Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars43
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2014
Simply the best version I have ever heard. Listen to the opening suite and you feel you are inside the cello, so beautiful is the resonance.
I borrowed the original version from a cello-playing relative many years ago ( yes, i did return it!) , but found the sound just a little muddy in places.
The remastered version fixes that and delivers a bright full frequency sound.
But best of all, it is musical.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
Bach created incomparable masterpieces in his six suites for unaccompanied cello. Bach performed his cello suites within the frame work of the standard Baroque suite: four basic older dances - allemande, courante, sarabande, and gigue - and galanderien, an optional group of newer, shorter, and more homo phonic dances usually in pairs - in the cello suites, pairs of minuets, bourrees, or gavottes which Bach inserted between the last two older dances. Additionally at the beginning of each suite there is a prelude.

The present Yo-YO Ma two disc remastered compilation is exquisitely rendered, warm, lush, and beautiful. You will treasure it in your collection. But is it the definitive rendition? The answer is that it cannot possibly be because the cello suites are flexible to player's interpretation. My personal recommendation for someone who would like to have more than one rendition would be Paul Tortelier's and going back in time Pablo Casals'.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
After a life of listening and playing psychedelic rock music, and now a maturing father of six, classical music really began to move me several years ago, up to a point where where it is now the main genre of music I listen too, and wonder why it took me so long! Last week I purchased the MP3 version of Yo-Yo Ma's Unaccompanied Cello Suites from Amazon and it is I consider one of the best I have in my collection now of over 200 classical albums.

The cello is a wonderfully moving instrument, and Yo-Yo Ma is unaccompanied and in full form. The recording is also good in that unalike some cello recordings I have the mike is placed as to not be able to her the heavy breathing of the concentrating artist behind the bow... its all bows and well... definitely worth a place in any classical collection.... fantastic!

Simon from Devon England
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Beautifully recorded version. Richly warm and involving when in the mood to pay attention. Equally ideal for drowning out the background noise of the world when reading (except when an exceptionally lovely piece demands attention).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
Always liked the Bach cello suites from buying a Pablo Casals version many years ago. Well played, and well recorded. Usefully each movement is a separate track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Brilliant performer playing a superb cello makes for fantastic listening. The quality of the recording is such that one can feel the immense vibration of the cello in the hands of a master - Yo-Yo Ma.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
After watching the 2015 proms I just had to buy a copy of the cello suites and I am delighted they are fabulous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
Wonderful from start to finish. How you can get such quality at this price is almost beyond me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Sublime, of all recordings of the cello suites this has to be the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
A stunning recording, good production and a top performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.