Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Back at the Top of their Game!!!!
Heart's new album 'Red Velvet Car' is absolutely superb!!!

Ben Mink's production beautifully showcases Nancy Wilson's acoustic genius, and Ann Wilson's voice is brilliantly varied, from the soft hush of 'Sand' to the wild wails of 'Death Valley'. If you've heard Ann's excellent 2007 solo effort 'Hope and Glory', you'll appreciate exactly what she is attempting...
Published on 8 Sep 2010 by Caramba!

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Redeeming Features
Firstly, I was a big fan of Heart for many years - I have nearly all their albums from Dreamboat Annie up to Jupiter's Darling and have found enough in all their albums to make it worthwhile keeping them. However,

This is really, really very poor, sorry girls but I really didn't enjoy this at all.
I tried but couldn't find anything I liked so its been...
Published on 16 Sep 2011 by G. Hearnshaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Back at the Top of their Game!!!!, 8 Sep 2010
This review is from: Red Velvet Car (Audio CD)
Heart's new album 'Red Velvet Car' is absolutely superb!!!

Ben Mink's production beautifully showcases Nancy Wilson's acoustic genius, and Ann Wilson's voice is brilliantly varied, from the soft hush of 'Sand' to the wild wails of 'Death Valley'. If you've heard Ann's excellent 2007 solo effort 'Hope and Glory', you'll appreciate exactly what she is attempting to achieve with her voice in recent years.

There are 12 great new tracks to relish here, rich in melody and lyrically penetrating. Shame that singles no longer get released from established rock bands anymore, but there are at least 4 potential major hits on here which would usher in a whole new fanbase given half a chance. A big improvement on the lack of variety of 2004's 'Jupiter's Darling', this ranks with 'Little Queen' and 'Dog and Butterfly' as one of Heart's best efforts.

Give this a spin - it's a real grower, and destined to be one of the best releases of 2010, with big chart success already in the US.

Heart are set to tour the UK in early 2011 - DON'T MISS ONE OF THE BEST LIVE ACTS IN THE WORLD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant return for Ann and Nancy Wilson, 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: Red Velvet Car (Audio CD)
Ann's voice has developed and aged very well, She turned 60 while recording this album. There's a lot of warmth, experience now in her voice, I was worried initally how her Rock voice would handle all those rock tracks on this cd, this worry was put to rest as soon as I heard the opening verse of W.T.F (don't worry Heart haven't turned juvenile, the words W.T.F don't even get mentioned!)

A few songs of the 12 songs on here spoke to me as soon as i heard them for the first time, the rest won me over in their own time, i love these slow burning albums "it's a cd that keeps on giving"!

This album restored Heart back to the American top 10, they are slowly getting the accolades they truly deserve!

Here's some of my favourite moments off this CD:

There You Go- I just love the sound of this song, the barrage of acoustic guitars all being played at the same time, creates a "Heavy acousic rock" vibe making it feel as though Heart are playing live in your living room, the chorus is unbelievably catchy, sung with clear polished sibling harmonies. Ben Mink has really captured and brought out the human quality of the acoustic guitar sound in this song! Great lyrics, great groove!!

W.T.F. This plugged in rock song caught me off guard, I may not have been born during the time when Heart's song "Barracuda" reigned in 1977, however, i can now imagine clearly how hardcore Heart fans must have felt after hearing Barracuda for the first time, as this new song is also getting the same classic reputation and is a force to be reckoned with. The centrepiece lyric of this song is:

"The hardest thing you'll ever learn,
is what bridge to cross and what bridge to burn"

Red Velvet Car- This song is so sultry and has a silky essence to it. Ann Wilson describes; red velvet car is a song about friendship, that last person on your mobile phone list, who you call in the middle of the night to come and pick you up when you're down, and they ride in, in their "soul ambulance", a red velvet car may not have any practibility (it will surely get wet in the rain!!) but you'll do anything for the people you love!

Wheels- Even before the release of this album, the Heart Camp released an edited version of this song along with a "Behind the Scenes" video of the designing of the Heart album sleeve, this song intrigued me and so many people, with it's fresh, rotary guitar riff, and it's almost cinematic music and lyrics, which easily invokes the listener with a clear picture of a red sports car speeding through various highways and deserts! Not to be listened to while driving!!

Safronia's Mark- This song could easily have been placed on their 1977's "Litle Queen" album, with it's gyspy infused rock n' roll, i absolutely love this track, the sad bit is however, the song fades out too soon, just before another cool gypsy violin riff begins.

Death Valley- This song is a pure Standout rock classic!! Ann's vocal acrobatics in the chorus just flaws me time and time again, this song, along with Wheel's and W.T.F and Red Velvet Car are my personal repeatedly played favourites!!

Sunflower- This is also another Nancy Wilson original, written about her sister Ann Wilson, the lyrics, music and imagery only showcases the depth of her love and friendship and sisterhood to Ann, a truly remarkable piece!

UK Bonus Tracks

Bootful of Beer- This song, musicially and lyrically, sounds like one of those 1980's driving tracks, really entertaining to hear Ann and Nancy letting their hair down with some on-the-road antics!!

Closer to the Sun- This song is their masterpiece- it's a dazzling rock ballad with such a melodic chorus, fantastic vocal performances. But when it seems things just can't get any better, Heart suprises you with one of the most ethereally stunnning 2 minute outro in Heart history! Ann's "out of this world" vocal alaaps just takes my breath away!

I brought this CD in late August 2010, I am reviewing it now (November 2010) as i wished to give it time to grow on me. I remember initally i was slightly unmoved by only a few of these songs, but over time i've almost worn out this cd!

If you're a Classic Heart fan, this CD will definitely be for you, if you're a fan of Heart's AOR incarnation, then you may be pleasantly suprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a grower, 3 Sep 2010
By 
Malcolm Maggs "Malcolmm" (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Velvet Car (Audio CD)
When I first played it I was a little disappointed - thought the songs lacked a bit of punch and the production sounded a bit muddy. On repeated plays it certainly grows on you and I have to say I like the feel and vibe of the album now. "There you go", "Safronia's Mark", "Sunflower" and "Sand" are stand-out tracks for me and only the title track let's the album down as far as I am concerned.

The playing is excellent, Ann's voice is great (she is still the best female vocalist around)and the production is actually pretty chunky. It's not "Heart" or "Bad Animals" but time and the band have moved on since then - it's a very good Heart album and having seen them twice on the "Jupiter's Darling" (which I thought was great !)tour, I really hope that they will tour the UK to promote "Red Velvet Car".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Return., 31 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. P. N. Cairns (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Velvet Car (Audio CD)
I have played this cd a couple of times and i think it really grows on you,I always say never judge a cd on first listen.Where it must be said the "Red Velvet Car" is not as good as the bands early offerings(Heart,Bad Animals & Dreamboat Annie)That would be expecting too much.I do not know what the previous reviewer has been listening to but to call this cd as his worst purchase of the year,is a bit over the top,And as regards Jupiters Darling that cd will for me go down as the bands worst cd ever.Give this cd a chance it's not as bad as some people would have you believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Velvet Car (Audio CD)
Excellent, if you loved the early stuff you will love this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so far so good, 31 Aug 2010
By 
A. Smith "Alyn Smith" (Salisbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Velvet Car (Audio CD)
Have spun the disc a couple of times, and my first reaction is that there is plenty to enjoy as a Heart fan who generally finds their live set much more enjoyable than the studio albums, but the production is great, and I am sensing that the songs will grow on me very quickly, it is very 'alive' and punchy...very 2010
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Back On Form, 1 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Red Velvet Car (Audio CD)
"Red Velvet Car" is an excellent new album from Heart. It's definitely an album that grows on you and I think some of the other reviewers may revise their opinions if they're prepared to give it a few spins. The songwriting is very strong and the blend of acoustic and electric instruments is highly effective. It definitely owes more to Heart in the seventies than the eighties. My personal favourites are "Hey You", "Sunflower" and "Sand". It's definitely an album I'm going to keep playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic album. Favourite all time band, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Velvet Car (Audio CD)
Fast delivery. As always, fantastic album. Favourite all time band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back to something more like the old " proper heart ! " at last., 20 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Velvet Car (Audio CD)
fans of old know the real heart albums consisted of dreamboat annie up to passionworks. they then adjusted their line up, grew big hair, andmade videos for mtv wering silly costumes and performing axe-wielding angry guitar charades. their songs went juvenile to suit the larger proportion of the buying market. i saw heart in bournemouth in 2004 and i was expecting the usual hard sell of the latest album being jupitors darling. how wrong i was to be. we got a fantastic show consisting of all of the early stuff as well as the late 80s and early 90s big hair pomp stuff and nothing from the latest album wich had only been out a few weeks. i did like jupitors it was something like a return to basics but this blew me out. ok its not another dreamboat or dog quite but its very good and worth five stars in its own territory. if you liked heart in the early days you wont fail to like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 23 Oct 2010
By 
J. Ashwell "JO" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Velvet Car (Audio CD)
As always the Wilson vocals are strong.. if only the cd was longer. If you love Heart - you'll love this.. if you're not a Heart fan - why Not?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Velvet Car
Red Velvet Car by Heart (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews