Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Unforgettable drama
For years now we have been force fed bland television, programme after programme of 'reality TV' and countless 'lazy' buckets of tripe viewing.
When I heard that Shane Meadows was to head up a series sequel to the film 'This is England' I could see a glimmering spec of light at the end of the tunnel of TV crassness.
And thankfully Meadows delivers in spade...
Published on 29 Sept. 2010 by Mr. J. C. Schofield

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOP SCHEMES AND MAGGIE THATCHER
I was maybe built up too much for this and was slightly disappointed,I enjoyed the first one immensely this is why I bought this dvd.I was 16 in 1986 and grow up on a council estate.I think the reality of that time was actually more brutal for your average working class youth,trying to find a way to make it in Thatchers Britain.
I think it played to much for...
Published on 18 Nov. 2010 by P. J. McCartney


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 May 2015
By 
Woo-jin (England/Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is England '86 [DVD] (DVD)
Really good series after the film, must see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not as good as the, 17 Sept. 2014
By 
Liz Guest (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is England '86 [DVD] (DVD)
brought for the set, not as good as the first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 11 Mar. 2011
This review is from: This Is England '86 [DVD] (DVD)
I love British dramas, such a shame this is only 4 episodes long :/ but it is still good and would have you at the edge of your seat. May be helpful if you've seen 'This Is England' the film because it is a continuation of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is England '86 [DVD] (DVD)
A great dvd a great good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is England '86 [DVD] (DVD)
GOOD DVD GOOD SELLER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOP SCHEMES AND MAGGIE THATCHER, 18 Nov. 2010
By 
P. J. McCartney "Scot in Seattle" (Seattle USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is England '86 [DVD] (DVD)
I was maybe built up too much for this and was slightly disappointed,I enjoyed the first one immensely this is why I bought this dvd.I was 16 in 1986 and grow up on a council estate.I think the reality of that time was actually more brutal for your average working class youth,trying to find a way to make it in Thatchers Britain.
I think it played to much for laughs,although the sex abuse was obviously hard-hitting and shocking.
The eighties were a pivotal time for the working classes who lived in these estates and I think it could have been highlighted a bit better,The drama could have been anytime in the last 30yrs.In saying that it was good,I think I expected just a bit more social commentary about those dark days and the reasons why many people including myself left the UK for a better life abroad.

Ps may I recommend One Summer as a fantastic drama made in the eighties,which is a lot more realistic about life in the inner cities during the reign of Thatcher.It also stars a very young David Morrisey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing on TV ever, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is England '86 [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be the greatest TV program Ever, yes i used the word Ever. I was thinking will it get better then the film and the answer is it's as good as. It had me jumping throw hoops of feelings it gave me ups and downs, it was the most powerful drama i have ever seen. It gives you the viewer a attachment to the gang making you feel as one of there friends as a member of the gang. Gold Dust
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So worth the wait!!, 8 Sept. 2010
This review is from: This Is England '86 [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of Shane Meadows' work I was really looking forward to seeing his first TV project finally hitting the screen.
Happily it didn't disappoint, stylishly shot, it really does justice to the original film and it was good to see that all the original cast are back for the TV version.
There are very few programmes that I make a point of being in to watch but this will be one of them, the trail for next week's episode looks even better than last night's show and I can't wait to see how the Lol and Woody wedding story unfolds - top stuff - have already ordered my DVD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is England '86 [DVD] (DVD)
great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this!, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is England '86 [DVD] (DVD)
Great dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is England '86 [DVD]
This Is England '86 [DVD] by Thomas Turgoose (DVD - 2010)
£9.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews