain with you. Gloriously excessive (come on, be honest now, it's Yes, and Yes are progressive-rock. Of course it's excessive!), yet it is also musically uniquely unpretentious, for the music is what this disk is about. A real high-point. Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, yes, oh yes!!, 28 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Symphonic Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I really just want to confirm what has been written by the previous reviewers. The music of Yes lends itself so well to orchestration. You can see them all, Jon Anderson, Steve Howe, Chris Squire, Alan White, Tom Brislin (keyboards) and the entire orchestra relishing this concert. A truly magnificent sound, especially the epics "Gates of Delirium" and "Ritual".
Buy this DVD, put it in the machine, turn on the telly, settle down in your favourite chair with perhaps a beer or two, turn up the surround sound and let Yes and the European Festival Orchestra take you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless!, 31 Jan 2008
By 
Youri (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
Get this DVD, find three hours of spare time (some good wine may also come handy), and enjoy the Yes magic: you will be amazed at the quality of this show!

At last the magic and power of Yes performance was caught on DVD with proper quality both of video and audio - the picture and sound are both great, DTS surround track is incredible.
I am not going to give you the details - you will see it yourself, here is just my impression of this magnificent show.

The band is at its best - the musicians are enjoying the show, and the orchestra gives the band as good as it gets, really having a good time on stage. The interaction of the band and the orchestra is a creative one; they complement each other giving Yes music another dimension: just check the brilliant performance of my all-time Yes favorites "The Gates of Delirium" and "Close to the Edge"!

Standing ovation of the audience is its way of sincere appreciation of timeless music and unforgettable evening.

This DVD is an exemplary case when everything's in proper place: excellent performance of the band/orchestra and exceptional quality of DVD itself. This is definitely the best Yes DVD so far.

This DVD is a must - you will enjoy the show over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes Symphonic, 2 July 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Symphonic Live [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Yes have about 19 different concerts available on the market, from all different eras, with countless different line-ups and of differing quality. Yes Symphonic Live has the unique selling point of being performed live in conjunction with a Symphony Orchestra.

The sound and visuals are top notch (apart from some cheesy, but thankfully short animations) and there are no major complaints to be made about the camera work or editing. The sound is equally impressive, balancing your need to hear the band's performance with your desire to hear the Orchestra's addition well.

The actual performance is strong too, this concert stands on its own merits and is not worthwhile only because of the Orchestra's involvement. Howe, White, Squire and Anderson are on rare form and deliver classic material like "And You And I" and "Long Distance Runaround" with passion and precision.

The tracklisting too, is perfect for this type of event. The material concentrates on Yes's grander and more symphonic works, the band manage to play three of their longest compositions "Close to the Edge," "The Gates of Delirium," and "Ritual" all in the same concert three hour concert. The track listing comprises primarily of material from the band's classic Wakeman/Howe/Anderson period (from 'The Yes Album,' until 'Going For The One') although there are one or two songs from their post millennial, orchestral album 'Magnification,' in addition to the 1980s smash hit "Owner Of A Lonely Heart," which is the sole Trevor Rabin composition in the set.

Despite the heavy leanings on Wakeman era material, Rick himself is absent from the band during this recording and the keyboards are handled by the talented Tom Brislin, who makes a more than capable replacement.

Many other bands release Orchestral concerts (Kansas, ELP, Ian Anderson, Deep Purple, Kiss, Metallica and Serj Tankian, to name a few) and they usually deliver something interesting, providing a new spin to the music and inspiring the original musician's to give it their all. This is no exception and could even be described as one of the best examples of this sort of collaboration. After all, their albums 'Time And A Word' and 'Magnification' have given Yes Orchestra experience before and their music is so frequently described ad grand or symphonic on its own merits.

Overall, I highly recommend this DVD; Yes put in a brilliant performance, it looks and sounds good, they play The Gates Of Delirium and the Orchestra adds considerably to the experience. What more could you ask for ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 4 Jan 2008
By 
Given that the band are accompanied by a youth orchestra this turns out to be quite a surprisingly enjoyable experience as you'd probably expect the orchestra to be a litte naff - not so at all. Its well filmed and of high quality production. A great set list and a couple of wonderful solo acoustic pieces from Steve Howe make it a great two hours or so of viewing. Thoroughly re commended, though Rick Wakeman is missing. Its worth it to see the look of joy on the faces of the orcehestra at the end of the show which no doubt reflect their experience of playing with a bunch of rock musicians who have just taken them to another level. The bands musician ship is awesome. I have not seen other Yes live dvd's, but I get the impression they can be of variable quality - this is not one of those. Check out the live at Montreaux as well as that apparantly is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yes live symphonic., 6 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symphonic Live [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
A great concert from prog rock legends YES, I saw them on this tour in Cardiff.
It was something different to see them play a gig with an orchestra, but it worked well.
A must have addition to any YES fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Symphonic Live [DVD] [2010]
Symphonic Live [DVD] [2010] by Yes (DVD - 2010)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews